We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Sitting on the Front Porch Watching Montpelier Pass By” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Montpelier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn at Montpelier
Ranked #2 of 4 Montpelier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Sitting on the Front Porch Watching Montpelier Pass By”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had never been to Montpelier before and it worked out during a recent road excursion that it would be an ideal stop over point during our trip. I had found the Inn at Montpelier through Tripadvisor and we decided to give it a try despite the higher price charged.
The reception person / owner was very courteous and took the time to explain the features at the Inn along with make recommendations for restaurants in the area. We were pleased with our room and enjoyed the unique decor of the buildings. Our TV wouldn't work, but a quick call to a phone number posted at the front desk for after-hour issues sorted that out. (A light switch on the wall needed to be turned on).
We enjoyed the 24 hour snack areas in both buildings, but what we really enjoyed was spending the evening sitting on the spacious old porch of the main building, sipping some beverages and chatting with other folks. The Inn is within easy walking distance of the entire downtown and has a very relaxed atmosphere about it. The bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom was well equipped and the parking area was adequate in size. The continental breakfast prior to our departure was OK and you could dine in the dining room or out on the front porch.
I would recommend this establishment for anyone who is tired of standard box-hotel type of places and who would like to have a taste of what the finer accommodations of the past offered.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John U, Owner at Inn at Montpelier, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Neal, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here. It sounds like you enjoyed your first trip to Montpelier, and I'm happy we could be a part of it. It's great to read you enjoyed all the amenities -- especially the front porch! The next time you're in the area, our door's always open.

Until then.
John Underwood, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    34
    17
    11
    5
See reviews for
18
66
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
265 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We drove past this location and decided to give it a try. The innkeeper graciously greeted us. We were a walk in and were provided with multiple room options. We took the standard as it was one night and were not looking for anything too fancy. The room we got was spacious with useful furniture. I liked that there were not a lot of excess decorations. Chair, luggage rack, dresser and bed. The bathroom had a tub, sink, toilet. There are stairs and some rooms appear to step up out of the hallway or have a step into the bathroom so beware if there are mobility issues. Sitting rooms, dining rooms and a bar are there. 24 hour coffee/tea, cookies and fruit in the pantry. Great porch out front to sit and enjoy the view. Very conveniently located to the restaurants.

The room provided a fan and a hairdryer.

The breakfast was buffet continental but they did offer toast and English muffins. Plenty of local items to choose from.

Cons: The showerhead was old, locker room style which while it worked did not mesh with the level of upscale faucets elsewhere. There was also a fair amount of dust/grime on the windowsills, along the Window and on the blinds. The remainder of the room was immaculate so that was a bit of a surprise. No fleece blankets for the porch chairs. That would be a nice touch.

Overall we would stay again should the opportunity arise.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blondechickma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John U, Owner at Inn at Montpelier, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your room and all of its amenities. Although we keep everything clean and comfortable here, it sounds like we missed a few spots when dusting, so I want to personally apologize for the dust. That's certainly not typical of us, so I hope you can understand this was a slip-up that won't happen again.

In any case, thanks for taking the time to leave this feedback. It's definitely helpful, as we're always looking for ways to improve. That said, we're going to take this feedback and run with it, so I'd love the opportunity to show you that it's being put to good use. Hope to see you again the next time you're in Montpelier.

All the best,
John Underwood, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Make sure to leave enough time during your visit to relax on the splendid, wrap-around veranda. The hosts were very helpful with excellent restaurant recommendations. Our room was quaint and comfortable. Breakfast is served at separate tables; there are good options for vegetarians.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mirren451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John U, Owner at Inn at Montpelier, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for leaving these kind words. Our wrap-around porch has got a seat with your name on it for the next time you're in Montpelier!

All the best,
John Underwood, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

After leaving another hotel that sits on a hilltop, that we just couldn't bring ourselves to stay at. We booked a room at the INN. Overall, we quite liked our stay here, The hotel is need of a little sprucing up, but we had very comfortable room. The 24 hour pantry is a nice touch, and it a good location. However, the price is extremely high for what you get. The service was just fine. It is a beautiful property overall, but I don't believe that we would book here again because of the price.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the " second house", and it is on a fairly busy road. We wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John U, Owner at Inn at Montpelier, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Rob, we’re very passionate about sharing the beauty of Vermont with our guests, so it’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the feedback on our prices. We generally change them during the busy season, but I hope you can understand that this isn't something we're crazy about doing. I hope we’ll see you again sometime.

Best,
John Underwood, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We enjoyed this and did not have any real complaints but just felt it was a little overpriced for what it was, at $220 for a medium sized room (which is pretty small in an old building like this) with a "king" bed.

Main downside was that the king bed was two twins pushed together, with a gap in the middle so you could not sleep next to your partner.

Quaint and pretty, in an old house.

The continental breakfast was good. We enjoyed the deviled eggs and the artisanal jam.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraThreeBridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John U, Owner at Inn at Montpelier, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Laura, thank you for taking the time to reach out and leave this feedback. Although it's a shame to read about your disappointment with the bed, I appreciate your feedback. It looks like we could've been more clear about what kinds of beds were in the room, so that's definitely something to consider!

As for pricing, the summertime is a busy season for us and all of New England.

I'm glad that you enjoyed the breakfast, as well as the charm of our inn, and I hope you'll keep this in mind the next time you find yourself in Montpelier. Although first impressions are hard to shake, a second chance is all we need.

Thanks,
John Underwood, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is a big, old Victorian place that is well maintained. The location is very central and within walking distance to downtown restaurants, theaters, park and other sites in the state's capital. The rooms are clean, quiet and adequately well appointed and with modern amenities. There are sitting rooms, a well stocked kitchen and porches in front and back. My only issue was the extreme elevation of the bed which made it very difficult to get in bed at the end of the day. Breakfast is well done and balanced from fruits to eggs and cereals, carbs and beverages.
We stayed for 3 nights during graduation week at the local culinary school, which turned out to be a busy time for the entire city resulting in touristy prices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brorat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John U, Owner at Inn at Montpelier, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thanks so much for that thorough review! Glad to read you enjoyed everything from the breakfasts to the quiet rooms. As for your bed, I'm sorry that you had some difficulties, but please know that we'd be happy to make whatever accommodations we can in the moment! Regardless, I appreciate the description of the Inn and its proximity to some of the sites throughout Montpelier -- I'm sure other reviewers will appreciate it, too. Next time you're in the area, our door's always open!

All the best,
John and Karel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
287 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Once a year we pick a new place to have a reunion with our friends. This year it was Montpelier and it turned out to be an excellent choice for three nights. For a capitol city, it was surprisingly tiny. From the Inn at Montpelier we could walk to restaurants, theater, state house, museum, farmer's market and street fair. The Inn itself was an older building, but the rooms were clean, quiet and the TV and bathroom fixtures worked fine. The breakfasts consisted of cereal, deviled eggs, toast, scones, fruit and yogurt. The staff was attentive and polite, but no chit-chat. Overall, we liked the Inn and would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smokeylinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John U, Owner at Inn at Montpelier, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thanks for choosing us for your reunion this year! Glad you and your friends enjoyed our capitol and your stay at the inn. If you're happy, we're happy, so if you're ever back in Montpelier, we'd love to see you again!

All the best,
John & Karel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montpelier
0.3 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
10.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
21.2 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 4 in Montpelier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Montpelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Montpelier

Property: Inn at Montpelier
Address: 147 Main St, Montpelier, VT 05602-2937
Region: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montpelier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Montpelier 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Montpelier offers a classic New England experience, with charming accommodations and close proximity to local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Inn at Montpelier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Montpelier Hotel Montpelier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing