We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for yourself! To heck with the kids! >;-D”

Montshire Museum of Science
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Montshire is an award-winning hands-on science museum. You'll experience over 140 exciting exhibits relating to the natural and physical sciences, ecology, and technology. As a 110-acre museum on the Connecticut River, there's always plenty to explore, both indoors and out! Open daily 10-5. Summer Admission (May 17-September 7) $16 for adults, $13 for children 2-17. Regular Admission: $14 for adults, $11 for children 2-17 Two day passes available. Free for members and children under 2 years of age. Water exhibits in outdoor Science Park are on mid-May through early October.
Guangzhou, China
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Go for yourself! To heck with the kids! >;-D”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Took 3 kids (14, 13, 10) and I don't know if I loved it more than they did or not !

Great exhibits, awesome tanks with fish, turtles, etc, loved the ants! and loved the bees! in their plastic houses ....

Spent 4 hours and only wished they had food options.

The gift shop was hidden nicely - so that it's easy to get by without being bombarded with requests!

TOTALLY worth a visit.

Helpful?
3 Thank rawsushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    32
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Take your kids!”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Wonderful spot for kids, especially the outdoor park, even on a rainy day. The kids love it, and I learn a thing or two while tagging along.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fascination and fun for all ages”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

When adults, teenagers, and preschoolers can equally enjoy the educational amusement and challenges of hands on science, you know an organization has achieved perfection. The Montshire Museum has exhibits that have the ability to engage all ages, both individually or as a group. And there are activities both inside and out for all seasons. I have visited on several occasions as a member with friends, my husband, my teenage nephew, and my grandchildren. You can spend an hour or three or more! There are trails to walk through the woods or along the Connecticut River. There is a water park for all ages to enjoy during the summer. Truly a destination for all ages any time of the year. Don't miss it. Worth the drive from however far away you are from Norwich.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank VermonteratHeart2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Great for big kids (I.e. adults) too”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We visited yesterday. Three adults. Parts of the interior are being reconfigured but there was still plenty to do and see. Loved watching the leaf cutter ants bustling about. Also enjoyed the trails through the woods. We were stalked by four deer for about 20 minutes with long spells of them looking at us looking at them. Brilliant. If I lived nearby, this would be a regular place on my list. Enjoy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MsMagub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“a good kid oriented museum”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We wished we had the grandkids with us. It is a fun well run kid friendly museum with lots of hands-on exhibits.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank oetbyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Montshire Museum of Science also viewed

 

Been to Montshire Museum of Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing