We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yippity doo dah this is the place!”
Review of The INN

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montgomery Center
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The INN
Certificate of Excellence
Bisbee, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Yippity doo dah this is the place!”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Amazing ambience, stellar decor, the best martinis with hand stuffed blue cheese olives (thank you, Lilly) in the most gorgeous little town in all of Northern Vermont. tThis place will make all of your New England dreams come true. It's possible that my husband and I will fly in from Arizona in the winter just to sit by the fire place on the sheep skin covered lounges and watch the snow fall....heck, and it's only August. So, there's a future here for this establishment.

Room Tip: Ask for the blue cheese stuffed olives from Lilly, should she be bar tending.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
46
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bayville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

A restful weekend at the INN was just what the doctor ordered! We slept very well in the very comfortable bed and the food was DELICIOUS. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner and everything was wonderful. I would completely recommend a get away to this charming INN and plan on coming back myself. The staff and owners were very friendly and helpful. Thanks for a delightful weekend get away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at The Inn on July 19-21 for a workshop with 5 other women. I had a terrific room with AC. the bed was so very comfortable I could have stayed in bed all day! The breakfast, lunch and dinners were spectacular and the wait staff so welcoming and accommodating. I will definitely come back and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Inn again. It was a terrific experience!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Delightful hosts, gorgeous dog, wonderful building that has been lovingly renovated and decorated with great care and flair, fantastic homemade breakfasts, wonderful view of the river – it's clear when you walk through the doors to this INN that its owners want you to come back! We had rented a room for two nights to attend a friend's BBQ party in a nearby town and we were truly touched by the kindness with which we were welcomed, after a very long road trip (with some unplanned detours) from Montreal. The bed was comfortable and the private bathroom was nicely roomy. We needed bedside tables and the owners accommodated us right away even though the definitive furniture was still being made by a local carpenter. The personal touches to the lounge make it so cosy, you want to spend the entire evening there sipping on cocktails and listening to someone playing the piano. On the Saturday evening, when we traveled much (much!) further than anticipated in our wanderings through the gorgeous mountains of Vermont and got back to the INN very late, just as the kitchen was closing, we were completely discouraged at the idea of having to go back out on the road, in the mist, to find a depressing McDonald's in some nearby town. But the staff was incredibly nice in accommodating us then as well and they prepared delicious soup and salad for us, which was exactly what was needed and tremendously appreciated. Since we've been back at home, we have tried replicated the scrumptious corned beef hash we were served on the second morning and had to admit defeat: ours tasted good but didn't look particularly appetizing. Theirs tasted and looked spectacular! So, will we be back at the INN? I think the real question is: When will be back!? We would love to visit again and we certainly hope to be able to sometime in the near future. A snowy visit, perhaps, next time?

Room Tip: We got a wonderful balcony overlooking the river. Especially lovely to wake up to in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I had a perfect weekend stay here. Incredibly well-done rustic and welcoming interior, right down to every last detail. Breakfast and other meals at the on-site restaurant were excellent (and surprisingly affordable, for the quality). It has a cabin-like pub area and a more formal dining area in the front, as well as a large deck. There's also a very cozy and quirky den where I could have spent hours just soaking it in. Very comfortable room too. Nice landscaping and the river out back gave a relaxing ambiance. The restaurant/bar seems popular with the local people, which made for a nice vibe. Overall, one of the best B&Bs I've ever stayed in!

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank eightydays11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

When you walk across the soon to be covered bridge and step in the front door, you can feel the warmth of The INN. The decor is both homey and elegant. How is that possible? Our room was just perfect with stenciled walls and oaky brown wooden molding and furnishings. Lucy Lou was the first dog to stay in the dog-friendly room and loved it, especially the balcony where she had her meals. As for food, I had the best lobster bisque (lightly curried) I have ever tasted. The menu has both entrees and light fare and there is something for every palate. Ron had the lamb which he oohed and ahed over. James had the pork wrapped in lettuce which left him speechless. There is a real sense of community in the bar, conversation, laughter . . . perfect. The hosts Scott and Nick are warm and friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. Don't get me started on the drinks . . .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vcwom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Im not a fantastic writer, so Ill be rather brief :) Just wanted to say that I totally recommend the place and will probably try to stay there next time I visit the area.
Went for a day of Spring skiing in Jay Peak (which is just minutes away from Montgomery Center where the inn is located) and spent a night at The Inn. The owners, Nick and Scott, were really nice and friendly, as well as the other people working there.
Food was yummy, with a special emphasis on the breakfast, which was simply delicious, and the overall atmosphere and mood is quite charming.
Thanks!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery Center
6.6 mi away
Jay Peak Resort
6.6 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
15.7 mi away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Albans
0.0 mi away
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast ...
#1 of 2 in Montgomery Center
865 reviews
9.7 mi away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The INN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The INN

Property: The INN
Address: 241 S Main St, Montgomery Center, VT 05471-2018 (Formerly Inn on Trout River)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Montgomery Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atmosphere and excellence, both are served up in ample portions at The INN, a very special HOTEL, RESTAURANT, BAR & LOUNGE located in Montgomery Center, just minutes from Jay Peak. The INN HOTEL has eleven beautiful guest rooms, all recently renovated with the comfort and detail discerning travelers expect. The cozy decor is familiar and relaxed, yet stylish and new, equal parts ski chalet, gentlemen's club and hunting lodge. From Room 4, the Honeymoon Victorian Suite to Room 12, the Family & Friends room, the INN has accommodations to meet the needs of all guests. Feel free to relax in the Lounge by the fire with a cocktail and a good book, and in warm weather enjoy the expansive deck and riverside chair swing. The INN RESTAURANT is open to the public for dinner Thursday through Sunday evenings. Seasonal menus surprise with the perfect combination of inventiveness and heartwarming comfort. Everything is freshly prepared and ingredients locally sourced whenever possible. Choose between seating in the romantic fireplace dining room or in the lively pub and tavern. In the summer, dinner is also served on the outdoor deck. A full bar, carefully chosen wine list, specialty cocktails and draft beers all served by a fantastic staff complete the picture and add to the fun. Ideally located in the center of peaceful Montgomery Center with the Trout River out back, the INN is the perfect venue for hosting private parties, dinners, receptions and weddings. Many flexible catering menus are available. The INN offers a truly unique LODGING, as well as DINING experience. Check out the website and Facebook page for more info, photos, menus and up to date news. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The INN Montgomery Center, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing