We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Night”
Review of The Norwich Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Norwich Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wedding Night”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My husband and I were married on May 19th. We're not taking our honeymoon until later but wanted to stay somewhere special on our wedding night. Neither one of us had ever been to the Norwidh Inn but from the pictures online it looked beautiful. What a perfect place to stay for our wedding night! The front desk person was so sweet to us and the room was gorgeous. Thank you Norwich Inn!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDKS519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    82
    20
    13
    8
See reviews for
85
117
33
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The Norwich Inn is a special place. My wife and I first visited in 1965 while hunting for a teaching job as college seniors. We thought it would be fun to make a return visit as retirees 47 years later in May of 2012. We specified a modest room in the inn similar to what we had as students. All was as we remembered. Our room was cozy and updated with a comfortable bed and antique looking bathroom with an old-fashioned pedestal sink that shined like new. It was good to see that the old inn had been well cared for over the years. It was a bit strange to find that on Mondays the inn only offers a free continental breakfast with nice fresh baked assortment, cereals, juice and coffee (apparently it is the chef's day off for breakfast), but we were fine with that. The next day (Tuesday) there was no free breakfast, but we could order anything we liked, and we were happy to have pancakes with Vermont maple syrup. The first night we ate in the dining room and, although I can't remember what I had, I do recall we both enjoyed our meal and resolved to eat at the inn again the next night. Our second night we decided to eat at the inn's pub, Jasper Murdock's Alehouse. It was another great event-- we both sampled some of the Norwich Inn's micro-brewed beer, and it was terrific. It is especially interesting that the inn has a brewery of its own in the back of the property. The beer brewed there is elaborately pumped (not using pressurization) deep underground straight through to the pub at the perfect natural temperature. The Red Ale was superb. Lastly, for those who enjoy a spacious room that is luxurously appointed, you can choose a room in their new modern building adjacent to the inn-- I had a peek, and it was really quite sumptuous. Next time through we'll probably stay there.

Room Tip: For a taste of history, stay at the inn. For maximum comfort ask about the new adjacent building ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My husband and I had never stayed at the Norwich Inn but had heard lovely things about it. We have a dog and were delighted to learn that they had pet friendly rooms in the Ivy Lodge. The room was wonderful, spacious and comfortable with a gorgeous shower and bath. We booked the spring "Romance Package" which included a bottle of chilled sparkling wine and chocolate covered strawberries which were delicious! We had a wonderful dinner in the dining room and a delicious full breakfast the following morning. My husband brought his bike and the folks at the front desk were very helpful in suggesting good bike routes which he really enjoyed while I took the dog for some gorgeous walks in the charming neighborhoods surrounding the Inn. We also enjoyed shopping at a fun outdoor flea market in nearby Lyme. The Inn is minutes away from Dartmouth College so we were able to get together with our son, too which was great! We loved our stay and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The dog friendly room in the Ivy Lodge was great! Clean, spacious and inviting including an outdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Liz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Sill, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Our family stayed here for a weekend and enjoyed every minute. The rooms are excellently done and completely relaxing. The bath had a towel warmer which the kids loved, there was an iPhone dock in the room, so no worrying about where your charger is. The restaurant and bar are nicely done and the food was delicious. The restaurant took us without reservations and the prices are comparable to any sit-down chain around. We walked the neighborhood one evening enjoying the beautiful architecture throughout the neighborhood, and then enjoyed the rest of our evening sitting on the porch of the Inn in their rocking chairs. The staff was great and payed special attention to our needs and questions. We had an absolutely wonderful time. We would go back again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My family has stayed there often over fifty years and have had a wonderful experience every time. Our last visit was a family reunion as several family members have attended Dartmouth College. We brought my 93 year old mother who had stayed at the Inn several times back in the late sixties! She had a ball reminiscing about how the Inn had changed, yet kept its true New England feel. The staff at the Inn was so accommodating to our large group... everyone loved staying there. We had cocktails on the outdoor porch, a lovely dinner in a private room, and then headed to the lively, fun pub after dinner was over.
I would highly recommend the Inn to anyone (and have recommended it several times to friends). I plan to keep returning to this wonderful place.

Room Tip: The newer rooms are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This past week I traveled to pick up my daughter from Dartmouth and decided to bring friends. As usual we stayed at the Norwich Inn where my friends were able to experience their first New England trip. We were always greeted by the friendly staff and the Inn was charming as ever. In fact there was a special meal with TV chef Mary Ann Esposito one of the nights in the dining room. The food is delicious (amazing breakfast) and the tavern is cozy. Now that the weather is warm they have a beautiful patio and garden to enjoy coffee or a cocktail. I guess my favorite thing about the Norwich Inn is being able to enjoy all the different areas of the Inn and meet many interesting people. This Inn is truly a gem in Vermont! Beth F

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewEngland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I have just returned from a very pleasant overnight stay at the Norwich Inn. Upon arrival I was upgraded to a room with two doubles from a room with two twins. I did not inquire about an upgrade, it was just offered and I gladly accepted. I found my room to be comfortable and quite clean. The common areas were warm and inviting and equally well kept. All of the staff I encountered were pleasant, friendly and helpful. I had dinner and breakfast in the inn's dining room and was pleased with the service and food. I enjoyed morning coffee in a rocker on the front porch while watching the small town come to life. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClydesBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwich
1.3 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
459 reviews
1.4 mi away
Six South St Hotel
Six South St Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hanover
274 reviews
3.8 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Hanover Lebanon
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norwich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norwich Inn

Property: The Norwich Inn
Address: 325 Main St, Norwich, VT 05055-9453
Region: United States > Vermont > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Norwich Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norwich Inn is a historic, full-service Vermont country inn located in Norwich, near Dartmouth College, just across the river from Hanover, New Hampshire. An Inn has been on the Main Street site since 1797; the current Victorian Structure since 1890. This Dartmouth hotel is proud to offer 40 guest rooms, a Pub & Dining Room known as Jasper Murdock’s Alehouse and a Microbrewery featuring hand-crafted English Ales, sold only on site. We are proud to offer one of the largest wine selections in Vermont, housed in our new Wine Cellar, which is also available for private parties. Local legend has it that the Inn and the Town were the inspiration behind the popular TV Show, “Newhart,” which was set in Norwich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Norwich Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwich Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing