We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great service”

Keeper's Country Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Reading
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

One of the best meals I've had. We both had three courses and they were all delicious. The salmon was perfectly cooked. Excellent service. Will definitely be back here sometime and would recommend this to everyone in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rommie969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christopher l, Owner at Keeper's Country Cafe, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review of our restaurant. I can see you traveled quite a bit and hope it was a joy.
again thank you
chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    13
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simple, relaxing, and delicious meal”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Keeper's is the perfect setting for an excellent country meal in a wonderful part of Vermont. The staff is extremely friendly and attentive - providing useful and opinionated guidance on the menu. The space is well kept and provides nice a great ambiance. Certainly not least is the food. Everything has a such a fresh taste - making it evident that the restaurant takes their ingredients seriously. For a low-key, relaxing, and extremely tasty meal, I'd highly recommend Keeper's.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pkleinpklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christopher l, Owner at Keeper's Country Cafe, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Glad to have had you folks at our restaurant and would like to thank you for your review of your visit with us. See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A great meal and a great find”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Although seemingly in a relatively isolated locale, Keeper's was a real find. The wine list is thoughtfully organized, and very reasonably priced. The service was prompt and attentive, our server knew the dishes well, and she could really educate us about the menu items. Finally, the menu was diverse, the food attractively presented, full of flavor, and perfectly prepared. Really it was a terrific meal. I would definitely go again, and heartily recommend this restaurant to friends and family.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank morr316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christopher l, Owner at Keeper's Country Cafe, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Mor316

glad you managed to find us here in Reading VT, I wanted to thank you for your remarks
about our wine list and service. Hoping to see you again soon.
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic food but pricey”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had a fantastic dinner. The menu is very limited. The bill was a bit of a jolt. We had a 5 course dinner and it was not cheap. I would recommend this restaurant. However, not a tremendous value.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christopher l, Owner at Keeper's Country Cafe, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
I wanted to apologize for you having the feeling that my restaurant is not a "tremendous value" .
I am glad you enjoyed yourself and will take this into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Atmosphere!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

If you are in the Reading, VT, area and want a great gourmet meal at a reasonable price, this is the place! We have dined here every time we are in the Reading (near Ascutney), VT area and have never been disappointed. Everything from their daily specials to salads are prepared to order. The atmosphere is perfect. This is a small restaurant so call ahead for reservations. We will be going back on our next trip to the area!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 977wildgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christopher l, Owner at Keeper's Country Cafe, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review of our restaurant.

Great feedback like yours is what keeps the bar hi here at keepers.

looking forward to seeing you again

Chef Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Keeper's Country Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Keeper's Country Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing