We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food - Accommodating Service!”

Carpenter & Main Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: US$6 - US$35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food - Accommodating Service!”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We were in Norwich for our son's wedding and enjoyed a great meal at Carpenter and Main after the ceremony. While the dining room isn't huge the staff was very helpful and arranged the tables to seat all 25 of our party. They prepared a very nice menu for the event with choices to please anyone. I chose the chilled corn soup, Steak au Poivre and the Peach Crumble with honey mascarpone ice cream. My wife chose the lobster bisque, sauteed shrimp on angel hair pasta and the buttermilk panna cotta. Everything was delicious and nicely presented. The staff timed everything exceptionally well so we were all served each course at the same time. A memorable evening!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BolairBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    32
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Randolph, Vermont
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fine casual dining in a relaxed environment”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has gone through a number of incarnations; the current one is by far the best. The food is delicious with both simple and elaborate menu items, the prices are reasonable, and the atmosphere is friendly and welcoming. One flaw, however, is no handicapped accessibility.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimgreenleaf2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Need to try again”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Carpenter and Main is just off Main Street in Norwich, VT. It is divided into a large bar and two seating areas. The noise level is moderate and the tables are far enough apart so that you do not have to squeeze in. On first glance, the menu is diverse - apps, small plates, salads, and mains with flavors from most world cuisines. The three of us ordered a variety of dishes. I had high hopes for the house-made charcuterie, but the seasoning in the different servings was bland and the accompanying toast was tasteless. A bowl of house pickles that featured fiddleheads and cukes was very good. The brick-pressed chicken was ordinary. We did find a well-priced French red that helped smooth the meal. I would return again to see if we experienced an off night. The menu could be cut down and focused a bit as the chef seemed to want to offer all things with everything being mostly average, The service was competent and the hostess would keep an eye on the wine glasses to ensure they were filled.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Medve99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
390 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Food excellent. Service mixed.”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The food was excellent and the dining areas are comfortable - in converted parlor rooms. Our main server was charming and accommodating but the pacing of our food delivery was very off and hopefully just a fluke. The burger on home made English muffin is outstanding.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgingin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Superb Restaurant in a Tiny Town”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We live in the Norwich, Vermont area and Carpenter and Main is our first choice for dining whenever we can get there. The atmosphere is fun and inviting - especially if you can get a table in the bistro section. The menu is really superb - and everything we have ever chosen is delectable! Their mesclun salad with duck confit and warm potato salad is a winner - and we cannot go there without ordering the house-made tater tots with house-made catsup. The menu is configured into "morsels", "small plates" and "larger plates" and it makes for a wonderful opportunity to try different dishes without becoming over-fed. The prices are extremely reasonable and the staff always courteous and helpful. We can't wait to go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VTWindyrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carpenter & Main Restaurant also viewed

 
White River Junction, Hartford
 

Been to Carpenter & Main Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing