We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They'll treat you like family!!”
Review of River Bend Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newfane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River Bend Lodge
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My husband and I and our two Newfoundland dogs had just a wonderful stay this past week at the lodge. Melissa and Neal are the sweetest people. They treated us, and our friends like family. Our room was clean,cozy,and, very comfortable. The air conditioner, and mini fridge,and flat screen TV worked great. Melissa and Neal cooked a lovely hot breakfast every morning. Each day the selection was different and delicious. Melissa even fed(at no charge) our friends who came in early to see us, and we're not staying at the lodge. We were there for a camp reunion, and needed to purchase certain items, and both Melissa and Neal directed us to the stores with the best buys and convenient locations. The Riverbend is in GOOD hands now,as I found out that Melissa and Neal are new managers for the lodge. We were treated better here , than in a fairly expensive hotel room in center Chicago, REALLY!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newfluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neal A, General Manager at River Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words........We look forward to having you and your family
back soon! Travel Safe.

Sincerely,
Neal Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

Have stayed in the past and stayed again last weekend. Rooms were updated (slightly) in the last couple of years. Bathroom was much newer and pretty clean. Bed very uncomfortable. Flat screen TV was nice. Decent rooms with mini-fridge and A/C but both were unplugged so room was pretty hot upon arrival. Supposedly there is wi-fi but we never were able to get a signal (cell phones had no service). Breakfast was blah....just k-cups for coffee, bagels, cream cheese, and twinkies. Watched the manager pull bagels out of a bag with his bare hands and put in a basket on the table! No where to sit and eat other than a small couch. Cheap price overall and decent location.

Room Tip: Don't expect a 4 star hotel but this is a decent stay for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendyg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We have spent many an evening there in the past but not in the past two or three years. Just spent the night under new management and it was horrible! There was no curtain or blind in the bath room window. The lady who worked up front was never there, always busy watching her newborn baby which I can understand, but some one else should have been up front. We resereved a room which allowed the family dog to be there for an additional $25. Which is fine but that had to be paid by cash or check, couldn't be added to the card? They have a bar next door where the music was so loud you could here it if you took just one step outside the door. People came over from the bar all drunk, making loud noises, driving in and out multiple times. Had at least 15 times were it seemed like they were right outside our door. Of course the dog got upset so we had to walk here around so she could check to see if everything was ok. If you want a place to party this is the place for you! If you want a good night sleep it is not recomended.

Room Tip: Don't go here unless you feel like sleeping in a Frat house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neal A, Manager at River Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear Valued Customer,
On May 1st , 2012 ,my wife and I became the new resident managers for the River Bend Lodge here in Newfane,Vermont. This Hotel has a long history of providing familys with a comfortable place to stay while they enjoy the scenic beauty of Southern Vermont in all of it's seasons. We are currently remodeling the entire hotel and have addressed a number of issues that needed attention. We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for any bad
experience you may have had in the past, but really would like to have you come stay with us again for a night . This would of course be a free nights stay at our expense so you can see
that things have changed greatly since we have taken over management of this establishment.
Please call me or my wife Melissa @ 1-802-365-7952 should you wish to take us up on this
offer. The River Bend Lodge is a wonderful Hotel, and we want to keep your business. I am making it a personal goal to answer the needs of all of our customers, and I'll be using this website and the information folks share to make the River Bend Lodge experience one that
all our customers will come away from happy and satisfied.

Sincerely,
Neal & Meilssa Allen
Resident Managers
River Bend Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My cousin and I stayed over night while skiing. We were very pleased with the cleanliness of the room. The spotless bathroom was had recently been remodled with new fixturesand tiled floor. The bed was comfortable. The flat screen TV. Only about 20 minutes away from Stratten. The price was very affordable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed in the River Bend Lodge just recently with my family we had 3 rms total. We loved it!! The owners were great. Rooms were updated with fresh paint and flat screen TVs. Rooms were very clean and spacious. The restaurant served awesome pizza and the waitress was very friendly, they also had a hot wing eating contest that my husband did, so that was a ++++. I will def go back and would recommend it to my family & friends.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Went out of his way to accommodate. We ran into some serious car trouble while visiting. Took us to the local store, made numerous calls in assisting us trouble shooting the problem, as well as even allowing us to use his vehicle. Very clean, safe, and affordable establishment, nothing but a positive recommendation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Not sure when Mike and Meagan took on this new adventure in life, but they're doing a great job! Both very friendly and helpful, I'm certain they'll have fun with this new career.
Stayed here a few years ago, many new improvements, new carpet in room, tile in entry, all tile bath, flat screen tv's, fitted sheets, nice size bath towels, great selection of breakfast muchies.
Also next door is their restaurant, Bootsy's Grille, great food, best pizza in southern Vt. and to top this off, room service, nice when you want dinner in your jammies!
Come find out for yourself, you'll be very pleased with both.
Thanks Mike and Meagan good luck! See you next year.

Room Tip: Room 102 queen bed, some have a king
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to River Bend Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Bend Lodge

Address: 1086 Vt Route 30, Newfane, VT 05345-9644
Region: United States > Vermont > Newfane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Newfane
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing