We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, slow service”
Review of The Gleanery

The Gleanery
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Putney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Gleanery is a restaurant in the heart of Putney, Vermont. With a primary focus on utilizing ingredients available to us through a strong network of local farmers and producers, we serve thoughtfully sourced, creatively prepared food.
Darien, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great food, slow service”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Be prepared for excellent food with slow service.
We came for lunch and were the only diners yet 30 minutes before we were served.
We enjoyed lamb stew, toasted cheese sandwiches and kim chee with rice. All well prepared with wonderful flavor. While we waited seemingly forever a baker walked by with a platter of challah just from the oven so we quickly ordered one to stem the hunger pains. Delicious! We would like to return but bad service with few diners must be awful service with a full house.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DarienDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    21
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gleanery Acsendant, Needs Some Polish”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Gleanery is locavore embodied, and the emphasis on locally-sourced quality product shows through in bright flavors on the plate. Food is prepared accurately, meaning our orders came exactly as requested. Being BYOB is a huge plus, as we were able to bring wines to complement the food without incurring any big markups. Overall the food was delicious and fair value. Herbs and homemade conserves are especially well-integrated. A few items such as roasted and braised veal belly seemed like the chef was trying too hard to do too much on the plate, resulting in muddled mixes. Simplicity is the key when you have great raw product.

Servers seemed a bit inexperienced, and most questions we had about the food required a trip to the kitchen for answers. Things like refilling water glasses and removing plates once finished need improvement. Still, this place is well worth a visit, and we'll return when next in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rtwhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Totally awesome!”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Last night was my first time there. Love the food and the concept of the restaurant! A must go!! All food is locally grown and organic!

Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overrated and overpriced”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I had lunch here with friends. Most of the tables had chairs stacked on them when we entered. We ordered 4 flatbread pizzas and waited 40 minutes watching everyone else get served. They were cold by the time they reached us. I paid $17 for a small pizza and a bad cup of coffee.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pekalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great food, High Quality, Beautiful Place”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

With a strong, creative menu of local & seasonal dishes, I could see myself going here often if I lived closer. We had an amazing meal where each piece, from the veggies and potatoes in my burger, down to the spicy curry sauce in the rice bowl, were very well executed.

The service, location, atmosphere, food...everything was excellent! I'd highly recommend this restaurant to anyone passing through! For what you get, the prices are also quite reasonable!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edrick42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gleanery also viewed

 

Been to The Gleanery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing