We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Muddy Moose

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Muddy Moose
Certificate of Excellence
rochesterny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

i stayed for 2 nights on a solo trip in august. what a find! the cabin was very clean and much thought has gone into making it comfortable. the very best part though is sitting in a rocking chair on the porch with views of the trees and distant mountains. at night, the stars are so bright and close that i felt that i could grab hold of the big dipper. the trails are well marked and can be accessed right out of the door. the country store is a pleasant pretty drive with many local foods and friendly service. the town is not that far away and offers more shopping choices at more reasonable prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank loveitalyRochesterny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
58
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Muddy Moose is heaven on earth. My husband and I have stayed here twice already and always hate to leave. The cottages are just perfect -- modern, clean, charming decor, with the comforts of feeling at home. Nothing beats waking up to the sun coming over the mountains and having a hot cup of coffee on the rocking chairs on the front deck. We love the hiking trails on the property (a great waterfall nearby!), the sunset views from our porch, the fireplace, everything. There is a wonderful corner store down the road with local foods and home made meals that make it a very "Vermont" experience. Chuck and Christine take great care to make the visits one of a kind. We have fallen in love with the place, so we will be back many more times!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

I spent three nights with three of my friends for a outdoor weekend. We couldn't have find a better place as everything was perfect, It is a quiet place, clean with all we needed. The owner even sent me back home something I forgot! I would return for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We were looking for a place to spend one night, prior to the beginning of our timeshare week with friends at Smuggler's Notch. It turns out that we got on this way too late, and there were not many places available. We found Muddy Moose on a Google search. They had a large cabin that slept 7 - perfect for our two families. Well, what an amazing place! Beautiful ambiance, Vermont country decor, incredibly clean, had everything we needed, and the attention to detail was just so. We only wish that we could have spent more than 12 hours there, so that we could have enjoyed the beautiful mountain views and the comfort of the cabin, wood stove, wonderful wood smell, great beds and beautiful wrap around porch, complete with two rockers. The people who own and run the place are so sweet and down to earth and are entirely interested in ensuring that their guests have a wonderful experience, which we did. Well worth the money, and we'll be back!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed here in October and since then have tried to find a weekend to return. We escaped blizzard Nemo in Boston to come here and enjoy the cozy cottages, the warm welcome and the beautiful white scenery.
This time we stayed with 2 other people and enjoyed cottage number 2. It was as perfect as our previous stay, the cottages are so well equipped and the games room with pool table and fussball is great fun.
Ok, you are 20 minutes from Stowe town and 35 minutes from ski resort but who cares when you are in your own quiet paradise?!
We hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Any cabin is great, 4 is in the woods, no view but more secluded. All great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chocolate74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

My boyfriend, 2 dogs and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in cabin 4 at the Muddy Moose. The cabin was very private, emaculate, and comfortable. It was also equipped with every amenity we needed. The dogs had a good time on the hiking trails right outside our cabin. Chuck and Christine were very accomodating and great hosts! We wanted to move right in because it felt so much like home. We cannot wait to go back! Thank you both for an awesome way to ring in the New Year!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

What an amazing place...We drove a dark road last Monday night..The pavement turned to mud and finally pulled into the Muddy Moose. After checking with Chuck we parked in front of our cabin got out of the car and started to walk towards the back .The automatic lighting came on to light our path and when we opened the door, how excited we became. The cabin was nothing short of spectacular..Comfortable beds, flat screens, internet, high kitchen and implements. When the sun came up we could then see the amazing views.Thanks Chuck and Christine for the best Thanksgiving our family of 4 + our two dogs have ever had. We will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morrisville
8.0 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
7.3 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
10.3 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Sterling Ridge Resort
Sterling Ridge Resort
#1 of 1 in Jeffersonville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
6.9 mi away
Smugglers' Notch Resort
Smugglers' Notch Resort
#1 of 2 in Jeffersonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
8.5 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#7 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muddy Moose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muddy Moose

Property: Muddy Moose
Address: 2930 Cote Hill Rd, Morrisville, VT 05661
Region: United States > Vermont > Morrisville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Morrisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Muddy Moose 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose from one, two, or three bedroom log cabins. Each spacious cabin is tastefully decorated and fully equipped. Whether you enjoy the many on-site activities or take advantage of our proximity to Stowe, your time here will be both refreshing and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Muddy Moose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing