We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying to be fair”
Review of The Norwich Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Norwich Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Our room was in the older section of the inn and, to be fair, it dates back over 100 years but there is an expectation of certain necessities in this day and age. Our room faced main street and the room was heated by one large steam radiator. The heat was either too hot or too cold and it was impossible to get a good nights sleep. The bathroom floor was freezing and there was no heat in the bathroom itself. It was a very cold night but that was no excuse. The note in the bathroom mentioned to keep the faucet running otherwise the water would freeze. The door to the hallway was ill fitting and leaked light into the room with the door fully closed. The last thing to mention was the WIFI was horrible as the connection speed was as minimal as it could be. I'm not a complainer but saying this may get the problems fixed in the future for future guests. Next time we will stay in the newer section of the inn.

Room Tip: Do not get a room in the older section of the inn
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capecodaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper27, Owner at The Norwich Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Any review of our Inn that falls below excellent does get our attention and we always are open to suggestions for improvement. We have just completed an energy audit to make next winter not only better in terms of heating our rooms but more efficient. It’s no secret that this has been the coldest winter in recent memory and we did have a pipe freeze in January. It’s an old fashioned remedy but we have been asking guests in a couple of rooms to keep the water dripping on very cold nights. Despite the age of our Historic Main Inn, she usually is a match for any weather and we are sorry to fall short this time.
We also know how important speedy WIFI is to our guests. We will certainly check on why it was not up to par for that room, as we have invested heavily in our WIFI system. Hopefully, this guest will return and possibly be happier in one of our new, better insulated buildings with gas fireplaces in each of the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for The Norwich Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

The Dining Room at the Norwich inn is not listed separately as a restaurant, which it should be as it is the flagship of this popular inn on the main street of this quaint Vermont town, just across the Connecticut River from Hanover, New Hampshire. The Ale House at the Inn is separate;y listed, but is not the subject of this review. One wants to like the Dining Room - the inn is welcoming and nicely appointed, but its principal dining venue is a vast disappointment. As a fine dining venue, it should feature white table cloths, which it had at one time, and all that goes with that, but they are gone and now you see a polished faux wood surface and that in itself should have warned me off. The bill for dinner for my wife and I came to $130, with tip, and was worth no where near that. A Caesar Salad appetizer was truly pathetic. A plate full of iceberg lettuce shreds and a pallid mess of an unflavorful dresing. No zip, no nothing. And he croutons were cubes of impenetrably hard toast. Tooth breakers. A saffron sauced seafood over polenta main dish was OK. Just OK and at $22 was not worth the price. Wines by the glass (we had a total of three) were limited in choice and unimaginative. My wife's main course of short ribs was fatty and awash in a tasteless gravy. The only redeeming part of this not to be repeated experience was the profiteroles for dessert, but the portions were so large as to diminish the effect as wellas the end of meal appetite. The chocolate sauce on a bed of vanilla ice cream had congealed into a crust that was not easily maneuvered by fork or spoon. One portion would have easily sufficed for two people. All very disappointing in what could, with not a great deal of effort, be true fine dining location. Grade: F. We live in the area and will not return.

Room Tip: We have stayed here before and the room are fine, especially in the newer outbuildings.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank wpdame3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I loved going here it was fun. It was the most funniest hotel I've been to in a while. I can't wait to go again. My boyfriend LOVED it! He said it was amazing. That's when he asked me to marry him! Love!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Even a 10-story Hilton can be called an Inn these days, but the Norwich Inn is more nearly the real thing. The first floor of the 1890 building houses a restaurant and bar, and a pleasant front room with fireplace. The two upper floors are divided into 17 guest rooms of various shapes. Our room was on the small side, laid out to fit the 3rd-floor space with a queen-size bed and desk (and a good wifi signal). You will find better TVs and shower heads in any of the mid-priced chains, though not the old New England ambience. These comments do not apply moreover to the two newer buildings on the property, whose rooms I have not seen.

The Inn sits on Norwich's picturesque main street, next to the general store and gas station, and a few blocks from various historic sites. Yet just a few blocks more and you are on the Interstate, while a 5-minute drive takes you to downtown Hanover.

Our stay went smoothly, and we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The old building doesn't have an elevator, so ask for the 2nd floor if stairs are a concern.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob4er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We needed a place we could take our dog. We stayed in the Ivy House very comfortable with a fire place. Bowl and towel for our dog and a green area outside to give her a run. The only thing I would would be tea and coffee equipment in the rooms. The inn is a walk away and it was a cold snowy night. The bathroom fan stayed on all night we could not switch it off.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqueline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed in the Walker annex behind the original inn. Apparently most rooms are not in the old inn, but the new additions. Room was very nice, but hall getting there, dingy and dreary. We stayed 2 nights, and dinner in the bar the 1st night; was noisy, and food was satisfying, but not exceptional. The breakfasts, and the breakfast servers, were excellent and sumptuous.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramcclain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Norwich Inn's location is perfect: you're in the center of a small, beautiful, and thriving New England village, and just a few minutes' drive (or bike ride) from Hanover and Dartmouth. The original inn is comfortable and cozy, with lots of good places to sit and relax, and our room in the Walker House--a few seconds' walk across the parking lot--was large and very handsomely decorated. Having a fireplace in the room was a lovely plus. Service was friendly, but not as skilled as it should have been (it took us two visits to the front desk to get our room keys to work, and even then, only one of them did--not because of technology but because the front desk person wasn't paying attention). And two things about the room made it hard to get a good night's sleep: abundant light from the adjoining parking lot came through the closed blinds all night; and the bathroom ceiling fan ran all night--by design, we found out, because it's part of the building's "green" ventilation system. The fan's noise, even with the bathroom door closed, was loud enough to keep me awake. (Why is it that in a "green" building noise pollution isn't taken into account?) However, my pre-breakfast walk through town the following morning (reading the many historic markers around the central green, admiring the many old buildings, poking around the little side streets) and then our wonderful breakfast at the inn quickly balanced out the inn's shortcomings. So--overall, I'd recommend the Inn, but with a few caveats.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwich
1.3 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
465 reviews
1.4 mi away
Six South St Hotel
Six South St Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hanover
277 reviews
4.0 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Hanover Lebanon
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norwich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norwich Inn

Address: 325 Main St, Norwich, VT 05055-9453
Region: United States > Vermont > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range: £136 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Norwich Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norwich Inn is a historic, full-service Vermont country inn located in Norwich, near Dartmouth College, just across the river from Hanover, New Hampshire. An Inn has been on the Main Street site since 1797; the current Victorian Structure since 1890. This Dartmouth hotel is proud to offer 40 guest rooms, a Pub & Dining Room known as Jasper Murdock’s Alehouse and a Microbrewery featuring hand-crafted English Ales, sold only on site. We are proud to offer one of the largest wine selections in Vermont, housed in our new Wine Cellar, which is also available for private parties. Local legend has it that the Inn and the Town were the inspiration behind the popular TV Show, “Newhart,” which was set in Norwich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Norwich Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwich Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing