We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place during a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Montpelier B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice place during a short stay”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and i were traveling through New England and decided to overnight in Montpelier. We found Betsy's B&B online and showed up to check out the place. The house is nice, the stay was average. for us it did not have the romantic B&B experience. Breakfast was average. The room was large and spacious and very clean. Betsy runs a nice place but it felt too businesslike.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jet1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    29
    22
    14
    12
See reviews for
22
45
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Picked this based on other reviews and was very happy. It's a beautifully redone 1893 home. The owners did a great job recreating the time period with beautiful antiques while still keeping a very welcoming and comfortable atmosphere. The mother and daughter team that run the place and made breakfast where fun to talk to and very friendly. Loved my room and the breakfast they made for me. It's very convenient to downtown Montpelior, VT which is a quaint city. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Crawford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here while visiting our son. Betsy actually has 2 Victorian style houses, located side by side. They are older but well maintained, comfortable homes. Our room was large enough and had an adjoining den and kitchen for shared use. (We were the only ones using it during our stay). It's a great location for walking to downtown Montpelier. The breakfast was great, the staff was attentive and we really enjoyed our stay. And Betsy........well she resembles Meryl Streep. What more do you want? :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bclatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Betsy's is located within walking distance to downtown Montpelier. We enjoyed being able to take walks downtown during a nice colorful and warm fall season. Close to restaurants, shopping and historical sites. Rooms are spacious, breakfast was delicious and we had fun meeting other guests each morning to discuss adventures. Betsy has a wealth of local knowledge and was very helpful with location of covered bridges? We have had the opportunity to stay twice at Betsy's and would recommend her B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickens, South Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We spent the night at Betsy's after a day of driving and touring Vermont. Our GPS took us to the wrong address but we quickly found it. Betsy didn't have a reservation for us, even though I had made one online. She did have my name as an "inquiry" though so we had no problem with getting a room. The room (room 1) was roomy and well-appointed. The bed was clean and very comfortable. The bathroom was clean but there was a dispenser with shampoo, conditioner, etc. and it didn't seem to work right. It also caused the tub floor to be slippery. The drain was very slow and there were dirty towels hanging on hooks behind the bathroom door, possibly from the previous guests? Breakfast the next morning was home cooked and there was plenty to eat. Betsy, the owner, seemed a bit distant compared to other innkeepers I have encountered here in the U.S. and overseas. Perhaps she was just having a bad night but a warmer welcome would make us more likely to return.

Room Tip: Room 1 had a queen bed and a daybed if a family needed sleep accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen
Level Contributor
155 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our first impression of this B&B was "Hey, that's really nice and cosy": Our room was spaceous, the bed comfy, and the private bathroom mostly okay (except of some mold around the tub/shower).

Minus 1 for: The breakfast was small portioned, just some scrambled eggs, one plain toast and two small sausages. Nobody checked back if we maybe want some more.

And minus 1 for: The little "dog accident" on the second floor, right on the carpet of the main floor. Obviously Betsy's cute Dachshund couldn't hold it anymore. Well, those things happen and we are basically cool with it. But: We saw the poo late in the evening, and when we went to breakfast the next morning, it was still there! After a discrete hint to the lady who was clearing the tables, she doesn't seem to care at all. No excuse, whatsoever!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banocburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Montpelier is a great little town in the center of Vermont. Coming over Smuggler's Notch, through Stowe and down in Montpelier made a fine ride during warm summer days. This Victorian style B&B was the perfect rest stop..clean, quiet, affordable with a beautiful Victorian four-poster to rest those biker legs...breakfast was yummy and filled us up before we hit the road again.

Room Tip: Room in the second house faced the road...and was beautifully furnished, clean and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieKeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montpelier
0.5 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
376 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
483 reviews
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
10.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
0.3 mi away
Inn at Montpelier
Inn at Montpelier
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betsy's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betsy's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 74 E State St, Montpelier, VT 05602-3112
Region: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montpelier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Features victorian furniture and home-cooked breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Betsy's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy`s Hotel Montpelier
Betsy`s b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing