We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, restful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Village Victorian Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Morrisville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My daughter and I spent a wonderful weekend at the Village Victorian. It's in a great location.....easy to walk to restaurants/delis and movie theatre....and still quiet and restful. The owners are friendly and helpful without being intrusive. We stayed in the Aster Suite, which was spacious and comfortable. Great cool, crisp linens on quality mattresses. And the breakfast is excellent (especially the maple cream on homemade waffles.)
Be sure to travel just a few miles down the road for an easy walk to Moss Glen Falls.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MountainsVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipthewolff, Owner at Village Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2015

apologies for not responding sooner.... but wanted to finally take time to thank you for the lovely review... hope you can find your way back here again some time soon... :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

When cancelling a prospective reservation through my contractual agency (I am a traveling health professional) I was surprised to learn that these proprietors refused to refund any of the $800 that was intended for my reservation. And this was with a four day notice...simply because .they knew I had found other accommodations at a competitor B&B. They PREACH a biblical/Christian philosophy (just check out their web site) but in truth their business principles seem lacking in that regard. Would NOT recommend these accomodations and establishment. BEWARE!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank luckyenuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipthewolff, Owner at Village Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Sorry you were so disappointed, Susan. Not sure you got the whole story from your contracting agency. They booked a 4 night stay for you for $392.40 and then added 3 more nights for you which was another $239.80 - our cancellation policy was very clear explaining that cancellations within 7 days of arrival made them responsible for the entire stay. The cancellation was made on 2/14... arrival date was 2/16... only 2 days prior. Because we enjoyed our original meeting with you so much, we made the decision to refund the $239.40 which we were not contractually obligated to do. We also explained that if we could rent the room for any of the original 4 nights, we would refund any portion of the $392.40 that we were able to redeem. At that late date, unfortunately we could no longer re-book your room. It had nothing to do with our "competitor "... or our Christianity... and it was not $800. I do apologize for getting you this upset.
philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is our second time staying at the Village Victorian Bed and Breakfast and it was as good as the first time. Just a wonderful house andn proprieters. There were 5 in our party and it was so nice to sit in the living room and talk. As always, the breakfast is top notch. We will definately be staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipthewolff, Owner at Village Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

always appreciate your kind words... thanks... till next time...:)

philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My boyfriend and I went up here for a valentines / presidents day ski get-away. It is about 25 minutes away from Stowe Mountain. This place is probably the "homiest" of the B&B. This place is ran by a sweet couple. The day we were supposed to arrive we got a big snow storm which delayed our arrival to after midnight. We called them ahead letting them know we were on the way but would arrive late. The woman was very nice and said she would leave the door unlocked for us and a note on the table. We had no issues on arrival, plenty of parking.

They allowed us to choose 2 breakfast times 8:30 or 7:30. This can be limiting if you intend to be on the mountain early. Breakfast was served at the dinning room table with other guest. They served danishes, fresh fruit, yogurt, bacon and a hot dish (pancakes, waffles and french toast). The first morning I asked for water in addition to tea and OJ, the following mornings my place was set with a glass of water, very thoughtful. They were pretty flexible with guests diets too.

The bed was really comfortable. We had a TV and a DVD/VCR in our room (primrose) and they had a decent selection of movies. Our bathroom was connected to the room. I did notice the room next to us had a bathroom that was not connected. The rooms were close together and they were booked however we could not hear anyone when in the room.

Tip for skiiers: They had vouchers for Smugglers Notch but not Stowe Mt. Stowe Mt uses a re-loadable card that you can order online ahead of time (cost $5) then load it up for the days you ski. We paid the half-day price for a full day by loading it online rather than the ticket window.

Overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prancer95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipthewolff, Owner at Village Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us.....let's do it again some time... :)
philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is a charming and quaint place, with wonderful hosts (thanks Ellen and Phillip!!), great breakfast (maple cream is awesome!), and great access to skiing. I got a great deal on a room and lift ticket package.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justinpianoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipthewolff, Owner at Village Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

and we thank you! glad you enjoyed everything... come see us again soon!
philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Our first stay at the Village Victorian, and we hope to visit again in the summer. Both Ellen & Phillip were very welcoming, made us feel very comfortable in their home. Our room was SUPER clean!! Breakfast was yummy. We had no complaints. I loved all of their family photos, and the book case. Philip made a GREAT fire for us. Very nice people, charming Inn. Can't wait to visit again. Thank-you for a wonderful mini vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipthewolff, Owner at Village Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

You are welcome! And thank you for being wonderful guests... not to mention the GREAT review!
:)
philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This B&B is truly a "diamond in the rough" in Morrisville. Who would have thought there would be a place like this for travelers this area. Having lived in nearby Stowe for over 20 years; I am very familiar with all that Stowe has to offer as well as their inflated prices. I moved away from the area years ago, but I had to be in the area for work, did not want to pay the "ski area" prices and I was looking for someplace more personal and comfy. The Village Victorian is just that. From the minute we arrived, Phil and Ellen made us feel very welcome; they are sincerely friendly and pleasant. The house was warm, roomy, clean and comfy. They were very accommodating and prepared an early breakfast for us. The breakfast, prepared by Chef Phil was OMG wonderful. Fresh fruits, local yogurt and cheese, waffles, local maple syrup and maple cream (my favorite), hot coffee and Danish! Smiles all around. Love this place!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vermontforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipthewolff, Owner at Village Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Reviews like this just keep coming in and turn the old fella into "mush"...thank you, thank you.... we loved having you! Come see us again.... soon...!
philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morrisville
8.5 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#10 of 24 in Stowe
427 reviews
7.9 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,875 reviews
3.6 mi away
Muddy Moose
Muddy Moose
#1 of 2 in Morrisville
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Victorian Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Address: 107 Union St, Morrisville, VT 05661-6061
Region: United States > Vermont > Morrisville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Morrisville
Price Range: £61 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Victorian Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the grace and charm of our 1890's Victorian in the heart of the quiet little village of Morrisville, just 7 miles from Stowe. 3 unique guest rooms, each with individual thermostats, very comfortable, top of the line, premium queen size bed, cable TV, hair dryer, nite lite, air conditioner, and TV/VCR combination with remote. Extensive movie library is available. All guest rooms have full size private bathrooms with combination tub/showers... and then there is our Aster Suite... :) Guests also have use of laundry facility, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board. Fireplace is available to enjoy in the living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Village Victorian Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing