We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bennett's 1815 House

Bennett's 1815 House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reading
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bennett's 1815 House
Ranked #2 of 3 Reading B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Delightful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

The owners were kind and very accommodating with our late arrival and extremely active 3 year old. The breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

My husband & I decided we needed time away from the craziness of life & went to spend a night at this historical inn. It was excellent! Peter & Karen were both welcoming & attentive. Our room was comfortable & cozy (especially with the fireplace Peter lit for us). Dinner & breakfast were the best part. We had escargot, shrimp scampi & quail & all of it was fresh & deliciously prepared. Later we decided we had made some room for dessert & a hot fudge sundae was brought to our room (Karen bakes & makes homemade ice cream as well as many other tasty treats). We slept great & then were treated to breakfast in the morning which was also delicious. We couldn't have been happier with our experience...we would absolutely recommend Bennett's 1815 House for an overnight or for a first class dining experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2010

a wonderful, quiet place to relax for a few days. the exhuberance and bon ami of the owners is a delight, as is the morning breakfast. everything is geniune at this place, incl. the adorable cat and dog! the only let down remains the slow service at the restaurant. they desperately need wait/bar staff to reduce the long delays in getting food to the table. if this can be done, we'll come much more often!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marsmars9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2009

I wanted a quiet and relaxing break in the country, and this was the perfect break! Wake up in a cozy New England house, eat a tasty breakfast at your leisure, stroll their 7 wooded acres, and take a day trip to Woodstock. Karen and Peter (and their friendly dog and two happy cats!) are your smart, friendly hosts who will go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable, and give you all the info you need to explore this scenic, history rich region in Vermont. But the best reason to visit is the food! They are foodies, dedicated to sourcing the best local meats, cheeses, produce, as well as incorporating flavors from their international travels into the food, and taking care to match wines with their food. Karen is a skilled baker, and the house is perpetually filled with the smell of fresh baked sour dough, fudge, cakes, pies, croissants, etc, etc Gorgeous! Don't miss out on their Vermont cream ice cream they make in small batches. Decadent! I had the perfect country weekend, and look forward to another chance for a relaxing, delicious get-away to the 1815!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11angelwithana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

Easy to find location in the charming Vermont countryside. I enjoyed the comfortable room and gracious hospitality at this history B&B. Peter's Seedhouse Cafe is a hidden gem serving the greatest meals in the area. I recommend the eggs benedict for breakfast and the seared scallops for dinner, but the inventive menu changes weekly. You can't go wrong with any choice. Peter makes sure of that. Be sure to save room for Karen's homemade desserts.
The outdoor adventure opportunities are plentiful. Ask Karen to direct you to them. I spent a lovely afternoon kayaking on the Connecticut River. Travel with your own boat or use a friendly local outfitters.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2009

We didn't actually stay in the Bennett's house because we discovered it the night before we left Vermont. However, we had a wonderful dinner that night in the Bennetts' Seedhouse Cafe, and we would love to stay there the next time we come to Vermont. The host is genial and a great cook, and took pains to make sure we were satisfied with our meals, which we felt were very good value for the money. We would highly recommend this place. great people; great place; great food.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JodyKayMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

Karen and Peter Bennett will make you feel entirely at home in their charming B & B, not far from Ascutney Mountain in Vermont. Peter's dinners are excellent, and Karen made me an absolutely fabulous omelet on the 2nd morning of my stay. I invited her to sit with me while I ate it and got an enlightening education on affairs in Africa and the Middle East, as well as instruction on how to build a sand water filter in a large metal drum. (She has worked as a civil engineer all over the globe.)

If you're familiar with Peter Champoux's book "The Gaia Matrix," I can attest that there is strongly positive and seductive energy around Ascutney Mountain. It's in a part of Vermont that I enjoyed exploring greatly during my short stay at the Bennetts' and to which I have returned since to explore even more.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B_K-VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reading
0.6 mi away
The Pond House Bed and Breakfast
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort
7.4 mi away
Snapdragon Inn
Snapdragon Inn
#1 of 4 in Windsor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
Show Prices

Been to Bennett's 1815 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bennett's 1815 House

Property: Bennett's 1815 House
Address: 37 Route 44, Reading, VT
Region: United States > Vermont > Reading
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bennett's 1815 House is a small historic B&B in central Vermont 13 miles south of Woodstock. Two sunny rooms each with fireplace, double bed, shared sitting room and bath. Full breakfast included. Situated on 7 acres of woodland, field and brook for you to enjoy. Fine dining restaurant also on the property. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing