We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISHONEST BUSINESS PRACTICES”
Review of Ladd Brook Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ladd Brook Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pownal
MA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DISHONEST BUSINESS PRACTICES”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I had a reservation through Hotels.com that I tried to change due to death in the family. Hotels.com talked with the hotel on Aug. 4th and he told me they agreed to change my reservations without a fee. Two days later my credit card was charged for the full amount. I called hotels.com and they said that I had to talk with Ladd Brook directly. They denied ever talking to Hotels.com and said that Hotels.com had billed me and I needed to get my money back from them. Hotels.com says they are not the billing source, Ladd Brook Inn is and they should refund my money. So I am stuck with a bill for a room that I didn't stay in. I have since cancelled my future reservation with this hotel and will not ever stay there--especially after reading reviews like "stay in you car instead". Had I read those first, I would never have made a reservation at this shoddy business.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M.J. N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    7
    10
    7
    20
See reviews for
18
22
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed for couple nights at this place. Room was nice and tidy with great view of mountains. Staff at the front desk gave us very warm welcome and very polite and friendly, Very close to Williamstown and bennington. Nice and tasty breakfast. We go to bennnington every year to see friends, And this would be my only choice to stay from now on. Amazing place, will come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken1034900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The room I stayed was odor. In the other room, my daughter suffered from the blanket's dust kept coughing for more than 3 hrs. Both rooms looked broken-down, windows were dirty, lamps had dust, the heat cover were rust, wall-paper broken, some blankets got holes, breakfast table had a dead insect between the cloth and the transparent glass, few items for continental breakfast without napkin...... The room was worth at most $70 per night, but they charged $140.94.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomOfTheFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pownal hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed at the Inn in June. Where to begin....Awesome location, wonderful view, great value rooms, Clean and tidy rooms, Friendly staff made me and my wife's stay very comfortable. Loved the Belgian waffles in the breakfast. Even my wife could not figure out the secret ingredient....had to ask....and it was Cinnamon!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

On the spur of the moment, my wife and I decided to go up to the Mohawk trail. Unfortunately, going at the last minute, there were slim pickings for hotels, which is how we ended up at this place.

Where to begin? The room smelled funny, with a slightly moldy smell drowned out by very strong air freshener. The chairs in the room were broken, there were dead bugs under the bed, the drawers all had gritty dirt in them, and the mattress was really uncomfortable. The bathroom was pretty clean, if a bit rusty, and they had recently retiled it, which was a nice touch. Outside, the pool was drained, but had captured a lot of rainwater, so it had a West Nile virus breeding ground vibe.

Overall, this is not the worst hotel that I've ever stayed in, but it is -- by far -- the most money I've ever spent to stay in a terrible motel. If this place had cost $35, I would have been happy; if it had been $60, I would have been satisfied. As it was, I paid over $150 to stay in a place that really needs a lot of work. I won't be back.

Room Tip: Go to another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceWatson71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This inn was comfortable and neat. The beds were very comfortable and the ammenties including the contenntial breakfast were pretty good. I looked at several places in the area as we were going to a wedding. The first thing that I liked was the price $59.00 for a queen sized bed. The woman Janet that checked us in was very welcoming and helpful with questions about the area. We slept soundly and when asked for a few more pillows were given them. My mom forgot a blazer at her house and the woman offered to lend my mother one of hers. We declined but that is going above and beyond hospitality. The next morning we took showers and the water was hot. It felt great and the water pressure was excellent. We went over for the conntential breakfast. Homemade blueberry muffins were delicious. We sat there for awhile and Janet again was there and as nice as she was the night before. If you ever find yourself in the Adams/No, Adams area, it is about a 25 min. drive and well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlforzese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

While this place was basically clean, it left much to be desired. It is in desperate need of updating. We had a king size bed with mis-matched and scratchy sheets. On closer inspection the second night, i noticed that the top sheet was a queen size sheet. No wonder the bed seemed short-sheeted! The towels in the bathroom were worn extremely thin. The lock on the front door was so tempermental that we got locked inside more than once. This place was overpriced and i would not stay here again. Supposedly there was free wi-fi, but we could not get it to work in our room.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestvalueinnpownal_w, Manager at Ladd Brook Inn, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Dear katie bc,

Thank you for sharing a review about our motel. I apologize for any inconvenience encountered during your stay. Regarding the linens-we have an off-site linen company which provides us with full service linen cleaning and daily replacement. Due to our property having brick walls, the signal can be difficult to reach some of our guest rooms. We are speaking with our local ISP and entertaining the possibility of adding additional routers in the near future. We hope these corrective measures will improve the overall guest experience.

Regards,
Amar-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Pownal, VT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pownal
3.7 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#7 of 13 in Williamstown
325 reviews
1.8 mi away
Green Valley Motel
Green Valley Motel
#12 of 13 in Williamstown
29 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cozy Corner Motel
Cozy Corner Motel
#6 of 13 in Williamstown
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Villager Motel
Villager Motel
#11 of 13 in Williamstown
45 reviews
8.1 mi away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#4 of 8 in Bennington
297 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bennington Motor Inn
Bennington Motor Inn
#7 of 8 in Bennington
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ladd Brook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladd Brook Inn

Property: Ladd Brook Inn
Address: 5939 Route 7, Pownal, VT 05261-4412 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn )
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Pownal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pownal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ladd Brook Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint, country style inn nestled between the Taconic and Green Mountains. At Americas Best Value Inn Pownal/Williamstown, your comfort and convenience come first with us. We offer a park-like setting for you to enjoy the spectacular view of the Taconic Mountains and Pownal Valley. Each of our spotless air-conditioned rooms has been furnished with Vermont's own Ethan Allen furniture. Every room has a telephone and cable television. Typically you will find us chatting with guests or in the dining area where we serve our complimentary continental breakfast. We're at the edge of town, close to all area attractions, and we have the peaceful country setting and friendly hospitality you're looking for. We hope you'll stay with us and give us the opportunity to make your visit relaxing and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ladd Brook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing