We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Putney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hickory Ridge House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Putney B&B and Inns
New York, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend”
Reviewed 2 March 2008

Our Hickory Ridge Farm stay was all too short; we could have spent a week longer snoozing in bed by our crackling fireplace, watching old movies, or chatting with Gill and Dennis and adorable Jack (the terrier) over delicious breakfast and coffee. They couldn't have been nicer or more helpful, offering numerous dining recommendations, pointing out the best path to snowshoe, even picking up pizza for us in the middle of a snowstorm... thanks again-we'll be back!

  • Liked — The fireplace and beautiful natural surroundings
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 25thStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
25
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2007

My partner and I stayed for two nights at Hickory Ridge House at the end of July 2007, and we could not have been more pleased with our visit. The inn is a very comfortable, immaculate and well furnished 200-year old farmhouse, situated on a quiet country road. The innkeepers, Gillian and Dennis, are a lovely couple -- originally from England -- who made us feel very welcome and were helpful in directing us to fine restaurants, hiking trails, art studios, pottery shops and artisanal cheese makers. We appreciated the little touches, like the lovely garden from which the innkeepers gathered flowers and vegetables for our delicious breakfasts, the lemon pound cake that materialized out of the kitchen one evening, and the reading room upstairs with complementary beverages in a community fridge. Dennis even made a bonfire for the guests in the backyard, where we watched the full moon rise over the field. That evening, we appreciated the song "Moonlight in Vermont" as we never had. We highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast and are very much looking forward to our next visit.

  • Liked — Friendly innkeepers and lovely home
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelEnthusiasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, MD
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2007

My sister and I stopped here on a road trip through New England with our dog. We arrived in the evening and were greeted by Gill, and got good advice about finding carry-in food, which we enjoyed in our cottage. As we settled in, we found everything very thoughtfully arranged for our comfort and convenience. After an excellent night's sleep, we joined Gill on her lovely patio for a really memorable breakfast of freshest fruit, an omelet, and homemade scones, with excellent coffee. At our request, we had a tour of the main house, which is very lovely, with lots of nice touches and many choices for rooms. We had trouble bringing ourselves to leave and get on with our trip. We would love to return here, and we were glad to have learned about Hickory Ridge from Trip Advisor.

  • Liked — quiet, clean, charming, innkeeper who set just the right tone, special breakfast, dog-friendly
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2007

The pictures do not do it justice.
The Hickory Ridge House B&B is, in all ways, delightful.
The gardens and peaceful setting are beautiful and matched by the decor and comfort of the public rooms and bedrooms.
All wrapped together by hosts Gill and Dennis who really make you feel so at home and at ease.
And the breakfast? Much more than was expected. Beautifully presented and as delicious as we have had anywhere.
We had a lovely stay and hope to return soon.
Really.

  • Liked — The whole package - food, room, setting, hosts
  • Disliked — really no negatives
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank oliver13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2007

We spent two days over Memorial Day weekend at the Hickory Ridge B&B. Upon our arrival, the owners immediately came out to greet us - Gillian and Dennis are welcoming (their British accents added to their charm) and they opened up their home to us. We literally felt right at home in this 200 year old well-kept house. The grounds were so neatly kept that they could have been featured in Country Living, Better Homes and Gardens, and Vermont Life Magazines, etc. - if they haven't already. The home-cooked breakfasts were well presented and had exquisite flavor - the edible flowers were a nice touch. We enjoyed the tea and treats left out for guests. As well, the owners had a plethora of maps, tourist guides, and personal recommendations - all available for the asking. This place is fabulous and we have never experienced such incredible service before. We are already planning our next trip back - likely to be in the Fall to catch the famed Vermont foliage season or Winter to catch up on some X-country skiing.

Karen and Jen
Maine

  • Liked — Charm
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2007

The Hickory Ridge House was an amazing experience. After driving for hours from Manhattan, there's nothing better than being able to relax at a B&B where you will find everything and anything you are looking for.

If you want peace and quiet, the rooms are as accomodating as can be, not to mention functional and utterly clean.

If you want good service, Jill and Dennis are great at making you feel right at home. Breakfast is served at your convenience, a bonfire is ready whenever you ask for it, home made cookies and coffee are always available (and delicious too!), and they are always ready to advice you on places to visit in and around Putney. To top off our visit, for example, they left us a bag with chocolate chip cookies and hot coffee for the road. Simply wonderful!

If you are looking for great scenery then this is the place to come to, also. My girlfriend and I were discussing during the trip the fact that the Hickory Ridge House seemed to be the best located B&B in Putney. It is very close to town, but not on the main road, like all the other ones, so at night you really are "in the middle of nowhere". Plus, the backyard of the house connects with a trail that takes you up to Putney Mountain, where you can find all kinds of fauna and flora along with some great views.

All in all, this was my best experience at a B&B and it was mostly because every detailed was taken care of in a very caring way. I think that was the key to a wounderful Memorial day vacation at the Hickory Ridge House.

  • Liked — The service was superb and the house itself seems taken right out of a movie.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Duro999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2007

We stayed two nights in the old blacksmith's cottage -- very quiet, very charming. We slept in the master bedroom-- we had no problem fitting our three kids in the living room and there was a full separate kitchen as well, which we didn't have time to use. In the morning, excellent coffee and a couple of really amazing breakfasts in the main house -- an egg souffle of some kind was one morning's repast, French toast with home-made maple syrup another. A great place to stay while visiting the Putney School, which is nearby. The B&B seemed a very thoughtful, caring place, run by a couple of ex-pat Brits.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank PvZZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Putney
7.2 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
303 reviews
8.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
154 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
325 reviews
7.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
7.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 10 in Brattleboro
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hickory Ridge House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickory Ridge House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Hickory Ridge House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 53 Hickory Ridge Rd S, Putney, VT 05346-8872
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Putney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Putney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hickory Ridge House, a Vermont landmark listed in the National Register of Historic Places, has been an Inn for more than 20 years. Surrounded by peaceful gardens in the spring and summer and just a short walk to our local fresh water swimming hole. There is breathtaking foliage in the fall and a network of groomed cross-country ski trails in the winter. With eight elegant, romantic rooms, all with private bathrooms, Hickory Ridge House offers the perfect escape from today's hectic lifestyle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hickory Ridge House Hotel Putney
Hickory Ridge House Bed And Breakfast Inn
Hickory Ridge House Bed & Breakfast Inn Putney, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing