We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent beer and a good burger”

Jasper Murdock's Alehouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Jasper Murdock's Alehouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Cuisines: Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Jasper Murdock's Alehouse, a restaurant in Norwich, Vermont, features one restaurant menu, whether or not your preferred dining venue is the Pub, Outdoor Patio, Dining Room or Terrace. The menu is extensive, diverse and moderately priced, offering Pub favorites while adding more substantial entrees. A number of items include ingredients from Jasper Murdock Ales made on site. Our Norwich, VT restaurant and brewery feature seating available on a "first come, first served" basis in the Pub/Patio while reservations are available in the Dining Room and Terrace areas. Private, group dining is available for parties of 4 to 100.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Decent beer and a good burger”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A friend and I dropped in for dinner after a class at the nearby King Arthur baking center. We were a little tired and hungry, so the pleasant patio beckoned welcomingly. The patio adjoins a parking lot, so the view wasn't the greatest, but there were flowers and a big awning. The service was good - prompt and efficient. the food was tasty - an above average bar food burger and pulled pork sandwich. The craft beer was very good and I was pleased to have a half-pint option. It was exactly what we wanted at the end of a busy summer day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    53
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great beer and good service”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The selection of on-site brewed beer was awesome. I had the flight plus the IPA and they were great. I also had the crab cake and it was very good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jasiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Above average”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I attended a business dinner at the Norwich Inn and my summary is that it was good, not outstanding, but good. The service for seven of us was a little slow, but our server was attentive, and followed through on all of our requests.
For my meal, I had the warm goat cheese salad followed by the pepper crusted chicken and alfredo. The salad was excellent and my entree was good, but not overwhelmingly so. On a scale of 1 to 10 I would give my meal a solid 7.
My colleagues all had good meals, but nobody raved about the meal.
I will add that the staff did well to accommodate our group. As I said, we were a business meeting, and we were able to have a private room where we could shut the doors. There were a couple of other groups, one being a (happy) noisy group celebrating just outside of the area we were in, so it was good to be able to close the doors where we could have a private discussion.
Overall, I am going to stick with my 7 out of 10 rating. Solid food, decent service, but not blown away by the experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank InSearchofQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent pub and good restaurant”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We ate at the pub when the restaurant was full but also ate at the restaurant several times in the past year. The pub was busy and noisy -- as pubs should be -- and the food (with the same menu as the restaurant, I believe) was good. The restaurant itself is dignified and you really are made to feel the overall ambiance of the inn with old photos and artwork on the walls and the relaxed service. The food was quite good and contributed to the pleasant overall experience. I would go back for a nice quiet dinner with friends.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hahnecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice Service and Good Food”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Nicely decorated, good food, decent prices and great service. Nice place to visit again in the future.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Capecodaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jasper Murdock's Alehouse also viewed

 

Been to Jasper Murdock's Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing