We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Montpelier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Montpelier
Ranked #2 of 4 Montpelier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is a very nice B&B with nice appointments and an excellent location in the town. I brought my family and the room was large and the staff was friendly and nice. The room was extremely spacious and very well appointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    34
    17
    11
    5
See reviews for
19
67
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We arrived in Montpelier late in the evening after a long and tiring drive and only a "de luxe" room was available in one of the Annexes across the drive from the main house.

The main house appeared pleasantly appointed and our breakfast was fine and served by helpful and welcoming staff.

Our room was not, however, "de luxe" by any stretch of the imagination. One of the bedside lamps was not and could not be connected for use and the room did not appear to have been cleaned for some time (the lamp shades were dusty and there appeared to be an old rag under the headboard). In the bathroom the wash basin was badly cracked and the the whole annexe felt uncared for. It was the air conditioning, however, that was the biggest problem as whatever we did it was not possible to stop it coming on noisily every 15 minutes for 15 minutes throughout the night thus destroying any chance of a decent night's rest..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PBJCHESHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The Inn at Montpelier is a beautiful and old New England Inn. The Inn is an easy walk from local shopping and restaurants. The room was comfortable, clean, and nicely decorated. The porch was a great place to sit and reflect upon the day. The town is charming. The innkeeper was very helpful. Breakfast was good. We would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
248 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently while he was in town on business. He has been to Montpelier many times, but this was his first stay here. It was charming, comfortable, and very accommodating. I like Inns, but we don't usually have an opportunity to stay at them. I'm glad we did on this trip. I appreciated the little touchs, the cookies and coffee/tea in the butler's pantry. The continental breakfast and coffee. The free WIFI. The beautiful veranda on which I set up my "office". The bed was very comfortable too. A few things I'd like to see, a full size ironing board, even if it was centrally located and not in the guest rooms. I had a tough time using that little one. Conditioner. The shampoo was great, but I travel without my own toiletries and I have hair that really, really needs conditioner. And there is a lovely bar, but it's sort of hidden. I think it would be a great idea to have wine and cheese on the veranda in the late afternoon/early evening or in the parlor in bad weather. Charge by the glass, let the munchies be complimentary. I think it would be a good draw. At any rate, I look forward to staying again. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtreby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We can't say enough about Karel and the rest of the staff at the Inn-very welcoming, helpful and accommodating. We were staying w/ both sets of parents for our small wedding ceremony in Montpelier. When we made our reservations, Karel graciously offered the use of the veranda for our ceremony-picture perfect! They even supplied a few vases of flowers to decorate the veranda. All our rooms were comfortable, and we got an upgrade on our room-very greatly appreciated! The veranda is a wonderful place to relax and watch the world go by in a small town. The inn is walking distance to everything in town. We just love this inn and will definitely be staying here again when we return to Vermont. Thank you again to everyone at the inn for a great experience!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Our room was very comfortable, air conditioned and decorated in a colonial fashion. We had a large private balcony but unfortunately it was too hot to use it when we arrived. Coffee was available in the anteroom downstairs at any hour.Our host recommended a great Italian restaurant which was very busy but had good food. In the morning we had coffee on our balcony; very nice. The hotel rate was a little steep when you consider we were only served a Contiental breakfast (toast, juice,sweet buns). In all we enjoyed the room and loved the B&Bs location in downtown Montpelier. Maybe offer a full service breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKU147, Owner at Inn at Montpelier, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We just want to make a correction about your comment stating we only serve toast, juice, and sweet buns. At breakfast, we serve Maple Yogurt, Homemade Blueberry and Mixed Berry Jam, Homemade Granola and Muesli, Fruit Salad, Deviled Eggs, Homemade Scones and Quick Breads, English Muffin, Toast, Orange Juice, Milk, Assorted Teas, Hot Chocolate, and Coffee.
Thank you for your review!
We hope to see you soon,

John and Karel Underwood - Innkeepers/Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

The Inn at M. is an imposing attractive place from the outside–a gorgeous front porch, convenient location, comfortable rooms with slightly tired decor. Alas, it was a disappointment in several other ways. Breakfast, although pleasantly set out, nevertheless resembled a standard cold motel breakfast. Although waitresses offered English muffins, that was it--no eggs, no bacon, no pancakes. Had this place been inexpensive, that would be one thing, but given the high price ($$$) of rooms, this was distinctly shoddy. Shoddy was also the word for much of the pretentious decor inside the main house--fake flowers, K-Mart quality artwork. I mean, really.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NORNORKEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montpelier
0.3 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
10.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe
0.3 mi away
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 4 in Montpelier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
5.9 mi away
Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Montpelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Montpelier

Property: Inn at Montpelier
Address: 147 Main St, Montpelier, VT 05602-2937
Region: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montpelier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Montpelier 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Montpelier offers a classic New England experience, with charming accommodations and close proximity to local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Inn at Montpelier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Montpelier Hotel Montpelier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing