We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Montpelier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Book this via Expedia as a stopover on our tour of New England. We have always thought of Comfort Inns as basic, budget hotels, only to be used if necessary. To find this hotel so good was a big surprise. Well equipped room and quiet, even though we were next to the reception area. OK, it wasn't the largest of rooms but clean and comfortable. Good complimentary breakfast, free wifi and a couple of free bottles of water for our journey. As my title says, not what we expected.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaplewoodMontpelier, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your review! We're very excited that we were able to exceed your expectations! Our full hot breakfast and other complimentary amenities help us stand apart from others as we strive to be the best hotel we can be. Again, thank you for your compliments and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn at Maplewood
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

WOW! These people know how to do it RIGHT! Attention to detail was certainly their calling card. We were traveling throughout Vt NH & NY the first week of October on a Fall Foliage search and hands down this Comfront Inn was #1 of our accommodation stops. Whoever is doing the Customer Service training, Bravo! Bonus, walking distance to Applebees & nice grocery store within 2 minutes. Can't imagine anything that would disappoint here. Exceptional indeed!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaplewoodMontpelier, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for this wonderful review! We appreciate all your kind words and were very excited to have you stay with us! I will certainly pass on your kind words to the staff as well as the owner who works hand in hand with us to make every guest's stay the best it can be. I hope that we will see you again in the future and feel free to recommend us to any friends that you may have who are traveling to Vermont! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had a very nice, quiet 2-room suite. Free: 2 bottled waters, pop, apple cider, locally grown apples, cookies, VT cheese and crackers, and 2 small bottles of VT maple syrup. Nice breakfast. Free, fast internet. Friendly, helpful staff. One of our best hotel stays ever. When we're in the area again, we'll be staying here.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank pescokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaplewoodMontpelier, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel! We're so glad that you enjoyed all of our amenities from the freshly baked cookies at checking to the complimentary maple syrup in the room. We certainly look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Our stay was in August , a time when it is not easy to get value for the hotel dollar in New England. Most experiences that I've had with Comfort Inns are eclipsed by this property and its' Management.
We were checked in by the Front Desk Manager who made us feel very welcome and provided an upgrade without being asked. Hotel is very clean , and well designed , except for the front desk , which is too narrow for more than one conversation to take place at a time. In other words , two different guests checking in at the same time would be a problem , unless one of them was signing! Decorations in the lobby and breakfast room , outside the front door etc. are unique and obviously not from Walmart. Breakfast was above average, and that room was very clean also. There is a good restaurant a short walk away. Too bad all Comfort Inns are not managed like this one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adalyn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaplewoodMontpelier, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! I will make sure that your kind words are passed on to everyone. Our Executive Housekeeper worked very hard with all the decorations and I will make sure your compliments are passed on to her. We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

The title says it all.

From the welcome at the front desk to the decor and superb quality of the room itself. The room was completely silent even though the hotel was full, we booked the last room as a touring coach party was staying.
It was the extras, even down to a torch/flashlight in the bed side table !

I can't imagine how ANY poor review could be posted.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank DavidSB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaplewoodMontpelier, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We certainly appreciate all your kind words and we're glad you liked the flashlight in the nightstand drawer. Being in Vermont, we never know what weather to expect, so we like to be prepared in case the power goes out. The good news is we just installed a generator that powers the entire hotel if the power ever does go out! Again, thank you for your review and we hope that you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel after a less than pleasing stay at another Choice property and were very pleasantly surprised. We were offered bottled water while awaiting check-in and the staff throughout the property continued to be that friendly and helpful. Our suite was large, clean and well furnished. The hotel lobby includes an area with a small fridge stocked with mini cans complementary Coke products, tea, coffee,hot cider, and milk/cookies. There is a choice of local paper or USA today. The breakfast was well staffed and ample. There were plenty of tables despite the hotel being full.
This is the best Choice brand motel I have ever stayed in!
The only negative is that this Montpelier Hotel is actually in Berlin, VT (near I-89 exit).

Room Tip: We had a suite which was larger than many competing chains. Regular rooms appeared to be about the s...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaplewoodMontpelier, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your review! We're glad that you were able to enjoy one of our beautifully appointed suites. We certainly take pride in our customer service and strive to make every guest's stay as wonderful as possible. And yes, while we are physically in Berlin, VT our address says Montpelier only because Berlin is to small to have its own post office. Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here for one night travelling with two other couples. The hotel is very clean with the most amazing beds. After travelling for 4 weeks we have really come to appreciate comfortable beds. The other thing you miss when travelling is your own pillow. On the bed is a sign explaining which pillows are firm and which are soft. On arrival there were free cookies; crackers and cheese; soda; warm apple cider; tea and coffee in the foyer. There were also a selection of games including draughts and chess set up on two tables. The entry to the foyer has a wheelbarrow of complimentary apples. Your room contains free bottled water. The staff were incredibly friendly and efficient and check in was very quick. Two bus loads of tourists booked in while we were there and left before us in the morning. Although I heard a few doors bang at about 7am the hotel seemed quiet considering they were quite full. Next door is an Applebees which was perfect after a long day of travelling. The complimentary breakfast was similar to those in other hotel chains.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetodrive57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaplewoodMontpelier, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We're happy that you had a restful night's sleep on our comfortable beds with an assortment of pillows that are both soft and firm. Thank you for mentioning our extra amenities that we love to provide to our guests. The warm apple cider and local apples in the foyer are just some of the little touches of Vermont we like to provide. I hope you were also able to have a waffle with real Vermont maple syrup for breakfast! Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montpelier
3.3 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
384 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
12.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
24.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.6 mi away
Twin City Motel
Twin City Motel
#1 of 3 in Barre
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn at Maplewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn at Maplewood

Address: 213 Paine Tpke N, Montpelier, VT 05602-9159
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Montpelier
Price Range: £77 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn at Maplewood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 tastefully appointed guest rooms including 18 two room suites. Complimentary hot breakfast with scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage and fresh waffles with Vermont maple syrup and much more to start your day! Complimentary wi-fi throughout. Each room is equipped with microwave, refrigerator, Kuerig coffee maker, hair dryer, iron, ironing board, safe and voice mail. Flat screen TVs in each room with HD channels. Free bottles of water and k-cups in each room. Free long distance calls to anywhere in the US or Canada in the lobby. 24 hour fitness center and guest laundry. Located next to Applebee's Restaurant and Maplewood Convenience Store & Deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn at Maplewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn At Maplewood Hotel Montpelier
Comfort Inn Montpelier
Montpelier Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing