We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and Relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Jersey
1 review
“Charming and Relaxing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2010

The Inn was beautiful and only about a 10-15 minute drive to Jay Peak. We loved staying in the Blue room - a cozy space adorned with adorable collectibles with one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. After skiing we enjoyed relaxing in the common area by the fire sipping tea. The area is very quiet and the inn made for a very romantic getaway. The inn keepers, John and Jay, we extremely welcoming and some of the most knowledgeable people when it came to the state of Vermont. They always made sure to check in with us and answer all of our questions - it's no wonder they were named Inn Keepers of the Year in Vermont! Let's not forget about how friendly the staff was as well. Emmy and Karen made a delicious breakfast every morning and Rose was very sweet making sure we had everything we needed in the evening. This is by far the best B&B we have ever stayed at and we cannot wait to go in the summer time!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorikw57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    34
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
158
544
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2010

This wonderful bed and breakfast is perfect for a relaxing stay whether you're going on a skiing trip or just looking for a get away from the city. Our stay definitely met and exceeded my expectations in every aspect. Jay and John are great hosts and take great pride in what they do. It shows in everything from the decor to the delicious breakfasts (I still dream of those meals and snacks), to their incredible staff Karen, Jessica, Emma and Jim.
The property and the B&B itself are stunning - very clean, cozy and comfortable. From the first moment you walk in you feel right at home. Everything from the wood burning fireplace to the delicious snacks and array of beverages is meant to please the guests, and we definitely utilized the outdoor hottub every chance we got. Perfect place to come back to after a day of skiing. In general, we felt very well taken care of for the duration of our stay. This B&B is worth every penny and I would love to come back again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saynotopants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ogdensburg,ny
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

This place is the perfect combination of location( beautiful scenery), ambience, character, and charm. The hosts Jay and John were extremely helpful with things to do in the area.( We went dog sledding and had a blast! ) The food was delicious and presentation was beautiful, Emmy and Karen were at our beck and call although most anything you might need is already in your suite or room. The best part was that we were able to bring our beloved dog,"Lucy" she enjoyed it as much as we did !!
We plan on coming back in the summer to see another season, definitely worth the drive for us!!
p.s. I almost forgot the bed in the bulldog suite is to die for, wanted to bring it home so comfortable!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

The Phineas Swann is a fabulous place to spend a weekend getaway. John and Jay are very gracious and accommodating hosts who have a wealth of knowledge to share about the area. The inn itself is immaculately clean and welcoming and overflowing with great antiques. From the mouth-watering blueberry pancakes and the incredibly delicious cheddar cheese stuffed omelets (made with locally fresh eggs) to the luxurious bedding in our room, Jay and John have left no detail overlooked. Although I didn't use the hot tub--I was curled up in front of the fireplace with a glass of wine and John's wonderful brownies--my husband thoroughly enjoyed it. There are a few eclectic restaurants within walking distance (Bernies and Tosca's were both great and reasonably priced). Cross-country skiing at nearby Hazen's Notch was invigorating and the area so pristine. We are already looking forward to returning this July and exploring the area in the summer season (as well as being pampered again)! A special thanks to Emmy and Karen and Rose for their friendly service!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyS531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

we had such a great time, the place was spotlessly clean, breakfast was fresh and so tasty! comfortable bed, well furnished room with personal jacuzzi, and an outdoor hot tub that was the perfect temperature. not to mention it's in the middle of a winter wonderland! so much snow in a small town with very nice people! owners personally helped us find our way there and gave good advice. would go there again any day!
and as for the dog- doggy heaven is probably less luxurious than what he had! doggy bed and treats were waiting for him when he got there!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maverick15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2010

The B&B is in a cross roads town within walking distance of restaurants, groceries, ski rentals, all the necessities. Jay welcomed us with open arms. Karen, Jessica and Emmy make a wonderful breakfast and always have smiles on their faces. Every detail is thought of in a beautifully decorated building. We had a great time skiing a Jay Peak and Dog sledding with Keith at Montgomery Adventures.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ep525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

This is the second time my Fiance and I have stayed at the Phineas Swann. First time was about 3 years ago. We absolutely recommend this if you are going to ski at Jay. The drive from the mountain isn't too far and Montgomery Center has some nearby restaurants that you can try after skiing. John & Jay as well as the whole crew are fantastic. It's what an Inn should be, warm, comfortable, inviting, yummy snacks (hot chocolate, cookies, etc) and a great breakfast! We can't wait to stay there again! Rooms are very comfortable, we stayed in the honey moon suite, bed was comfortable and the decoration was very inviting (great antiques selection) .There was a wide selection of movies & books to choose from and a nice warm fireplace. Also, the outdoor hot tub is a plus! And as an extra bonus, they allow Pets, so our dog was able to stay with us!



Jormen & Roy

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jormen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery Center
6.6 mi away
Jay Peak Resort
6.6 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
15.8 mi away
Le Montagnard
Le Montagnard
#4 of 6 in Sutton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
15.8 mi away
Auberge des Appalaches
9.7 mi away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 195 Main St, Montgomery Center, VT 05471-7105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Montgomery Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to pampered luxury at our romantic not just pet-friendly, but PET CENTRIC inn. Our all-season retreat, located only 7 miles from Jay Peak Ski and Golf Resort, offers unparalleled comfort and personal service. Rooms and suites feature four-poster beds, fine antiques, luxurious linens, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, individual climate controls with Air Conditioning (a rarity for northern Vermont), televisions with HD Cable with movie channels and DVD players in all rooms, Free local and long distance calling , and Free WiFi internet plus a guest computer in our lounge. Extensive public areas and gardens open to all guests. Unlimited all day coffee, tea, soda, hot chocolate and apple cider, snacks and treats. TV room with large screen plasma TV. Located directly on the Trout River. Outdoor Hot Tub. Dinner served with advance reservations. Hiking, Biking (home of Bike VT bicycling tours for our area), Canoeing and Guide Services in the area. Rated number one in the state on TripAdvisor overall, and rated the most pet friendly inn in New England on TripAdvisor. Incredible personalized service from on site owners who are available to help you 24 hours a day. LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phineas Swann Hotel Montgomery Center
Phineas Swann b&b Inn
Phineas Swann Bed And Breakfast Inn Montgomery Center, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing