We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A peace oasis”
other travellers have booked this property
DSC02096
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
DSC02096
1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
DSC02096
1
DSC03006
DSC03845
DSC00670
DSCN3735
DSC00756
DSC00753
DSC03844
DSC02615
DSC03168
DSC03360
DSC03521
DSC03834
DSC02594
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Moretown, Vermont

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lyndasue...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A peace oasis”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This beautiful cottage is situated in the green mountains of Vermont about 10 miles from Montpelier. The cottage has all the amenities one could want in a compact little cottage. My adult daughter and I just spent a week at the cottage. Unfortunately we were there during the biggest heat wave ever so where we might have stayed around the cottage more, we opted for driving in the countryside to a) have the wind blow on us and b) see the sights. Neither of us is a strong swimmer so since the pond was 10 feet deep we chose not to try it which was unfortunate as I'm sure it would be lovely to swim in. My daughter thought she'd be able to sleep in the loft but after one night up there opted to sleep on the futon in the living area as it was a little claustrophobic for her. I'm sure that children would do well up there though. We appreciated that our hosts, Mela and Kevin, were friendly and helpful but not "in your face". We were able to find them when we needed them and they were most accommodating. Kevin built the cottage and we were taken by all the little touches he included when designing it. It is a very airy, comfortable cottage. Although there was Wi-Fi, it was spotty at times; at other times it was great. But...you are in the mountains so I was pleased we had it at all. There is also a wonderful general store-restaurant a couple of miles from the cottage. We talked to the chipmunks, hummingbirds and other birds every morning. Very peaceful. Oh, and another fun thing...you have to drive through 3 covered bridges to get there. Oh Vermont, how I love you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The beds were not very comfortable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The cabin itself and seclusion Mela and Kevin provide.
Liked least: Not able to use jets in the hot tub.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hutch1970...
united kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fantastic with lovely hosts”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Set next to the main house in 5 acres this is lovely, quiet place with loft for kids to sleep in. The cottage is well equipped and you can borrow snow shoes / sledges from the hosts. Monpelier is 20 mins drive - but be aware in the winter / early spring the back roads are sloppy and a 4 wheel rental car is advisable.
We would stop again at any time of year - it's confortable, warm and great value.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuvFoodnF...
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Perfect Cabin in a Perfect place.”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you truthfully want to get away but still would like modern amenities, you must consider this cabin. My husband and I just stayed here and already miss it's quaint and welcoming atmosphere. Kevin and Mela have built the perfect cabin in the perfect place. Close enough to Montpelier,Waterbury and Stowe but far enough away to enjoy all nature has to offer. Kevin & Mela are there if you need them but you truthfully feel like it's your own cabin to enjoy.
Thanks so much for building such a Perfect little cabin.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2014
Patrick and his sife very much seemed to like our custom-designed Guest Cottage with attention to artistic details. The serenity, beauty and quiet of the surrounding countryside was very much appreciated. They seemed to thoroughly enjoy their stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supervaca
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Haven”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My partner and I were recently married in Ontario and since we'd been to Vermont once before for a weekend of mountain biking, it seemed like a great, low-cost option for our honeymoon.

The plan was to spent 10 days (2 days drive, 8 days stay) exploring the green mountains around the Waterbury area but we were determined to find something nicer than a campground. We found the cottage through a generic google search, it was by far the most affordable for its size and amenities. After a few emails back and forth, and some issues with trying to convert Canadian dollars to American to place our deposit, we were booked in July 28-Aug 6. The owners were very patient and understanding so getting the money sorted out was not a big deal. We arrived very late on our first night, but there were no issues getting into the cottage, and we were greeted by some beautiful roses in celebration of our marriage.

We spent 8 days in the area, did a lot of driving (everyday) to and from Burlington, Stowe, Waterbury, Montpelier, Northfield, Moretown, etc., we were glad our car held up, but the driving really never felt like it was a burden. We did mountain and road riding for 5 of the 8 days, and had on-and-off rainy and sunny weather. *SEE BELOW FOR BIKING INFO and TIPS*

Our hosts were fantastic, welcoming, kind, down-to-earth and respectful of our privacy (just go knock on their door if you have a question, or just want to have a nice chat). The grounds around the cottage are open to guests, there is a river nearby that you can hear after a rain and the property is surrounded by fields and forests. It truly is a beautiful, quiet, private spot. This cottage itself is beautiful, clean and cozy with two queen beds (one in a loft space) and plenty of floor space though wouldn't recommend the futon for sleeping. There was wifi at the cottage but it wasn't always consistent. But everything we needed was there (all bedding, towels, kitchen appliances, etc) and enough paper products and staples like cooking oil to last until we could get to a grocery store. Our favourite things were cooking with the charcoal BBQ (experimenting with different kinds of woods you can get at the hardware store), and eating our meals outside on the porch.

We really couldn't have asked for a better place to stay and experience in general. We love Vermont and can't wait to go back! There are so many trails for biking and hiking that we have yet to explore and the cottage is very well situated to do it all. THANK YOU TO OUR HOSTS FOR BEING SO AWESOME.

Enjoy this place, it's a real gem.

Some stuff we checked out that we recommend: State Capitol building/house in Montpelier, Three Penny Taproom in Montpelier, The Craft Beer Cellar in Waterbury, Warren Falls, Fuller Hill Rd near Warren great views of the mountains, Mt. Mansfield peak ($$), Smuggler's notch (drive through, park, walk around), Ben & Jerry's Factory, Burlington (waterfront, shops, summer theatre).

BIKING

In terms of MTB trails, we really enjoyed the Blueberry Lake loop - go down Plunkerton rd to the dam, trail-head is across from the parking lot. Adams Camp is an old favourite - on the way out of Stowe toward the Smuggler's Notch, turn left after the Matterhorn then right and follow the road around to the trail head, We also road Irish Hill outside Berlin - very challenging after a rain, especially riding hardtail. Cady Hill is always fun, Perry Hill fantastic but don't bother with the smaller side trails, just head up to the peak and go back down Joes or Rastaman for some sick downhill.

For road rides, we did Waterbury to Stowe along 100 (busy but not terrible in terms of safety) and a loop from the Moretown General Store, up 100B to 2, across 2 to 100, and back south to Moretown (30K, river valley followed by mountian valley, challenging but a great decent back into town).

RECOMMEND: AJ's Ski and Sports in Stowe (very fast repair turn around, trail maps, gear), and Onion River Sports in Montpelier (not sure about repair turnaround as we were only enquiring about rentals but they were knowledgeable and friendly).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime W
Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect home away from home!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We couldn't have asked for a better place to spend a long, relaxing weekend away from the hustle and bustle of life. Arriving at the cabin, we were greeted by Mela, and immediately felt at home and at ease. The accommodations were exactly what we needed to feel at home, and away from it all, while being conveniently located to nearby towns if we wanted to venture out to sites or dinner. You can tell that it has been built with love, and care is taken in every decision, to give guests the most comfortable experience. Everything was in place that we needed, and we could not have asked for a better place to spend a perfect weekend. We will return to the area and we will stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! The cabin truly felt like a home away from home. Very peaceful and relaxing.
Liked least: That we didn't have more time! We'll definitely plan for a longer stay next time.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmikesh03
Kerhonkson, New York
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect, Peaceful, and Beautiful”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

It's the perfect getaway for a couple, although there is room for more. The cottage is beautifully designed and has everything you need. The property is also gorgeous and free to roam. The property owners are there if you need them but there is plenty of privacy. It is also in a very good location. We will definitely be returning and highly recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing