We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montgomery Center
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sheady Acres Rental Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was our second visit to Sheady Acres (we first visited in late summer 2013). We fell in love with the location and Sheady Acres upon our first visit, and will continue to return.

We have stayed in the Caribe cottage both times (has a bit of a bright, cozy, Caribbean flair). It has everything you need for a comfortable stay and is equipped with a mini-fridge, sink, microwave, convection oven, coffee maker, 2-top hot plate, dishes/pans/utensils, etc. The Caribe cottage is pet friendly and they even have dog bowls there for your pup. The Queen bed is cozy, there is a small cafe table, and a dresser for clothes (as well as a TV and wi-fi access). The bathroom is cozy and has a waterfall shower head. In the warmer months you can hang out on the front porch, enjoying the view. Overall the accommodations are a great value.

They have a hot tub that is in an outdoor but covered gazebo-ish structure, surrounded by woods. There is also a grill and outdoor fire pit (and I think a hammock if I remember correctly).

The property is beautiful, and you will have great sunset views over the mountains. The owners, Eamon and Shawna O'Shea, are wonderful people and very knowledgeable about the surrounding area and can make great recommendations on things to do and places to visit. Jay Peak is not far and there are lots of hiking and skiing opportunities (and you can golf at Jay Peak in the warmer months).

We look forward to continuing to return to Sheady Acres, in all seasons, and want to try out each cottage! This is definitely the place to stay!

Room Tip: Loved the Caribe cottage! Really looking forward to trying the Sugar House next... then the other c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed here last year and could not wait to return this year. We had another great stay. The cottages are clean and have everything you need. The owners are very nice. We are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cdavis324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I really don't have anything bad to say about this place. It's such an awesome place to stay. Very clean, very authentic, very sweet! The owners, Shawna & Eamon are some of the nicest people you'll meet and they really care about their guests and guests' comforts and well-being. The hottub out in the woods is such a great touch. The cabins are very clean, cute and sweet to live in. We have stayed at The Sugar House cabin and loved it.

Room Tip: Any of these cabins would be good. We have talked to other people in the other cabins and they all l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Had an awesome stay in adobe and caribe cotteges. Aman and Shonna were fantastic hosts, providing assistance and recommendations that were so useful. They will make sure you have the most enjoyable stay. Make sure you also check out the hot tub - the perfect way to end the day. Thanks heaps guys!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My fiance and I had a lovely stay at Sheady Acres for our anniversary weekend. We stayed in the Sugar Shack which was the perfect size for us and kept us warm, even when it was -10 degrees out! It was our first time to Jay and Eamon and Shawna were super friendly and welcoming. They gave us great recommendations of restaurants and places to visit in the area. I loved reading their story in the welcome binder of how they built the cabins themselves with the help of local friends, and their hard work and dedication to the cottages really shows! The outdoor hot tub is a very nice touch and the surrounding woods gives the property a very peaceful feel. We can't wait to go back next time we're in Jay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I've stayed at two different cabins at Sheady Acres, the Japanense-inspired Teahouse and the Adobe. The craftsmanship and attention to detail were topnotch! The unique decor of each make them more than just a quiet, comfortable place to sleep but rather an exciting experience as you "travel" into different worlds.

I love Jay and have stayed at many of the area hotels and inns and hands down, Sheady Acres is my fav! If you're looking for a totally unique experience, check this place out!

Room Tip: There is a coffee maker in each cabin. Filters were provided but you need to bring your own coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I've had 2 wonderful stays at Sheady Acres and am planning a 3rd ski weekend. Even though the weather wasn't conducive to skiing this past weekend, our group still had a great time hanging out in our cabins. Eamon and Shawna are awesome hosts and were able to accomodate our late arrival. It's most definitely my favorite place to stay in the area!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndieB111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery Center
4.5 mi away
Jay Peak Resort
4.5 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
21.1 mi away
Sterling Ridge Resort
Sterling Ridge Resort
#1 of 2 in Jeffersonville
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast ...
#1 of 2 in Montgomery Center
888 reviews
2.9 mi away
The INN
The INN
#2 of 2 in Montgomery Center
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheady Acres Rental Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheady Acres Rental Cottages

Address: 2956 Mountain Rd, Montgomery Center, VT 05471-3113
Region: United States > Vermont > Montgomery Center
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Montgomery Center
Price Range: £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each cottage has a kitchenette which includes microwave, toaster oven with convection, double burner hot plate, fridge with freezer, coffee pot, silverware, dishes, and utensils. Each cottage has one Queen-sized, pillow-top mattress and sleeps 2-3 people. They are each 250 square feet equipped with flat screen TVs, satellite, and WIFI. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sheady Acres Rental Cottages Montgomery Center, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing