We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in VT”
Review of Inn at Montpelier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Montpelier
Ranked #2 of 4 Montpelier B&B and Inns
New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Christmas in VT”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We spent two nights at this lovely Inn. This is our third visit and were happy that things like service and pleasant staff remain the same. Rooms were warm and cheerful. Coffee, cookies are always available.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John U, Owner at Inn at Montpelier, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for joining us for another wonderful visit! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. Hope we'll see you this year!

All the best,
John and Karel Underwood, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    34
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
19
69
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We visited Montpelier on a Fall leaf peeping trip through the north east and just loved this little hotel. We would very happily stay at the Inn again and again. This is an old bulding with loads of character. If ultra modern is what you are after, then this place is not for you. But if you like the vestiges of a previous era with at least some modern comforts then the Inn is a great place to stay.

We had one of the better rooms and it was bery spacious, well furnished and extremely comfortable.

Location wise the Inn cannot be faulted. It is very convenient to the historic heart of Montpelier and a number of restaurants and cafes.

We found the staff to be fantastic and service first rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John U, Owner at Inn at Montpelier, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Sounds like our character was the star of your time with us. We couldn't be happier to hear that our service stood out as well. Thank you for choosing to spend your time in Montpelier with us!

All the best,
John and Karel Underwood, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

If you are looking for a high end B and B while doing some Vermont leaf peeping, the Inn at Montpelier is the place. It is a bit expensive, but the rooms are very nice and bigger than they seem on the webstie. WE had a balcony that we could have had a nice evening party on (if we had been there with enought people to have a party). This could be a great place for large groups. The morning breakfast is very nice and the staff very accomicating and super nice. The building itself makes you feel like you have travled back in time. a 2 minute walk to the heart of town. 15 minute walk to the Captiol buliding. Close drive to things like maple farms etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bricken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Edge, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The Inn is a grand, spacious place, lush with charm. Antiques are the décor, in the large public rooms as well as in the overnight rooms. The beautiful white building, complete with inviting porch dotted with round tables and chairs for guests to enjoy the foliage in fall; it was a joy. We were upgraded to room #2, upstairs on the front of the house. It had space for an additional person, but we were two. Surprising juxtaposition of a large flat screen TV in the antique décor, but it was nice to have for catching up on the world news. Quiet! Breakfast in the dining room, we were seated at our own table for four, and enjoyed homemade granola, yogurt with pure maple syrup, as well as hot offerings off the griddle and toast. Easily scored a 5 in my book!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dramom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is a very nice B&B with nice appointments and an excellent location in the town. I brought my family and the room was large and the staff was friendly and nice. The room was extremely spacious and very well appointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESHIRE
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We arrived in Montpelier late in the evening after a long and tiring drive and only a "de luxe" room was available in one of the Annexes across the drive from the main house.

The main house appeared pleasantly appointed and our breakfast was fine and served by helpful and welcoming staff.

Our room was not, however, "de luxe" by any stretch of the imagination. One of the bedside lamps was not and could not be connected for use and the room did not appear to have been cleaned for some time (the lamp shades were dusty and there appeared to be an old rag under the headboard). In the bathroom the wash basin was badly cracked and the the whole annexe felt uncared for. It was the air conditioning, however, that was the biggest problem as whatever we did it was not possible to stop it coming on noisily every 15 minutes for 15 minutes throughout the night thus destroying any chance of a decent night's rest..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PBJCHESHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The Inn at Montpelier is a beautiful and old New England Inn. The Inn is an easy walk from local shopping and restaurants. The room was comfortable, clean, and nicely decorated. The porch was a great place to sit and reflect upon the day. The town is charming. The innkeeper was very helpful. Breakfast was good. We would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montpelier
0.3 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
380 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
486 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
6.4 mi away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
21.2 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Montpelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Montpelier

Property: Inn at Montpelier
Address: 147 Main St, Montpelier, VT 05602-2937
Region: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montpelier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Montpelier 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Montpelier offers a classic New England experience, with charming accommodations and close proximity to local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Inn at Montpelier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Montpelier Hotel Montpelier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing