We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad, but Could Use Some Improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Montpelier
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Montpelier
New Jersey
Level Contributor
161 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Not Bad, but Could Use Some Improvements”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

To make a long story short, we ended up in the Montpelier area on a motorcyle with no hotel reservation. We tried about four other places before finding that this one had a room, and we were so happy to just have a place to go that maybe we overlooked some little details.

The lobby is actually quite charming with the big side staircases, and the woman at the front desk was very pleasant. We thought the little gift bag of maple syrup and Vermont apples was very cute too. We were in room 209, just above the lobby. It was very spacious but had the tiniest, dirtiest window you've ever seen. The rest of the room was clean though, and the TV was large and the bed was comfortable. Many other reviews state that the rooms had a bad or moldy smell, but we didn't experience that at all. What we did notice was that it seemed like the renovation work was done by subpar contractors- paint on the microwave, uneven tile work, etc.

The breakfast room downstairs was laughably small for a hotel of that size, we couldn't even bother trying to eat in there but we certainly didn't mind grabbing a free bagel. The hotel does have a strange look to it on the outside, odd outside-but-enclosed hallways. All in all, it was a fine place to sleep for one night but I'm not sure I'd want to have a longer stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmelyeKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hello EmelyeKay

I.m Pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and will inform our front desk staff on your kind words. I,m also happy that you enjoyed the Vermont products we handed out to our guest during the fall season. I,m also happy that you liked 209 as that is a nice spacious room and we have fixed the minor problems that you brought to our intention and hope to see you again next fall.


Mark G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    52
    48
    22
    76
See reviews for
57
72
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Due to a mix up in bookings, we ended up on a Saturday night with no reservation. The walk in rate was pretty high given the quality of the site. The room smelled damp and the furnishings were tired. The breakfast room was tiny.

Montpelier is such a pretty town - it's a shame that we couldn't have stayed at a better hotel.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the upper level - they don't smell like the lower ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxx06_10_2014DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
I,m Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. May i suggest booking in advance directly through us during the fall season as this is the peak season for most hotels and prices can range up to 300.00 a night. But if you plan ahead, you can get rooms for allot less.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montpelier hotels

Yellville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Upon check in the clerk offered no suggestions as to where to eat or what to do in the area. The motel was located up a dark side street away from any other businesses or restaurants. Room had an undescribable odor that they attempted to mask with some kind of fragrance/room deodorizer. Extremely noisy family staying in neighboring room which appeeared to be motel employees. Older middle eastern man vacuuming hallway by room and didn't stop or move out of the way while we were trying to move into room. Staff was not at all friendly nor welcoming. Breakfast was as expected but room was inadequate for the size of the motel and number of guests. Not worth the rate paid for the room.

Room Tip: Was on ground floor which you were able to enter from an enclosed hallway. Hallway was noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This old converted office block is terrible. Rude, unwelcoming staff is just the start. I stayed 2 nights & was extremely disappointed.The uneven corridor floor absolutely stinks. Its the old carpet that's rotting away that's causing the smell. The breakfast was edible but in such a small dining room - it's a joke. The " dining room" is behind the front desk & consists of 2 round table to seat 4. there are fixed wall benches so that you can stare closely at the wall. A sign displayed states " More seating available upstairs ". I inquired. You have to carry your breakfast through the front desk, walk upstairs ( there are no lifts ) and sit out of the way. Really poor.!!! I questioned this practice with the elderly Asian male on reception. He just shrugged his shoulders, looked away and answered a ringing phone. Ultimate rudeness. They were delivering a load of new beds when I was present. All the stained broken ones were left for guests to view. I am not a snob by any means & can cam in the woods. Which would have been far more enjoyable. What a stinky, unhelpful dump. DON'T GO HERE !!!!

Room Tip: Room outside in the fresh air - is far preferable. !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
I'm sorry you didn't have a good stay with us . As i have stated with other reply's that we are constantly improving and having a shipment of brand new pillow top mattresses and box springs is just one example. the old ones was not busted and was given to the local homeless shelters for free. Our staff have gotten rave reviews on service and hospitality in the past .
So maybe a economy brand hotel wasn't the best choice .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We thought we'd "save" some money and kept trying to give this place the benefit of the doubt. The place smelled so bad it literally gave me a headache and caused my allergies to flare up. We actually stayed for 4 nights and that was a mistake, but we reserved this room via Priceline and so had already paid in advance. The beds were never made and the room and bathroom wasn't cleaned. The room was dusty and dirty. There was a nearly 2" wide and 1.5" deep gap between the carpet and tile in the door way of the bathroom where the transition was missing. The musty smell led me to believe there was a mold problem. We bought air freshener and burned a candle and it didn't help. There is no elevator. The iron had something black melted on it that I didn't notice until it melted onto a piece of my clothing. The toliet flushed once and then the tank didn't refill so you couldn't flush it again. We reported it as soon as we noticed it and it took 36 hours for it to be repaired. During this time, we had to keep the tank lid off and manually adjust the float in the tank. All and all, one of the worst experiences I've had in a hotel. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone I know and I will never stay there again myself.

Room Tip: There isn't a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mskayellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

After checking into this hotel I asked for a luggage cart. "We don't have luggage carts". Since our room was on the second floor I asked where the elevator was. "We don't have any elevators". I asked for a roll away bed. "We don't have roll-away beds". The first five minutes gave me a negative opinion of this hotel.
The entryway was attractive with curved wooden stairs on each side of the reception desk.We had a large room that was clean and nicely decorated. The decor was colonial style with thick comforters on the beds. The bathroom was humongous with a large dressing area.
Apparently this facility is undergoing renovations as some rooms were colonial and others were more modern style. It is obvious that they are cutting as many corners as they can while renovating as the floorboards under the carpet were not even and the bathroom door was cut crooked, requiring a good shoulder/hip bump to open. No hair dryer in the bathroom but I think one could be acquired from the front desk upon request.
Our iron did not work so we took it to the desk & they gave us an iron with a missing dial that was also broken. When the second iron was returned they acquired a working one from another room.
The ice machine was broken so they had a styrofoam cooler in the lobby with ice. Any incidentals that you might need (combs, toothbrush, etc) were available in a vending machine in the lobby for $1 or more.
Breakfast left a lot to be desired. The only hot item was scrambled eggs, otherwise it was the usual fare of cereal, toast, juice, etc.
The hotel was quiet and we slept well. The only reason we stayed four nights was for that the cost was more than half of other local hotels. The next time I visit Montpelier I will not stay at this hotel unless it is the only one available.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark g, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Montpelier, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hello Sheri. We are so sorry you had a rough stay with us as that day was one i too would like to forget. If anything could go wrong , it did on that day.. But i'm happy to say that we installed a new water cooled ice machine (which means no noise).
As we are a small hotel, We are limited in space to store cots. But we have picked up a few air mattresses for the next time. I will also look into getting a cart for the 2nd floor or our staff is always happy to carry the luggage to your room

Mark G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n shore, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

do NOT stay here - smells VERY musty, is barely clean & wouldn't be surprised if there's mold too! old rooms, old furniture - even had fans in the hallways - as if that was going to get rid of the horrendous smell!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindalou-roma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montpelier
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
10.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
0.7 mi away
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 4 in Montpelier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Montpelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Montpelier

Property: Econo Lodge Montpelier
Address: 101 Northfield St, Montpelier, VT 05602-3407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Montpelier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Montpelier 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge is located in the heart of Vermont and the capital city of Montpelier. Conveniently located to all ski areas and only 45 minutes from Burlington and local attractions , clean rooms and friendly and courteous staff await your arrival. Free Full continental breakfast with hot eggs ,free WiFi in all rooms along with flat screen TV's . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Econo Lodge Montpelier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Montpelier Hotel Montpelier
Economy Hotel Montpelier
Economy Motel Montpelier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing