We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B, great hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montpelier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Montpelier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B&B, great hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We loved it! Booked the room the night before we arrived and were very pleased with the accommodations. Ann Marie and Joe were so friendly and had great suggestions for things to do around town. The private loft room was very clean, comfortable bed, great balcony view, and an excellent breakfast made from all local foods including hand pressed coffee and cookies and berry banana nut bread (made by Joe) to-go for our drive to Jay Peak. About 5-7 minute drive to downtown and we loved Hunger Mountain co-op suggested by Ann-Marie. Will definitely be returning in the near future!

Room Tip: We stayed in the loft on the third floor and were very pleased. Private bathroom and sitting area w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    16
    5
    7
    3
See reviews for
35
115
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I've stayed at the High Hill Inn several times during the past couple years, and have become a great fan. The owners are consummate hosts, who bring you into their home and make you feel like family : warm greetings, fresh-baked cookies & breakfast every morning, and wonderful recommendations for local activities. This B&B experience is unique compared to most, and definitely one I look forward to whenever I find myself back in Vermont.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattVA81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

I chose the High Hill Inn for a special long weekend with my fiancee in late October, and wow were we impressed! From the very beginning Joe and Ann-Marie made us feel welcome in their beautiful home. As the name suggests, it sits on top of a hill a very short drive from downtown Montpelier with fantastic views from the bedrooms and kitchen. We stayed on the top floor which was very cozy and private with our own balcony, and the rooms on the second floor looked very lovely as well. Each day started with a GENEROUS breakfast made freshly by Joe using local ingredients and served in a beautiful, sunny kitchen with panoramic views. For us the location was ideal because we were able to spend time in Montpelier, Burlington, and Stowe, seeing so much of what Vermont has to offer (which is a lot!).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed at the High Hill Inn for two days in October 2013. I experienced a beautiful indian summer, gaining the best from the Fall Foliage season. The High Hill Inn is really comfortable, clean, tidy and with a magnificent view. No worries about the shared bathroom, it was so clean and tidy that I felt at home. You can also enjoy a delicious breakfast every morning, in particular Ann-Marie is very keen about healthy and organic food. So, you can be sure to eat and drink the best.
The B&B is very close to the city centre. Unfortunately I was travelling without a car (in the city there were very few taxis), but the Ann-Marie and Joe was so kind to take me and pick me up everyday for a very nominal price. They were very kind with me and make my journey very comfortable.
Thus, I can recommend this B&B very strongly to all that are planning a pleasant trip to Vermont and this capitol city. Personally, I hope to be back in the near future. So, enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: I recommend the Mountain View. You will have a marvellous view!
See more room tips
Green Features: The B&B chooses organic and local food. So, you can be sure to enjoy a healthy breakfast.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this B&B. We've been to many B&B's and found this one to be more relaxed than others. The reasons being the location was tucked away high on a hill somewhat off the beaten path at the end of a dirt road so it was very quiet (yet 5-10 mins from downtown), Anne Marie and Joe were extremely personable making conversation of common interests and the room was very comfortable. We stayed in the mountain view room which was bigger than we normally would have gone for but we were celebrating a special occasion. The view from the room was great with mountains in the background. The property is massive with it's own pond. They have a few horses, LOTS of chickens (which they like to use their eggs) and goats which were super cute. They let us "walk" their goats too. I would call Anne Marie and Joe foodies in that they love healthy, good tasting and natural food so everything is of great quality and tastes good. This was the only B&B that we had been to that offered to make us something other than what they had made for breakfast to make sure we had enough variety and were full. They had recommended things to do in the area, restaurants to try and went above expectations to make sure we were satisfied with our stay. We would stay here if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcrean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Upon arrival at the High Hill Inn, we were greeted by Ann-Marie and a plate of freshly baked cookies. Our room was clean and comfortable and the home is warm and relaxing. Ann-Marie was very helpful with our questions about cycling in the area and we found a nice 38 mile loop. Our breakfast at the Inn was delicious and my favorite part was that Ann-Marie uses all local ingredients and recipes from a Vermont cookbook.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We spent two nights at the High Hill Inn in October 2013 and enjoyed the hospitality of Ann-Marie and Joe. The High Hill Inn is just a short drive from Montpelier, the cozy capital of Vermont with some really good restaurants and bars. The situation of the house is spectacular, overlooking a meadow with a pond, trees and and a colorful view on the surrounding hills. Very peaceful and relaxed. Breakfast is wonderful, we enjoyed the conversations with our hosts and the interesting guests, sitting at a common table. A relaxed and very pleasant stay. We will be back!
Martin&Stephen, Zurich, Switzerland

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montpelier
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
2.4 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
17.0 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe
22.3 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.1 mi away
Inn at Montpelier
Inn at Montpelier
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Hill Inn

Property: High Hill Inn
Address: 265 Green Rd, Montpelier, VT 05651-4246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montpelier
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 5 bedroom Bed and Breakfast specializing in Full Hot Cooked Organic Breakfasts using primarily Local ingredients and serving only freshly made foods. We customize the breakfast for our guest and honor all special requests including gluten and/or dairy free and vegan. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing