We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressed "Out of Towner"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Positive Pie 2

Positive Pie 2
Reserve with OpenTable
Positive Pie 2 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 57 Restaurants in Montpelier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Featuring hand crafted food that showcases Vermont's finest local farms and producers as well as our famous hand-tossed New York style pizza. Compliment your meal with our benchmark rotating craft beer selection, seasonal wines or craft cocktails.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Impressed "Out of Towner"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I don't often get out of Burlington,but ended up spending the day in Montpelier after attending a seminar.On a whim I decided pizza.When I entered my main concern was being able to find my way to Natl Life building .When the server could not help me,a complete stranger was there with his "smartphone" giving me street by street info. WOW i was impressed(that doesn;t happen to often in B-town.When I found my way to the bar,Katie (the bartender ) was there with a smile and a glass of cold water.She was friendly,attentive and even though she was busy helping the servers and other patrons,she gave me the attention as if I were her only customer.The food was fine .I was amazed at the the portion size (amazing). Despite climbing that nasty hill at National Life,to catch the bus.I left Montpelier a Very HAPPY MAN

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnboy919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    76
    32
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Gourmet Grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I visited Positive Pie 2 for the first time this weekend based on tripadvisor reviews. I was quite happy with the pizza and beer selections. The pizza tasted like brick oven, though I'm not sure if they use one. The variety was awesome. We dined on the Moonshadow and Carcass pizzas. The ingredients were fresh and the crusts were akin to crusty bread. Very delicious! One note - some people refer to Positive Pie pizza as "New York Style" - it's great pizza, but it's not NYC old school pizza. Beer selection, like everywhere in Montpelier, is stupendous. If you want two pints of the same beer, order the growler (32 oz.) and save some cash. Also, great music but be aware that you will be asked to pay a cover charge if you are dining late and the band starts to play.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sierra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
316 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“OMG awesome pizza"...but service is slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a table of 9. Took quite awhile for someone to take drink, then appetizer/dinner orders. Food and drinks were quite slow coming out but when the food arrived, at least it was amazing! The garlic rolls were absolutely delicious and the BLT pizza close to the best I've ever had. If you have some time to spare, stop by and try out the food. (You'd think they would fix the the service based on the Trip Advisor feedback!)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White River Junction, Vermont
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Better than the first time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Though we were not particularly happy the first time we went a couple of months ago, we decided to give it another chance. We were happier with the food and service this time around (still a bit pricey for a pizza place). But I can tell from the other reviews I read that there is inconsistency with staff - both in attitude and service. Seems like management needs to address this soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank medora58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hip and yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Pizza, pizza and more pizza.... Special orders are no problem and they have gluten free and vegetarian options. Back area is casual and offers take out. The front (street side) has a large bar and tables to linger at.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank educatemassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Positive Pie 2 also viewed

 

Been to Positive Pie 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing