We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who wants cookie cutter when you can have Sheady Acres???”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montgomery Center
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sheady Acres Rental Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Plattsburgh, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Who wants cookie cutter when you can have Sheady Acres???”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

While we all know Jay peak offers awesome skiing, not everyone has discovered the true gem that is Sheady Acres. For 2 years, we drove past weekend after weekend, making the trek from Plattsburgh, wondering what these cool little cottages were all about. We finally decided to take an impromptu mid week ski vacation in March 2011 (holy snow dump) and got to stay in the Sugar House. We loved it! Not only are the cottages absolutely charming and comfortable, Shawna and Eamon are excellent hosts that have thought of everything a person could need while staying in the cottages. On our most recent trip this past weekend, we enjoyed the Caribe cottage with our new (huge) puppy, who now loves this place as much as we do! Close by are a few cool restaurants for those who want to break away from the Jay crowds for dinner and drinks. Sheady Acres is most certainly our #1 place to stay when we want to indulge in a full weekend of skiing and mountain fun!

Room Tip: All of the cottages are unique, with really loving personal touches. Each and every one is comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
110
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This place is fantastic! We will be returning annually!
We stayed in the tea house. Perfect for a couple looking to getaway. Clean, comfortable and feels like home.
The owners of the resort are inviting, and will answer any question you have regarding the area.
The community hot tub is a nice touch. Perfect after a day in the trees at Jay Peak!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glitz_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We were so pleased with our experience at Sheady Acres.

Communication
Before even arriving in VT, the email communication by the O'Shea's was excellent.

Smart design
The cabins are small, but unique and lovingly constructed. A fabulous alternative to the cookie-cutter hotel rooms up the road! We had everything we needed.

Supporting a local family
While the resort at Jay is all well and good, we prefer to stay away from the masses. We had privacy and space to do our own thing and best of all, our dollars went to a hard-working family. The O'Shea's are so likeable- you just want them to succeed. We immediately felt at ease with them.

The O'Shea's really embody a wonderful sort of entrepreneurial spirit. Happy to have discovered this little gem.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggbistro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The O'Shea's have created an amazing property within minutes of the lifts. Each individual cottage has unique architecture and interiors built by the owners. They are all amazing clean and basically appear brand new.The beds are comfortable and you will have a couch to throw your feet up on. The hot tub is a nice addition in the backyard and is well maintained by Eamon daily. I have stayed there for years and met some awesome people in other cottages. Also, it offers flexibility to cook your own dinner, drink your own beers, and basically do whatever you want. You will save money compared to staying at the ever growing Jay Peak resort. Support an amazing small business and a local family.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qthegiant F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We are used to quantity for ski trips instead of quality, but Sheady Acres Cottages was the nicest place we have stayed in years. These unique cottages are impeccably built, designed and decorated. We stayed in the Tea House, the smallest of the bunch, but wanted for nothing. We had a functional kitchenette and ate in most nights. We had good wifi, plenty of outlets and plenty of room for ski gear. Aside from being extremely sweet people, Shawna and Eamon are happy to help with any tips, tricks and suggestions. Although set up like a motel, this is more like a condo rental. No cleaning service, and you are left to your own devices. But Shawna and Eamon are just a knock on the door away and are happy to swap out towels or replace a broken cup (oops).
Wouldn't stay ANYWHERE else when traveling to Jay and that includes their new on mountain facilities.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExecutiveSkiBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Great place, super clean, well constructed, very very very nice folks who enjoy their Vermont living. Shawna and Eamon are really nice down to earth folks who keep a really really cool place.

Thanks so much for a great stay.

Ted

The hot tub hit the spot after a long day on the slopes!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, MA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed in the Adobe cottage. Got there in the middle of a snow storm and were so pleased with the homey, cozy feeling of the Adobe. Loved the colors and artwork and really loved the radiant heat in the bathroom floor. Had a great time in the hot tub, a little slice of heaven after a hard day of skiing. The lighting was really great, too. We had a nice family stay here, would love to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery Center
4.5 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
2.9 mi away
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast ...
#1 of 2 in Montgomery Center
870 reviews
7.2 mi away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
WilloughVale Inn and Cottages
7.6 mi away
Rendezvous Bed and Breakfast
21.2 mi away
Sterling Ridge Resort
Sterling Ridge Resort
#1 of 1 in Jeffersonville
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheady Acres Rental Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheady Acres Rental Cottages

Property: Sheady Acres Rental Cottages
Address: 2956 Mountain Rd, Montgomery Center, VT 05471-3113
Region: United States > Vermont > Montgomery Center
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Montgomery Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each cottage has a kitchenette which includes microwave, toaster oven with convection, double burner hot plate, fridge with freezer, coffee pot, silverware, dishes, and utensils. Each cottage has one Queen-sized, pillow-top mattress and sleeps 2-3 people. They are each 250 square feet equipped with flat screen TVs, satellite, and WIFI. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sheady Acres Rental Cottages Montgomery Center, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing