We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk through the woods”
Review of Hubbard Park

Hubbard Park
Ranked #6 of 19 things to do in Montpelier
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Walk through the woods”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Having grown up a stone's throw from this Park, I can testify that it's a wonderful addition to the City of Montpelier. I spent many a girl scout experience there in my youth. Dirt roads, BBQ pits, hiking trails, and a stone-built "tower" at the top from which you can see a panoramic view of surroundings, Someone had the foresight to leave this property for the public for generations to come, and it is a great place to visit if you like the outdoors.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    20
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to run”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The Staff at The Econolodge in Montpelier Suggested that this was a good place to jog or ride a bike and they where right. The trails was well maintained and loved the tower in the center of the park. also a good place for a picnic as there a many tables and grills throughout the park.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tony l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tranquil Space Overlooking VT Capitol”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is a great park year round. In the winter enjoy cross country skiing and great sledding. In the Spring, Summer and Autumn there are trails to walk or hike, facilities for picnics. There is also a tower to climb which gives a magnificent view of the surrounding mountains and Central Vermont.Hubbard Park is a gem in Montpelier. In the Autumn, the view is especially spectacular with the fall foliage. I like walking through the woods all times of the year. You can walk up to the park from Downtown (it's uphill) or there is limited parking in the park. It's worth the walk!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieMaeBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A genuinely beautiful park to explore during the winter”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I found the hiking trail into Hubbard Park behind the State House on a chilly winter's morning and decided to give it a go despite the cold & snow.

Wow - what a gorgeous path that was!

It winded up the hill through a beautiful woody forest, culminating with the Hubbard Park Tower at the top, a century-old stone structure sporting a pretty decent view over the Vermont countryside. I was pleasantly surprised by the many happy locals out for a run & walking their dog and struck up a few happy conversations along the way.

I returned to the city via the northern trail, taking me back down the hill and winding around to Corse Street in the park's south-eastern corner. There are some fantastic views of the city skyline around where Corse Street joins Cliff Street - perfect for shooting a panorama photo.

The whole trek from start to finish took just under an hour at a fairly rushed pace (I was on a tight schedule), but I think it'd be more suitable to set aside two hours to fully enjoy its serenity. I'd recommend Hubbard Park to any Montpelier visitor who is comfortable with a moderate uphill walk. If it's this beautiful in the winter, I can't imagine how glorious it'd be during the warmer months.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank danschaumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Easy to get to”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

3 different trails go up a tower. I encourage the long way down as you get a bird's eye view of the city. Really cool.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurette2454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hubbard Park also viewed

 

Been to Hubbard Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing