We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property, comfortable and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Montpelier
Ranked #2 of 4 Montpelier B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently while he was in town on business. He has been to Montpelier many times, but this was his first stay here. It was charming, comfortable, and very accommodating. I like Inns, but we don't usually have an opportunity to stay at them. I'm glad we did on this trip. I appreciated the little touchs, the cookies and coffee/tea in the butler's pantry. The continental breakfast and coffee. The free WIFI. The beautiful veranda on which I set up my "office". The bed was very comfortable too. A few things I'd like to see, a full size ironing board, even if it was centrally located and not in the guest rooms. I had a tough time using that little one. Conditioner. The shampoo was great, but I travel without my own toiletries and I have hair that really, really needs conditioner. And there is a lovely bar, but it's sort of hidden. I think it would be a great idea to have wine and cheese on the veranda in the late afternoon/early evening or in the parlor in bad weather. Charge by the glass, let the munchies be complimentary. I think it would be a good draw. At any rate, I look forward to staying again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtreby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

We can't say enough about Karel and the rest of the staff at the Inn-very welcoming, helpful and accommodating. We were staying w/ both sets of parents for our small wedding ceremony in Montpelier. When we made our reservations, Karel graciously offered the use of the veranda for our ceremony-picture perfect! They even supplied a few vases of flowers to decorate the veranda. All our rooms were comfortable, and we got an upgrade on our room-very greatly appreciated! The veranda is a wonderful place to relax and watch the world go by in a small town. The inn is walking distance to everything in town. We just love this inn and will definitely be staying here again when we return to Vermont. Thank you again to everyone at the inn for a great experience!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Our room was very comfortable, air conditioned and decorated in a colonial fashion. We had a large private balcony but unfortunately it was too hot to use it when we arrived. Coffee was available in the anteroom downstairs at any hour.Our host recommended a great Italian restaurant which was very busy but had good food. In the morning we had coffee on our balcony; very nice. The hotel rate was a little steep when you consider we were only served a Contiental breakfast (toast, juice,sweet buns). In all we enjoyed the room and loved the B&Bs location in downtown Montpelier. Maybe offer a full service breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKU147, Owner at The Inn at Montpelier, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We just want to make a correction about your comment stating we only serve toast, juice, and sweet buns. At breakfast, we serve Maple Yogurt, Homemade Blueberry and Mixed Berry Jam, Homemade Granola and Muesli, Fruit Salad, Deviled Eggs, Homemade Scones and Quick Breads, English Muffin, Toast, Orange Juice, Milk, Assorted Teas, Hot Chocolate, and Coffee.
Thank you for your review!
We hope to see you soon,

John and Karel Underwood - Innkeepers/Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The Inn at M. is an imposing attractive place from the outside–a gorgeous front porch, convenient location, comfortable rooms with slightly tired decor. Alas, it was a disappointment in several other ways. Breakfast, although pleasantly set out, nevertheless resembled a standard cold motel breakfast. Although waitresses offered English muffins, that was it--no eggs, no bacon, no pancakes. Had this place been inexpensive, that would be one thing, but given the high price ($$$) of rooms, this was distinctly shoddy. Shoddy was also the word for much of the pretentious decor inside the main house--fake flowers, K-Mart quality artwork. I mean, really.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NORNORKEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We were extremely happy with our choice to stay here. We did not have reservations and had been driving around the area looking for places to stay. The Inn at Montpelier was our fourth or fifth place we'd seen and when we pulled up it was an obvious choice to stay. You get what you pay for and it was well worth a little more for the comforts, location and service.
The Inn is beautiful and very clean. It's obvious the owners genuinely care about their guests experience.
The owners were very gracious. They were up early serving breakfast and coffee with a smile. I had a nice talk with both of the owners who were very happy to have us. It's an easy walk to beautiful down town Montpelier yet the Inn still feels settled in nature with beautiful views.
I highly recommend this Inn and we are looking forward to another visit soon.
There is a perfect porch swing we relaxed in and enjoyed the scenic views of Vermont.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRO9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

What an incredible place to call " home " while exploring the beauty of Vermont! Every creature comfort at our fingertips in an authentic historical setting. We stayed in the White House in a cozy, well-appointed room with plenty of space to unpack and relax for our several days stay. The public pantry just outside our room provided coffee, tea, cookies, and a small refrigerator to use as needed. The Main House is warm and welcoming! A choice of rooms to sit and read or just relax, and a beautiful dining area where a very adequate continental breakfast was served - don't miss the maple yogurt and homemade granola, fresh cut fruit, scones and local jams and Green Mountain coffee. The wrap around porch was a perfect setting to meet up with family members or just sit and enjoy the view! The owners were attentive to our needs and provided invaluable information on surrounding sites...Morris Farm, Ben and Jerry Factory, Cabot Cheese, an amazing tour of a granite quarry and local eateries and shops. We look forward to a return visit! Thank you!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seansand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

If you were hoping to find something very quaint and VERMONTISH. Then this would be the place. Our room which was a regular room, was extremely well kept, roomy. Had three windows and it's own Bathroom. From the furnishings to the paint, and bed it was just what we were hoping for. It was looking like rain so John who owns and is the Innkeeper with his very lovely and charming wife Karel, offered the use of a private indoor garage for our Harley. He told me they regularly take in motorbike tours so they are very biker friendly. We had got caught in the rain, so Karel offered us the use of their dryer. Another very nice and welcoming gesture. Because of their proximity to town and with a few of their dinner suggestions and the use of two very large complimentary umbrellas' we headed off to town on foot for a bite to eat. We found the perfect pub within two or three blocks and had a great meal. Then we retired to the enormous and comfortably decorated covered porch for a nightcap which John himself poured from the relatively well stocked bar, and watched the locals drive and walk by. Even though there were plenty of other guests staying there, we felt very private and the place was super quiet. It was the perfect evening for us. We grabbed a few books from the eclectic library and headed off to bed. The bed was very comfortable. In the morning we had a great homemade fresh breakfast on the porch and met a few of the the other guests. I would say that if you are interested in staying in Vermont's capital, The INN AT MONTPELIER should be on your list to check out. Very warm, friendly and comfortable.

Room Tip: We only saw and stayed in the one room, so maybe you should check out more rooms, but ours was perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EasyRider54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montpelier
0.3 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
398 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
524 reviews
10.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
10.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
2.1 mi away
High Hill Inn
High Hill Inn
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Montpelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Montpelier

Address: 147 Main St, Montpelier, VT 05602
Region: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montpelier
Price Range: £125 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Montpelier 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Montpelier offers a classic New England experience, with charming accommodations and close proximity to local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Inn at Montpelier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Montpelier Hotel Montpelier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing