We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick stop”

Vermont State House
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Montpelier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gold dome building located in Montpelier.
carmel
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Quick stop”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped while in the area. I would say it is worth a quick stop. Most state capitols have pretty neat architecture. Ethan Allen state and some cannons. Few pics and ready to move on.

Helpful?
Thank craig t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    96
    16
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice self-guided tour”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Although in the past I've had a great personally guided tour, the practice now is to give you a wand to follow the numbers and listening to a narration. You can tour the State House at your own pace and spend as much time as you want. I liked the Senate chamber the most, as well as a huge mural of the Cedar Creek battle.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 48NYSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Head, New York
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Small and Sweet”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I'd seen the state capitol twice most recently on my last visit to Vermont. Overall its the way most other states' capitols and government complexes should be, it is nicely built and reflects a government that is small enough to hold in one's hand.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank conrade886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“The free audio tour is worthwhile”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

There is a lot of interesting history displayed in this building. Definitely take the free audio tour devices that will explain what you are seeing in each room.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank smokeylinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“OK, Now That’s a TOUR!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Vermont State House (Capitol) is a beautifully preserved slice of history tucked neatly against a picturesque hillside. We were fortunate enough the evening we visited to start talking with a gentleman who works with the state government and who had time prior to his duties began. He explained the session was nearing its end. Our unofficial ‘tour’ gave us an excellent view from the galleries of both the Senate and Representatives chambers, explained the efforts the “Friends of the State House” and several of the fascinating details of both of the chambers. Our “guide” brought us onto the senate chamber floor to sit on an antique lounge (couch) while a bill was being debated. I don’t know if other visitors to the capitol building will have the opportunity for the in-depth tour we received, but what happened to us certainly is a reflection of the friendly, personable nature of Vermont residents.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank T4TwoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vermont State House also viewed

 

Been to Vermont State House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing