We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Help when we needed it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

I'll make it short and sweet. Our romantic New Years Eve week stay at the Phineas Swann was spoiled by a nasty virus that wiped out my girlfriend and had me feeling pretty lousy as well after the first night. Thankfully, we were booked in the very comfortable, well appointed River House, and stayed in under blankets. We kept the gas log fireplace roaring and the Kuerig brewing tons of hot liquids.
The owner Darren was kind enough to bring us a fantastic New Years Eve dinner and terrific breakfasts as we recuperated and made sure we were comfortable. He checked on us several times to see if we needed anything.
If you've ever had the misfortune of getting sick while traveling, it's rare to have any support, but Darren went above and beyond.
Although we had a tough week, we have already decided to rebook for a late summer stay- no one gets the flu in the summer, right?
Thanks, Darren.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim_Hystad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

We felt so badly for you that your New Year's Eve celebration was dampened somewhat by you both being under the weather -- bringing you a hot prime rib dinner was the least we could do. We're looking forward to your return this summer and the chance to make even better memories for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (878)
There are newer reviews for Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 878 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had a fantastic stay at the Phineas Swann! We stayed in two suites at the Carriage House, a perfect fit for a family of five along with our dog, Holly. Everything from the cleanliness of the room, the amenities, the comfort and the friendly staff was perfect. The breakfasts were delicious and there were always fresh baked goodies available. Lynne and Darren are gracious, kind and friendly hosts! My kids enjoyed very much the warm chocolate chip cookies that Lynne baked one evening, a very nice surprise after our dinner at a local restaurant. A very relaxing five day ski vacation at the Phineas Swann!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

We enjoyed hosting your entire family for the week! You were smart to use our Family Combination Suite setup (the Terrier Suite & Green Mountain Suite can be combined into one 3-bedroom, two-bath setup for larger families) and we're glad the Phineas could be your "home base" for all you and your family were able to enjoy during your stay. Lynne appreciates the compliments on the chocolate-chip cookies, too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

As a family we had a chance to spend 4 nights at the Inn in the now famous River House. Darren & Lynne were wonderful hosts to the 3 of us and our two dogs Max & Ellie. The accommodations were great the layout worked well for us and the skiing was terrific. The amenities exceeded our expectations, Darren & Lynne were always available should we need anything. We enjoyed swapping stories with other guests, sitting by the fire in the main house and the nearby dining. Just a wonderful few days. The breakfasts were very good. The staff was welcoming and helpful. All around a very fun time.

Room Tip: Speak with Darren and Lynne about your travel plans and they will help you get the room that will fi...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dtravis814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thanks so much for the kind words. We had a great time with you during your visit, and hope we get to see Max & Ellie (and you guys of course) again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I returned to the Phineas Swann with our dog, Blaze, who remembered her last wonderful experience at this B&B and went crazy with happiness upon exiting the car!
The new owners offer, as many people have already mentioned, the perfect blend of warm, cozy customer service with the ability to help guests feel perfectly at ease and independent with the right amount of privacy during their stay. The food was delicious and the room (Terrier Suite) was a warm, glowing oasis on a couple of chilly pre-Christmas nights. There are so many things to do and see in the area -- we're not skiers but we love to drive up to the beautiful border towns in French Canada during the day then eat at one of the delicious local restaurants (especially Bernie's which is a two-minute walk from the Inn and a great place to settle in for a cold winter's night meal. We're already planning our next trip to the Phineas Swann.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Julie, we're glad the two of you and Blaze agree that the Phineas Swann B&B is the same as it ever was! We're fortunate to be the fifth set of owners since the B&B was founded 26 years ago, and we're happy we're striking that right balance of obsessive customer service and allowing guests the privacy they want and deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My partner of 13 years and I were married at the Phineas Swann on New Year's Eve day 2013. The ease of planning, the comfort and perfection of the room, the kindness of Darren and Lynne, and all of the wonderful amenities were more than we could have asked for or expected. Our trip and wedding were simply perfect!
While we were at the B&B we were able to relax and enjoy the breakfasts, the hot tub, the security guards (Marshall and Magnolia), and the great conversation with the owners and the other guests. This B&B was so comfortable and perfect that we did not want to leave! The owner's were even kind enough to prepare a vegan breakfast for me each morning, which is something I do not expect when traveling, but am always grateful for. The food was amazing!
Thank you Darren and Lynne for making our wedding and honeymoon the most wonderful of experiences and memories!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Terrier Suite and were very happy with the comfortable bed, and all of the amenitie...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShortieJen1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Jen, thank you for letting us be part of your special wedding day! Lynne & I really appreciated that you let the Phineas Swann host a great "Two True" elopement! It was a great way to cap off the year! We've been very fortunate that more and more couples are discovering what a romantic place the Phineas is for a wedding, whether it's just the two of you or a 75-person affair. I hope you will consider making us the perfect spot for your anniversary celebrations! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

One of our best vacations ever!

We travel quite a bit, and try as often as possible to stay in dog-friendly properties so we can bring our pooch. We chose Phineas Swann after receiving a recommendation from Jay Peak resort when we inquired about a dog friendly place to stay. What a great surprise to find out that Phineas is so much more than just an average B&B.

We arrived after a 7 hour drive from NYC to find ourselves in a slice of heaven in Montgomery VT. We spent our time in the rear of the property in a large 1-bedroom (one of 2 floors in an entire house) situated right on the river. Easy parking, a huge balcony and tons of space. We could have easily slept 6 in our unit. It included a full kitchen (very well appointed with cookwares, a keurig, snacks, and a few beers in the fridge!), living area with electric fireplace, cable tv, dvds, wifi (reliable and strong signal) and a washer and dryer in the bathroom. Plenty of room to sit or lay around. Also, a big dog bed and feeding dishes for the pooch (and poop bags outside for the walks). We also toured the other units in the buildings and they all have their own unique charms and sense of style. We'd have been happy in any room!

In the main house, Darren and Lynn are always welcoming you and cooking fresh baked goodies! The big, deep, hot jacuzzi that sits just outside the main house was a nightly stop after spending the day on the slopes of Jay Peak (which is about a 10 minute drive from Phineas). Breakfast was planned daily and included generous servings of local food products, cooked deliciously by our wonderful hosts. It really felt like we were visiting family. There are games, more dvds, books, and snacks available in the main house. They also offer very reasonable prices on great beer and a stellar and well-curated wine list. Darren and Lynn also are very familiar with the local scene (we even arranged a fantastic sports massage/deep tissue through Lynn). With the entire place decorated for the holidays, we felt immersed in the warmth of the holidays. We also had great powder on the mountain.

Montgomery is a tiny town (600-1000 people depending on season) but it is friendly, safe, and within easy driving of Jay Peak, Burlington, and lots of local areas. We fell in love with Phineas Swann and will be back often.

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms - see the website for differences. All are very nice, we saw them in p...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChewiesDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you so much for your compliments. We're glad all the little extras were both noticed and appreciated. We enjoyed hosting you (and Chewbacca) and are glad you received good holiday memories and some great skiing. Hope to see you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The phineas swann far exceeded my expectations, this is my first b&b experience and to be honest I was a little nervous. When I walked into the Main House I knew I was at home! The house is beautiful, classic but clean! We stayed in the carraige house, in the 2 bedroom suite, its a contemporary style with a cozy feeling. I am huge on cleanliness and normally have to complain at hotels because they don't do a splendid job, however here I believe they clean above my standards to say the least. The breakfasts' were amazing and it was nice that it was different for the days we were there. I loved the cozy fireplace in the main house and talking to all the other guests and hearing about what they have been up to during their trips as well. Without a doubt I would recommend this to anyone, this B&B has a lot to offer and from what I've heard from the other guests is that have a room to fit anyones style. definitely worth a visit, I'll be returning!

Room Tip: I am more of a modern guy so I really enjoyed the carriage house suites, but they also have more tra...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you! We're glad you chose us over a hotel, and especially glad our standards of cleanliness met and exceeded yours! Lots of younger couples like yourselves are discovering that Bed & Breakfasts aren't the stodgy, grandmothery places they've imagined. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery Center
6.6 mi away
Jay Peak Resort
6.6 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
15.8 mi away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
77 reviews
19.8 mi away
Governor's House in Hyde Park
9.7 mi away
Rendezvous Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 195 Main St, Montgomery Center, VT 05471-7105
Region: United States > Vermont > Montgomery Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery Center
Price Range: £148 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to pampered luxury at our romantic not just pet-friendly, but PET CENTRIC inn. Our all-season retreat, located only 7 miles from Jay Peak Ski and Golf Resort, offers unparalleled comfort and personal service. Rooms and suites feature four-poster beds, fine antiques, luxurious linens, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, individual climate controls with Air Conditioning (a rarity for northern Vermont), televisions with HD Cable with movie channels and DVD players in all rooms, Free local and long distance calling , and Free WiFi internet plus a guest computer in our lounge. Extensive public areas and gardens open to all guests. Unlimited all day coffee, tea, soda, hot chocolate and apple cider, snacks and treats. TV room with large screen plasma TV. Located directly on the Trout River. Outdoor Hot Tub. Dinner served with advance reservations. Hiking, Biking (home of Bike VT bicycling tours for our area), Canoeing and Guide Services in the area. Rated number one in the state on TripAdvisor overall, and rated the most pet friendly inn in New England on TripAdvisor. Incredible personalized service from on site owners who are available to help you 24 hours a day. LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phineas Swann Hotel Montgomery Center
Phineas Swann b&b Inn
Phineas Swann Bed And Breakfast Inn Montgomery Center, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing