We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional & Elegant”
Review of The Norwich Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Norwich Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Hope, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Traditional & Elegant”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I booked the inn for its' close proximity to the King Arthur Flour Baking Education Centre and got much more than expected. We stayed in the Walker House. Our spacious room was large, very clean and beautifully decorated, even had a fireplace (not that we'd need it in this heat). The staff was very welcoming. We were late coming back from our baking class and the dining room was closed. The kitchen was gracious enough to make burgers for us for a late dinner in the Jasper Murdock pub. We had the beer 'sampler' from the onsite microbrewery....everything was delish. The Norwich Inn is close to a few places that are equally quaint....Hanover, White River Junction, Woodstock and Quechee, not the mention Dartmouth College. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    82
    20
    15
    8
See reviews for
86
118
33
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

What a nice place! The rooms in the annexed buildings are newer than the main building. Ours had beautiful furniture, a huge bathroom, fireplace, and all the usual amenities. Pet friendly too. An on site brewery provides perfect lunch fare including delicious micro brews. The only thing lacking are the morning pastries provided in the lobby. Dry muffins? Surprising in a place like this.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Park, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We had booked a room at the Norwich Inn but because of a death in our family we could not keep the reservation. Although it was very close to the 48 hour deadline, the reservation staff were kind, gracious, unquestioning and cancelled us without penalty. We are grateful for their accommodating response to our family's sorrow and need to cancel. We will definitely plan on staying there for our next visit.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Finnegansmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My husband and I were married on May 19th. We're not taking our honeymoon until later but wanted to stay somewhere special on our wedding night. Neither one of us had ever been to the Norwidh Inn but from the pictures online it looked beautiful. What a perfect place to stay for our wedding night! The front desk person was so sweet to us and the room was gorgeous. Thank you Norwich Inn!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDKS519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The Norwich Inn is a special place. My wife and I first visited in 1965 while hunting for a teaching job as college seniors. We thought it would be fun to make a return visit as retirees 47 years later in May of 2012. We specified a modest room in the inn similar to what we had as students. All was as we remembered. Our room was cozy and updated with a comfortable bed and antique looking bathroom with an old-fashioned pedestal sink that shined like new. It was good to see that the old inn had been well cared for over the years. It was a bit strange to find that on Mondays the inn only offers a free continental breakfast with nice fresh baked assortment, cereals, juice and coffee (apparently it is the chef's day off for breakfast), but we were fine with that. The next day (Tuesday) there was no free breakfast, but we could order anything we liked, and we were happy to have pancakes with Vermont maple syrup. The first night we ate in the dining room and, although I can't remember what I had, I do recall we both enjoyed our meal and resolved to eat at the inn again the next night. Our second night we decided to eat at the inn's pub, Jasper Murdock's Alehouse. It was another great event-- we both sampled some of the Norwich Inn's micro-brewed beer, and it was terrific. It is especially interesting that the inn has a brewery of its own in the back of the property. The beer brewed there is elaborately pumped (not using pressurization) deep underground straight through to the pub at the perfect natural temperature. The Red Ale was superb. Lastly, for those who enjoy a spacious room that is luxurously appointed, you can choose a room in their new modern building adjacent to the inn-- I had a peek, and it was really quite sumptuous. Next time through we'll probably stay there.

Room Tip: For a taste of history, stay at the inn. For maximum comfort ask about the new adjacent building ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My husband and I had never stayed at the Norwich Inn but had heard lovely things about it. We have a dog and were delighted to learn that they had pet friendly rooms in the Ivy Lodge. The room was wonderful, spacious and comfortable with a gorgeous shower and bath. We booked the spring "Romance Package" which included a bottle of chilled sparkling wine and chocolate covered strawberries which were delicious! We had a wonderful dinner in the dining room and a delicious full breakfast the following morning. My husband brought his bike and the folks at the front desk were very helpful in suggesting good bike routes which he really enjoyed while I took the dog for some gorgeous walks in the charming neighborhoods surrounding the Inn. We also enjoyed shopping at a fun outdoor flea market in nearby Lyme. The Inn is minutes away from Dartmouth College so we were able to get together with our son, too which was great! We loved our stay and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The dog friendly room in the Ivy Lodge was great! Clean, spacious and inviting including an outdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Liz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Sill, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Our family stayed here for a weekend and enjoyed every minute. The rooms are excellently done and completely relaxing. The bath had a towel warmer which the kids loved, there was an iPhone dock in the room, so no worrying about where your charger is. The restaurant and bar are nicely done and the food was delicious. The restaurant took us without reservations and the prices are comparable to any sit-down chain around. We walked the neighborhood one evening enjoying the beautiful architecture throughout the neighborhood, and then enjoyed the rest of our evening sitting on the porch of the Inn in their rocking chairs. The staff was great and payed special attention to our needs and questions. We had an absolutely wonderful time. We would go back again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwich
1.3 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
459 reviews
1.4 mi away
Six South St Hotel
Six South St Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hanover
274 reviews
3.8 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Hanover Lebanon
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norwich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norwich Inn

Property: The Norwich Inn
Address: 325 Main St, Norwich, VT 05055-9453
Region: United States > Vermont > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Norwich Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norwich Inn is a historic, full-service Vermont country inn located in Norwich, near Dartmouth College, just across the river from Hanover, New Hampshire. An Inn has been on the Main Street site since 1797; the current Victorian Structure since 1890. This Dartmouth hotel is proud to offer 40 guest rooms, a Pub & Dining Room known as Jasper Murdock’s Alehouse and a Microbrewery featuring hand-crafted English Ales, sold only on site. We are proud to offer one of the largest wine selections in Vermont, housed in our new Wine Cellar, which is also available for private parties. Local legend has it that the Inn and the Town were the inspiration behind the popular TV Show, “Newhart,” which was set in Norwich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Norwich Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwich Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing