We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful natural scenery”
Review of Quechee Gorge

Quechee Gorge
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Quechee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Locals think of this 165-foot gap as "Vermont's Grand Canyon."
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful natural scenery”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The gorge is gorgeous! Hike down or just look from the bridge. Beautiful spot. We spent a while here, just taking it in.

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    251
    74
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pomeroy, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WOW!!!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Not very far from Brownsville VT. Very peaceful place with plenty of stores. Lots of hiking in this area

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris-Scherfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Quechee Gorge is beautiful area”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We recently went there for a week and did some serious exploring of the area. Quechee Gorge is a meticulously maintained state park. Upon arrival, you walk across the bridge spanning Quechee Gorge and it's a beautiful view to take in. . . You then proceed to the visitor's center and can take the downhill walking path (pretty easy going down, beware the trip back up!) and there are spectacular views and benches to rest on as you traverse up and down the trail. At the bottom there is a short, rocky and steep path down to the water but kids, dogs and adults alike all enjoy splashing around in the river area down there (wear sensible shoes for the hike and clothes you don't mind getting wet in if you decide to walk around in the river). It's a take in/take out area so if you plan to picnic down there, be prepared to take your trash out with you (the same applies to any deposits your doggie decides to drop). If I was to do it again - I'd do it in the Fall because I'd expect some spectacular foliage in that area!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aud E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great hiking area”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The busloads may gravitate to the slightly tacky Quechee Gorge Village - complete with toy & train museum, candle store, diner and somewhere to buy your next souvenir mug - but for us it was the perfect place to park the car and hit the forest walking trails. Fresh air, multicoloured leaves falling from the canopy and me feeling a little on edge because this is the kind of place people see a sasquatch.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank heneedsfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodman, New York
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My family and I stopped here last week on our way to Boston. Nice trail down to the gorge. Maybe about a mile down. A little tougher coming back up but not too bad. At the bottom there are spots you can get down in the water and explore a bit. Would not recommend taking small children in the water as it is a little tricky. However, There were a few people swimming. Great detour and great way to spend a few hours.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jilld479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quechee Gorge also viewed

 

Been to Quechee Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing