We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morrisville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thistledown Inn B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Morrisville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My family and I stayed there on the way up to Craftsbury to go rowing. We rented 3 rooms which were clean and comfortable. The food at breakfast was superb and Sheila was my ideal for the prefect host. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThistledownVermont, Owner at Thistledown Inn B&B, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words. You and your family were a lot of fun to have around. Hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
57
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This was our third visit to Sheila's Thistledown Inn and B & B. Sheila is the most enthusiastic and welcoming person! After we had settled into our room, the Nodding Thistle, we went downstairs to the living room to relax after our drive. Sheila had prepared us a cheese, avocado and humus plate with crackers and poured two glasses of homebrew beer right from Morrisville - really yummy and thirst quenching! Sheila`s breakfast is a culinary event and so wonderful to look forward to!! Our visit to the Thistledown Inn and B & B was one of the most delightful events on our holiday and do plan on staying again in the future. Thank you Sheila!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThistledownVermont, Owner at Thistledown Inn B&B, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dearest guests,
I am so happy to have had the opportunity to serve you again. You two are a joy. Thank you for your gift of the beautiful framed photograph of the chickens, for your patronage and for your review. Until next time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

My daughter and I stayed just one night since we were driving through the area but I have to say that although our visit was brief, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It's not always easy to find a B&B w/ twin beds but this one has a room with two twin beds - and a shared bathroom. I've never been to Morrisville and found it to be a larger Vermont village with restaurants and stores w/ this B&B within walking distance to some establishments. Sheila is one of the best hostesses I've encountered and I've stayed at many B&Bs. Breakfast was delicious (!) and Sheila seeks out your preferences. Efforts to be kind to the environment is a responsible touch and appreciated by the writer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apples0ranges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThistledownVermont, Owner at Thistledown Inn B&B, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Hello D.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Thistledown Inn B&B. I thoroughly enjoyed having you and your daughter as my guests and I hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchard Park
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

As a solo traveler, I felt completely at home at this cozy, quaint and beautifully decorated B & B. I couldn't have asked for a better stay! Plenty of room to relax after a long day of skiing, and the hot tub was an added bonus. Sheila is the perfect hostess and an outstanding gourmet cook. I can't remember enjoying breakfast so much! Located in the village of Morrisville, the Thistledown Inn is very affordable and a hidden gem! I've been recommending this place to everyone. In fact, I enjoyed my stay so much that when I got home, I perused my map of Vt. ski areas in order to plan my next ski vacation around this B & B! It was that good!!! Thank you again, Sheila!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThistledownVermont, Owner at Thistledown Inn B&B, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Hi D.
Thank you for being my guest and for your very nice review. I thoroughly enjoyed having you as my guest and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We had a wonderful time at Thistledown. The rooms are very comfortable and the living room with fireplace was a great place to hang out. The breakfast was delicious with an abundance of food. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill3399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThistledownVermont, Owner at Thistledown Inn B&B, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to serving you again. Warmest regards, Sheila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Thistledown Inn is a beautiful bed and breakfast. The rooms are very cozy, the bedding is lush, and the ambiance is luxurious. Some rooms have fireplaces, but for those without there is a wonderful gas fireplace in the living room. The shared bathroom on the upper floor has a huge soaking tub, or you can lounge in the hot tub on the main floor.
For outdoor enthusiasts, there is a 96 mile walking/jogging/biking trail that you can access from the inn's backyard. The Bijou movie theater is within walking distance as well.
Most importantly, Sheila is the consummate hostess. She was more than accommodating of our special dietary needs and her food is phenomenal. Sheila adheres to green hospitality practices, keeps bees, and raises chickens. My family and I thoroughly enjoyed visiting with her and learning about her avocation. We will definitely return to Thistledown Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayteGDUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Staying at Thistledown Inn is like coming home. The house is very cozy and quaint, with a nice sitting room to read in or relax, but with lots to do in the area, it's hard to find a lot of time for sitting around! Sheila is very warm, welcoming and friendly and cooks up a great breakfast - she's also very accommodating for any food allergies! I've stayed here a couple times, and will definitely be coming back for more!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMM858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morrisville
9.6 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
10.1 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,264 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fitch Hill Inn
Fitch Hill Inn
#1 of 2 in Hyde Park
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Governor's House in Hyde Park
0.3 mi away
Village Victorian Bed & Breakfast
7.6 mi away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#2 of 22 in Stowe
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistledown Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistledown Inn B&B

Property: Thistledown Inn B&B
Address: 201 Park St, Morrisville, VT 05661-8660
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Morrisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Morrisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nurture the planet while pampering your soul at the Thistledown Inn B&B. The Thistledown Inn Bed and Breakfast offers ecological elegance in one of Morrisville's finest registered historic homes. We are an accredited Green Hotel where guest rooms are tastefully furnished with Vermont-made furniture and sweet and savory breakfasts are created from local and organic dairy, fruit, meat, and grain. Features crackling fireplaces in every guest room, living room, and kitchen; bright sun room, formal dining room, and a library with floor-to-ceiling books. En-suite private baths and shared baths. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing