We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, charming and cozy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We arrived quite late to the inn after a long day of sight seeing and eating far too much cheese. Jay greeted us after we had a moment to set our bags down and attempt to take it all in. The sheer ammount of porcelain figurines and antiques were quite a sight to behold. Jay took us on a short tour of the first floor and the seemed genuinely sad that he could not take us out on the grounds as it was very dark when we arrived, the next morning I could see why, it was beautiful. Jay then took us upstairs and showed us our room. The room was beautiful and comfy.

I got to meet John also and he was equally as helpful as Jay. Our two servers Gwen and Karen also helped to make this trip something we will not forget. Thank you John, Jay, Gwen and Karen. We will certainly see you again!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPG1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

771 - 777 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2009

The Inn is set in the beautiful mountains of Vermont, it is quaint, homely , warm and friendly. The staff is great, helpful, and make you feel at home. I actually miss those folks, they became friends without being intrusive or invasive. We went to get married, along with our pastor, his spouse & a very good friend. All of us walked away impressed with the great breakfast, the amazing brownies, and the overall hospitality. We felt at home, sat in the fluffy couches, played in the river out back, and enjoyed the fire pit and the lovely gazebo. Emmie & Karen made our stay extra special with their lovely smiles and willingness to help. It's rustic, & your forced to relax due to no cell service unless you drive to the mobil station due to the mountains, the rooms are kind of small but completely comfortable. I still miss the fluffy comforter. Over all, the experience was wonderful & we hope to go back for our first anniversary.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank married-girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

We recently spent a lovely weekend enjoying the fall foliage in Vermont, and spent two very pleasant nights at the Phineas Swann B&B . Our room was in the Carriage House and was truly lovely; the bed was enormous and soooo comfy, and the room was came with all kinds of creature comforts including a flat screen TV, gas fireplace and a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, as well as a nice selection of coffees, teas and beverages. The main house is gorgeous and welcoming, with beautiful antiques and literally thousands of whimsical dog figurines. Which of course reminds me: our little dachshund, Emmy, was welcome at Phineas Swann and also had a wonderful time. The owners, Jay and John, could not have been more friendly and accommodating and their staff - Emmy, Karen and Gwen - were terriffic. The breakfasts were amazing - blueberry pancakes one morning, strawberry waffles the next; the selection of freshly baked cookies, muffins and brownies on hand in the living room made a wonderful late-night snack. Thanks for a special weekend we will not forget - and we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparksfly000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

This place was just great! They did all the little things that make all the difference. The owners, John and Jay, should be proud of the way they, and their staff, treat the guests. The little things they provide, such as morning conversation, assistance with plans for the day, home baked goods, coffee, pet sitting and so on, goes such a long way. You just do not see this kind of hospitality anywhere. The staff, Emmy, Karen and Gwen were just so friendly they made you feel like family. The rooms were very clean and included lots of extras such as a stocked refrigerator and coffee machines with flavored coffees. Upon leaving this B&B, John and Jay gave me fresh made muffins for the road. What can I say...I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaxson21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We stayed at the Phinneas Swann for the weekend of September 18-20 and it has been our greatest Bed and Breakfast experience ever. Sometimes it is hard to travel with your pet, but John, Jay, and the entire staff go above and beyond any expectations to ensure your pet is welcomed. Not only are there pet beds with rawhides, cookie jars filled with treats, the entire B&B is dog friendly. When we went hiking, they offered to watch our dog Sable for the day--treating her like their own with no extra costs. Being pet friendly, one might expect the accomodations to be less than desirable. This is most certainly not true. The rooms are clean, elegant, warm, and inviting. They provide all the ammenities of home so if you want to just jump in the car and go--you could literally just go there with the clothes on your back. They have thought of everything. The breakfasts were amazing. The friendly staff, especially Emmy and Karen, go out of their way to greet you and ensure your stay is enjoyable. Cannot wait to go back for ski season. Thanks for everything. Doug and Margaret

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

The Phineas Swann was easily one of the coziest places we have stayed at. The staff goes above and beyond to make your stay comfortable. Among the many amenities are: all the snacks and beverages you could ever want (when we were there they had among other things chocolate covered raisins, jelly beans, various nutrition bars, fruit, fresh baked brownies and scones, as well as soda, coffee, and tea), the bathroom had a jacuzzi in it, as well as really nice soaps and other toiletries, they leave plenty of wood and starter log at the ready in case you want to make a fire by the river, I could go on and on. This place was absolutely enchanting! In the morning, Karen made us a wonderful breakfast (an elaborate fruit salad, blueberry pancakes, bacon, and eggs). I would highly recommend this place, and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SushiMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

The staff at Phineas Swann went above and beyond our expectations. And, that wasn't a small task, since we also had our wedding ceremony there! You won't be disappointed. There are many attractions within a short drive of the B&B. Or, if you prefer to stay in, there is a lot to do within a short walk. Incredible scenery, interesting attractions, delicious food await all visitors. Seriously, it is the perfect bed and breakfast in an idyllic spot. Jay, John, Emmy, Karen, Karen, Jessica, and Gwen go above and beyond everyday making sure all of the small details are taken care of which in the end, adds up to one terrific vacation. We definitely recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indyranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery Center
6.6 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
6.6 mi away
Jay Peak Resort
15.7 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sutton
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Albans
Hampton Inn St. Albans
#1 of 5 in Saint Albans
106 reviews
9.7 mi away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
80 reviews
21.9 mi away
Smugglers' Notch Resort
Smugglers' Notch Resort
#1 of 2 in Jeffersonville
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 195 Main St, Montgomery Center, VT 05471-7105
Region: United States > Vermont > Montgomery Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery Center
Price Range: £150 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to pampered luxury at our romantic not just pet-friendly, but PET CENTRIC inn. Our all-season retreat, located only 7 miles from Jay Peak Ski and Golf Resort, offers unparalleled comfort and personal service. Rooms and suites feature four-poster beds, fine antiques, luxurious linens, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, individual climate controls with Air Conditioning (a rarity for northern Vermont), televisions with HD Cable with movie channels and DVD players in all rooms, Free local and long distance calling , and Free WiFi internet plus a guest computer in our lounge. Extensive public areas and gardens open to all guests. Unlimited all day coffee, tea, soda, hot chocolate and apple cider, snacks and treats. TV room with large screen plasma TV. Located directly on the Trout River. Outdoor Hot Tub. Dinner served with advance reservations. Hiking, Biking (home of Bike VT bicycling tours for our area), Canoeing and Guide Services in the area. Rated number one in the state on TripAdvisor overall, and rated the most pet friendly inn in New England on TripAdvisor. Incredible personalized service from on site owners who are available to help you 24 hours a day. LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phineas Swann b&b Inn
Phineas Swann Hotel Montgomery Center
Phineas Swann Bed And Breakfast Inn Montgomery Center, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing