We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Inn, Perfect Host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Putney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hickory Ridge House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Putney B&B and Inns
Chevy Chase, MD
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect Inn, Perfect Host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2007

My sister and I stopped here on a road trip through New England with our dog. We arrived in the evening and were greeted by Gill, and got good advice about finding carry-in food, which we enjoyed in our cottage. As we settled in, we found everything very thoughtfully arranged for our comfort and convenience. After an excellent night's sleep, we joined Gill on her lovely patio for a really memorable breakfast of freshest fruit, an omelet, and homemade scones, with excellent coffee. At our request, we had a tour of the main house, which is very lovely, with lots of nice touches and many choices for rooms. We had trouble bringing ourselves to leave and get on with our trip. We would love to return here, and we were glad to have learned about Hickory Ridge from Trip Advisor.

  • Liked — quiet, clean, charming, innkeeper who set just the right tone, special breakfast, dog-friendly
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
25
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2007

The pictures do not do it justice.
The Hickory Ridge House B&B is, in all ways, delightful.
The gardens and peaceful setting are beautiful and matched by the decor and comfort of the public rooms and bedrooms.
All wrapped together by hosts Gill and Dennis who really make you feel so at home and at ease.
And the breakfast? Much more than was expected. Beautifully presented and as delicious as we have had anywhere.
We had a lovely stay and hope to return soon.
Really.

  • Liked — The whole package - food, room, setting, hosts
  • Disliked — really no negatives
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank oliver13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2007

We spent two days over Memorial Day weekend at the Hickory Ridge B&B. Upon our arrival, the owners immediately came out to greet us - Gillian and Dennis are welcoming (their British accents added to their charm) and they opened up their home to us. We literally felt right at home in this 200 year old well-kept house. The grounds were so neatly kept that they could have been featured in Country Living, Better Homes and Gardens, and Vermont Life Magazines, etc. - if they haven't already. The home-cooked breakfasts were well presented and had exquisite flavor - the edible flowers were a nice touch. We enjoyed the tea and treats left out for guests. As well, the owners had a plethora of maps, tourist guides, and personal recommendations - all available for the asking. This place is fabulous and we have never experienced such incredible service before. We are already planning our next trip back - likely to be in the Fall to catch the famed Vermont foliage season or Winter to catch up on some X-country skiing.

Karen and Jen
Maine

  • Liked — Charm
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2007

The Hickory Ridge House was an amazing experience. After driving for hours from Manhattan, there's nothing better than being able to relax at a B&B where you will find everything and anything you are looking for.

If you want peace and quiet, the rooms are as accomodating as can be, not to mention functional and utterly clean.

If you want good service, Jill and Dennis are great at making you feel right at home. Breakfast is served at your convenience, a bonfire is ready whenever you ask for it, home made cookies and coffee are always available (and delicious too!), and they are always ready to advice you on places to visit in and around Putney. To top off our visit, for example, they left us a bag with chocolate chip cookies and hot coffee for the road. Simply wonderful!

If you are looking for great scenery then this is the place to come to, also. My girlfriend and I were discussing during the trip the fact that the Hickory Ridge House seemed to be the best located B&B in Putney. It is very close to town, but not on the main road, like all the other ones, so at night you really are "in the middle of nowhere". Plus, the backyard of the house connects with a trail that takes you up to Putney Mountain, where you can find all kinds of fauna and flora along with some great views.

All in all, this was my best experience at a B&B and it was mostly because every detailed was taken care of in a very caring way. I think that was the key to a wounderful Memorial day vacation at the Hickory Ridge House.

  • Liked — The service was superb and the house itself seems taken right out of a movie.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Duro999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2007

We stayed two nights in the old blacksmith's cottage -- very quiet, very charming. We slept in the master bedroom-- we had no problem fitting our three kids in the living room and there was a full separate kitchen as well, which we didn't have time to use. In the morning, excellent coffee and a couple of really amazing breakfasts in the main house -- an egg souffle of some kind was one morning's repast, French toast with home-made maple syrup another. A great place to stay while visiting the Putney School, which is nearby. The B&B seemed a very thoughtful, caring place, run by a couple of ex-pat Brits.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank PvZZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2007

The Hickory Ridge House B&B is a stunning antique home located in southern VT. Been there twice, most recently under the new ownership. The new owners have added wonderful hospitality and service to an already beautiful home and setting. The room we stayed in had a fireplace which was very romantic. Beds are comfie, place is well decorated and very clean. Owners are extreemly pleasent and helpful. Location is close to some cool spots: in the summer there's lots of hiking and a beautiful running stream only a short walk from the house; in the winter there's Stratton and Mount Snow about 40 minutes away along some of the most beautiful country roads (2 covered bridges on the way to Mt. Snow, just take back roads) as well as lots of snowshoeing and cross country trails right in the back yard.

In the summer, there's Curtis BBQ right in town (about 5 minute drive or a casual stroll) that makes some of the best wood smoked ribs anywhere north or south. Hard to find in New England.

Brattleboro is only a 15 - 20 minute drive so there's lots of cool resturants and bars, as well as quaint shopping if that's your thing.

Asked my lady to marry me at the Hickory Ridge House during my latest stay and while the house is old and it is a B&B, it was plenty private for a romantic experience.

Breakfast was very good, lots of love goes into what these folks do for their guests and we would highly recommend a long weekend stay.

  • Liked — House, setting and hospitality from owners.
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ajgiordano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2006

I was skeptical at first due to the mediocre reviews online. However, I needed a place that would have rooms available during peak foliage for only one night. Much to my surprise the inn was beautiful and the service was fantastic. The new owners who have only owned the inn 4 months run the inn like they have ran it for 20 years. Another couple I met at the inn also were surprised because of the mediocre online reviews at how beautiful the inn was and about the inn's level of service. The couple agreed with me that perhaps the inn used to be mediocre, but the new owners had turned things around. I highly recommend a stay at the Hickory Ridge Inn.

  • Liked — Beautiful, charming, good service
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerkJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Putney
7.2 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
8.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#2 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
12.5 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Putney Inn
The Putney Inn
#2 of 6 in Putney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hickory Ridge House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickory Ridge House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Hickory Ridge House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 53 Hickory Ridge Rd S, Putney, VT 05346-8872
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Putney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Putney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hickory Ridge House, a Vermont landmark listed in the National Register of Historic Places, has been an Inn for more than 20 years. Surrounded by peaceful gardens in the spring and summer and just a short walk to our local fresh water swimming hole. There is breathtaking foliage in the fall and a network of groomed cross-country ski trails in the winter. With eight elegant, romantic rooms, all with private bathrooms, Hickory Ridge House offers the perfect escape from today's hectic lifestyle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hickory Ridge House Hotel Putney
Hickory Ridge House Bed And Breakfast Inn
Hickory Ridge House Bed & Breakfast Inn Putney, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing