We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfull Festival lots to see and do, scenic all around im from Canada and will shure to go back next year !!”

Balloons of Vermont - Private Flights
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfull Festival lots to see and do, scenic all around im from Canada and will shure to go back next year !!”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Wonderful piece of country, First time up and will be there next year... Nice festival all around very scenic place to visit all around, clean and worm people

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank audiocom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, VT
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“So cool...but”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I have been to this festival for the past 4-5 years, pre & post-Irene. This year's festival did not disappoint, except it had, in my opinion, a few glitches. The weather is never something that can be controlled or predicted, but it is difficult to wait...and wait....and wait. I understand it is for the safety of all, but nonetheless it is difficult to wait. The entertainment was fantastic and well-scheduled. It seemed to have a little bit of something for everyone, but I found that I had a lot of down time. I would like to see more vendors, as I think the space could handle more. I have very mixed feelings about the parking situation. I understand that the parking lot, due to Irene's damage, is now smaller, but parking over a mile away & being shuttled to the site was not convenient. If they continue to have the festival on the "green" I see no other choice, but it was a absolute NIGHTMARE getting out of the festival after the ascension of the balloons. There were shuttle busses running, but not nearly enough to handle the crowd. We decided to walk back to the vehicle instead of waiting, what would have easily been, over an hour for the bus. It might be good to reconsider the Marsh farm again, as last year; at least the parking lot was closer. The board of directors needs to reconsider this festival location; maybe it has outgrown its Quechee britches.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience! Don't miss this!”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

It has been my husband's dream to go up in a hot air balloon, and what better place than in beautiful Quechee, VT. Balloons of VT provides an awesome experience from start to finish. Darrick is a great guide and provides good customer service all the way through - he explains everything, responds to questions, and is pretty good natured with a sense of humor.

First of all, being in a hot air balloon is like nothing else you'll experience, and you can go up high and see the landscape, and then Darrick will take the balloon down low and skim on the water! We had a beautiful day, and I can't say enough how amazing and fun it is to be up there. The balloon itself is also really beautiful.

After our morning flight, Darrick took us to the Trap Door Cafe for a delicious breakfast outdoors and we took in the views with our new friends. Thanks for this wonderful experience and really what a great gift!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bosglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ballooning in Vermont”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is one of the most fun and memorable things we have ever done. Family and friends together with the excellent navigation and piloting skills of Darrek and his crew. The area around Quechee, VT is beautiful and it only gets more so with a little altitude. Darrek's skill with the Balloon is amazing and the overall experience is peaceful, beautiful and professional. We can not recommned this enough!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frazier E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This is a serious "Must Do"!!!!!!”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We contacted Darrek the owner some months before visiting Vermont, and he was extremely helpful in organising our trip.

We met (along with the other passengers) for our morning flight and think we were all a bit concerned about the overcast conditions.

Darrek, with his jovial good humour put us all at ease as we helped to inflate the balloon, which was an experience in itself!

We all loaded aboard, and although the basket holds 10 people, there was plenty of room and we did not feel in anyway squashed in!
With a few thrusts of the burners, the balloon lifts off so gently, if you had your eyes shut you’d think you were still on the ground.

At about 1000 ft the view was stunning, with 360 views of the town and surrounding mountains.
We still had cloud cover above us, so Darrek said we could push thru it – more burner action and we soon punched thru at about 5000 ft to crystal blue skies and warm sunshine!
Fantastic!

After an hour or so, we scouted for a place to land and after some careful (and very skilful) piloting, Darrek put us down in on a nearby farm, much to the delight of the workers who all came to assist!

A very nice touch was that Darrek arranges for a post-flight breakfast (pasties, coffee, champagne) in a nearby restaurant so we could reflect on our flight in comfort! (no other company does this)

Overall a very good day and a truly memorable experience!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Husby-Amp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balloons of Vermont - Private Flights also viewed

 

Been to Balloons of Vermont - Private Flights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing