We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The total package”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A friend and I stopped here on our way through Vermont on a road trip, and it ended up being our favorite B&B by far for the week we were on the road. The inn is in a quiet part of the countryside but a quick drive to some small towns to poke around in, and the exterior is perfectly lovely - lots of places to sit and take it in, lots of flowers and big, old trees and comfy chairs. Our room was private and very comfortable, but I'm always on the lookout for a good tub to soak in after a long day and the deep whirlpool tub in the Otis room was exactly the thing for me. I've stayed in a handful of B&Bs, and plenty of them were lovely old houses with great views and fluffy beds, but I always fall in love with the ones with good hosts, and that's where the Golden Stage Inn earns all 5 stars. Mike and Julie were immediately warm and instantly likable, and managed to strike that perfect balance between being engaging and friendly without being overwhelming. It makes such a difference when you truly feel welcomed and at home when you visit a B&B because it's more personal than a hotel, and this couple really know how to do it right! Also, the food was fantastic, so for me this place with the complete package.

Room Tip: The Otis room was private with a lovely wooded view to one side. The bathroom was spacious with a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

We spent a long weekend at the Golden Stage Inn in February 2014. The Inn is 10 minutes away from Okemo ski resort. We arrived on Friday afternoon, although we happened to book a room with a queen size bed, we were offered a room with king size bed upon request (no additional costs). The Inn has a nice common room with fireplace downstairs. I was particularly impressed by the delicious breakfast and the book on the coffee table in the common room with all the restaurant recommendations and menus.
Julie and Mike do an amazing job as innkeepers, very friendly and attentive. I would highly recommend the Golden Stage Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borap80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My daughter, her girlfriend and I just spent Saturday evening here in a suite. From the moment we walked through the door it felt like home. There was hot soup and mulled cider waiting, coffee and tea and yummy homebaked cookies. The innkeepers, Julie and Mike, were simply lovely people who went out of their way to be sure that our stay was nothing less than perfect. We played board games, sat in front of the fire, had a nice dinner at Sam's Steak House (recommended by our hosts) then fell into our beds that were exceedingly comfortable. The breakfast the next morning was outstanding - I'm picky - with a chili cheese frittata that was light as air yet incredibly flavorful, homefries with sausage, a delicious buttery pastry, fresh fruit, juice, yogurt and honey from the B&B's bees. What more could anybody ask for? We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHBMoretown_Vermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This was our first time at Golden Stage Inn, and we we have nothing but positive things to say about our stay. The place is charming, the location is perfect for skiing, the breakfast is good and hearty (we didn't even need to buy lunch!), and the soup, cider, and cookies are a perfect way to end an afternoon. Plus, Mike and Julie were beyond hospitable, helping us shovel our car, giving great recommendations, and otherwise going out of their way to make our vacation perfect. We will DEFINITELY be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Charming Bed & Breakfast with fantastic service. Very friendly Inn Keepers. Great breakfast and baked goods to snack on after a day on the slopes. Nice accommodations. Great location minutes to Okemo.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCDJMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This is our second visit to the Golden Stage Inn and it's even better than the first! Beautiful and comfortable room but the best part is the delicious breakfasts, afternoon soups, endless cookie jar and the owners, Michael and Julie for their warmth and concern about your visit being as good as it can be!

Room Tip: The George was a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripsgaloreandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed here in the summer and made a decision to come back to this BnB in the winter for so many reasons. Summer was great, so much to do, hiking, biking, Hops in the Hills festival at Okemo, and great dining choices in town. Those are just a few of the reasons to come back to the area...Golden Stage Inn was the reason to come back to this particular BnB. Owned by a Husband/wife team (Mike & Julie) and their family, the inn has all the nice little touches one would want, clean rooms, updated and charming, remodeled bathrooms that are so nice, a black make-up towel for the women, hair blower, and the little things like when our room was cleaned up and they noticed we had a bottle of wine on the table, they put a couple wine glasses & an opener there for us. We also got to know the owners and they are genuinely really nice, caring people who take pride in their BnB. All the common areas are very inviting as well.
Recently we revisited, and I've got to say once again we loved staying with you guys (Julie and Mike) a second time. You guys always make us feel so welcome and you know we love the accommodations and would rather stay when it comes time to leave. Breakfasts are always AWESOME, fresh homemade "toll house" recipe cookies :-) just one of the flavors yummy, Saturday night chocolate cake and the hot tortellini soup after a day of skiing are fabulous "warm & homey" touches. Also loved the little goody-bags in the room. The Okemo area is really hopping in the winter months with so much to offer not to mention an awesome mountain and we can't wait to come back soon. Thanks so much and we'll see you guys again soon!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzyJeff139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Proctorsville
0.8 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
14.3 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
342 reviews
5.2 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
659 reviews
0.8 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
8.0 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 399 Depot St, PO Box 218, Proctorsville, VT 05153
Region: United States > Vermont > Proctorsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Proctorsville
Price Range: £122 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Golden Stage Inn, we pride ourselves on providing just the right balance between intimacy and privacy, between luxury and down to earth comforts. Situated just miles from great hiking trails, cycling routes, and Okemo Mountain resort (have you tried the zipline?!), Our grounds offer a convenient respite from it all. Stroll down to the babbling brook, get an inside tour of our honeybee hives, enjoy the in-ground pool or sit inside our historic building reading a book or working on a puzzle. Homemade and wholesome breakfasts always included in our rates. Two family suites plus six guestrooms, all with private baths. We redefine the Bed and Breakfast experience! This summer, ask us about our discounted theater tickets to the Weston Playhouse, available for guests staying 2 nights or more. You won't want to miss a theatrical night out in one of Vermont's most charming villages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing