We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What no bathroom” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowley Cheese

Crowley Cheese
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The public is welcome to visit the Crowley Cheese Factory, the country's oldest cheese factory to see award-winning all natural Crowley Cheese, made entirely by hand, the old-fashioned way. Though the factory shop is usually open 7 days, 10-4, we typically make cheese 3 weekdays (call for schedule). The factory was built in 1882 and is listed in the National Historic Register. You can purchase cheese, as well as other assorted Vermont products at the factory. Heads up: we are a TINY, old-fashioned operation that's a little off the beaten track in a beautiful, rural area. Please call first to make sure the factory is open before making the trek. Also, if you do manage to catch us on a cheesemaking day, we really appreciate your patience as our cheesemaking staff endeavors to make excellent cheese while providing an excellent customer service experience.
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“What no bathroom”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

The place it Awesome-- but you have to travel over an hour. Being diabetic I need to go when I need to go there is no public bathroom. You are directed to do your business outside. Not visiting anytime soon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sabrinadonald9326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    8
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small operation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We were traveling in the area and decided to stop and check it out. I was surprised to see that it was such a small building (Cabin). Upon entering, there were 3 or 4 customers milling about. All the employees were in the cheese room kneading. No one was around to assist customers, also, there was a toddler making short work of the samples unsupervised. We picked out a couple of packages of cheese to purchase and commenced to wait 15 minutes to get some ones attention so we could pay and leave. After awhile (and a few glares), a lady came out and cashed us out. Upon sampling the cheese later on, we decided that the stop was well worth it as the cheese was excellent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“If you want to see cheese making don’t bother with Crowley – go to Cabot instead”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Looking at the brochures, one would think a visit to Crowley Cheese or Cabot Cheese would be a similar experience only that one makes cheese the old way and one the new way. Don’t be fooled.
Crowley Cheese is a tiny operation out in the woods that seems to actually make cheese on very rare occasions. Reading other reviews it seems very few people, no matter what time or day they visit, actually see cheese making going on. We were told the process takes about 6 hours and starts around 8 or 9 but was nowhere to be seen when we arrived between 1 and 2. So, if like us, you want to see cheese actually being made go somewhere else (like Cabot).
Basically, it is a gift shop that sells cheese and at which you can see some cheese making equipment (not operating) through a large window while someone explains the cheese making process to you.
You will most likely be the only person/people there so will feel obliged to buy something.
You can taste cheese and spreads, etc in jars. The food tasting appeared to be very unhygienic. I was frightened to taste more than one piece of cheese (and only did that to not appear impolite) and my partner who tasted something from one of the jars that looked like it was sitting out open all day was sick for the rest of the day.
The only good thing about our visit was that we saw three deer grazing on the side of the road on the way there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
187 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good Explanation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

While they were not making cheese at the time we were visiting, Sam gave us a very good description of the process. A nice drive from the Rutland area, and the tasting is delightful. Worth your time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dwbfl0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A true historic treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

If you have time and you're in this area of Vermont, it's worth the stop. Yes, it's small and calling it a factory doesn't really describe it, BUT you can feel the history in this building. It's a very personal experience, almost like having a private tour. They may not be making cheese all the time, but you have to know that it's a small place and not a big factory. Because of this, the attention to detail is fantastic. Making cheese in small batches is just a lost art and you just can't beat the quality of the cheese. Delicious too!!
If you get a chance to order it by mail, do it! They stand behind their product and when I had a problem, they more than replaced what I got. Great customer service.
I'm glad to see that a small family business has survived all these years!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 77ILuv2travel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crowley Cheese also viewed

 

Been to Crowley Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing