We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful place to Stay!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Spruce Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Spruce Motel
Ranked #9 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awful place to Stay!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2007

This place is in desperate need of renovations. Old paint, bathroom small, carpet worn, little kitchen which was all torn up enclosed behind louvered doors. The biggest thing, people have smoked in the room for years and that odor just can't be masked other than gutting the whole inside. We wouldn't have stayed here, but every hotel in the immediate area was full, I just put the covers over my face when sleeping. I do have sympathy although for the owners, guess they are trying to make ends meet, but they were kind of sparing furnishing us with extra towels.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Maple_leaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    6
    5
    9
See reviews for
4
5
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2007

The Blue Spruce was an interesting experience. The motel itself was what I expected for the price: nothing extravagent, but sufficient. I was happy for the most part. The rooms were a little outdated and small, but again...what I paid for. I wasn't looking for anything amazing; I just wanted a place to stay. The breakfast was good and the people were nice. I had an unfortunate experience when I was there though. There were some plumbing issues: the toilet overflowed in the middle of the night onto the floor of the bathroom. Apparently someone had flushed a credit card down the toilet. So, we had to leave the room for a while and come back after things were settled. Unfortunate situation, but I would probably stay there again if I were in Middlebury for some reason.

  • Liked — Pleasant staff
  • Disliked — unfortunate toilet experience
  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank waltinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2007

I stayed at the Blue Spruce for a couple of days while visiting a friend in the area. It was affordable, which was my main priority, and my room was clean. This is neither a B&B nor a chain hotel, but a small individually owned roadside motel. (I think the owners live on site.) It's a rectangular building, single story, with the lobby in the middle of the building and guest rooms extending off to either side. Room doors open directly to the outside. My guess is that the building dates to the 1950s or 1960s.

I was visiting on a weekend, and things were pretty quiet for the most part. Not many guests (I assume February is not a busy time of the year). I will say that the rooms didn't seem to screen out noise all that well - I noticed the sound of traffic out front on US 7 when I woke up on Monday morning.

The owners were very pleasant and went out of their way to help me with the few requests I had. I really enjoyed talking with them. The Blue Spruce is not a posh place: some of the furnishings are worn and/or a little dated, and the owners are obviously trying to save money wherever they can (e.g., fluorescent bulbs in the lamps instead of incandescents). So business travelers accustomed to upscale accomodations will want to look elsewhere. However, I was pretty happy with the Spruce. I was surprised by the presence of wireless internet access, although I didn't have a chance to test it. There's also a computer in the lobby for guest use, which I wasn't expecting.
And there's a continental breakfast. I didn't get a chance to sample it, but it looked like the usual suspects: waffles, cereal, etc.

All in all, I was satisfied with my stay, and I would stay at the Blue Spruce again.

  • Liked — Clean lodgings at an affordable price!
  • Disliked — The wall-mounted soap dispenser in the shower was a bit of a surprise.
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Anagram_Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Mass
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2007

PROS: I stayed with my daughter on an extremely cold winter night while visiting my son at Middlebury. The price seemed fair, with breakfast included. The owners are friendly and the breakfast area was neat and clean. You could make your own waffles, or have cereal, bagels, and many types of drinks. The room was clean and cozy with a fridge and microwave. The beds were clean and comfortable and the room was warm on a zero degree night.

CONS: (Minor) The room didn't have enough electric outlets, so the fridge and microwave were unplugged. The only way to turn off the lights over the bed was to unplug them, as the "switches" were raw metal screws. (Major) Right after I checked in, I realized that a large tractor trailor cab was parked smack in front of the motel, with diesel engine running (a sound that drives me crazy over time). I asked the owner if that would be allowed all night and he indicated that the trucker (perhaps sleeping in the truck?) was a "really nice guy" and had offered to turn off the motor if "it really bothered people." I replied that it did really bother ME, went to dinner, came back and the truck was still there, engine running, perhaps at a lower rumble (I hoped). I thought it strange that a motel would charge for rooms and then let a big truck cab park right in front of all those rooms and noise-pollute. With earplugs, I went to bed, only to wake at 1AM. Now there was a second truck, within yards of my room, diesel engine running continuously. Why any motel owner would think their guests would want to listen to that all night long is a mystery to me. I can only conclude that truckers are the main priority of this motel. I was very disappointed with the owner's attitude, especially since it looks like they are trying to make the place homey.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank agenth2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Middlebury hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
2.8 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
3.8 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.8 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.9 mi away
Chipman Inn
Chipman Inn
#1 of 1 in Ripton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
3.8 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Spruce Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Spruce Motel

Property: Blue Spruce Motel
Address: Route 7 South, Middlebury, VT 05753
Region: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Spruce Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Blue Spruce Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Spruce Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing