We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ripton 3 day visit on way to Montreal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Robert Frost Mountain Cabins

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Robert Frost Mountain Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ripton 3 day visit on way to Montreal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Grounds & cabin were pristine and extremely we'll equipped; Marty and Carol were very welcoming and attentive. Extras included roaring Bon fire the night we arrived, a picnic basket of warm baked goods Sunday morning and lovely short path through the woods. My husband and I will definitely return with our pooch (two of the cabins are pet-friendly).

Room Tip: Cabin 1&2 have fantastic views. Two others without views are pet- friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heatphobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VTCabins, Owner at Robert Frost Mountain Cabins, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We're so glad that Bob and Deb referred you to us. We look forward to seeing you again, along with "Benny", the new addition to your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
51
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

My wife and I spend all our time in Boston and Manhattan these days, and were itching for somewhere quiet and peaceful. This place fit the bill perfectly. The proprietors were kind and friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had a really pleasant stay. I would highly recommend this place to anyone, and we will be returning for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VTCabins, Owner at Robert Frost Mountain Cabins, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We're honored that you would choose our cabins for a country retreat. Looking forward to sharing it with you in one of the other seasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazelhurst, WI USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

This is the place if you are looking for modern, charming, and stylish cabin accommodations. The hosts, Marty and Carol, have thought of pretty much everything, and what they didn't they will get for you. They are hands on, on site hosts and go out of their way to accomodate you. We traveled with eight MW high school skiers and they were warm and receptive to our every need. Fully modern, forget the cell and relax in a beautiful setting. A great value.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank schoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VTCabins, Owner at Robert Frost Mountain Cabins, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
It was such a pleasure to host your Nordic ski team. Thank you for the positive energy that you brought to our property. It was also fun to have company in our workshop while the techs and athletes prepped their skis. We wish your program continued success and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is one of best vacation spots I've ever visited. Marty and Carol were extremely generous, attentive to all of our needs, and made our stay seamless and comforting. Immersed in the quietude of the Vermont forests and mountain ranges, the cabins are spacious and simply feel like home. A wondrous refuge from city life and LGBTQ friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DivineLion74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VTCabins, Owner at Robert Frost Mountain Cabins, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words. We endeavor to treat everyone with respect and to welcome all of our guests as we would our own family and friends. Hope to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

At our stay from November 2nd to the morning of the 4th, we most appreciated being so close to nature. From our woods walk in the soft rain on our arrival to the frosty stars over the mountains each night, we felt snug in the cabin and free to explore the countryside and local towns. We greatly enjoyed Marty's suggestions and tales of the area.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muellermohr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VTCabins, Owner at Robert Frost Mountain Cabins, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thanks so much. We try very hard to provide as much information and interaction with our guests as they would like. We want to be informative while also allowing everyone to enjoy private and quiet time. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Is is not possible to give a positive enough review of the Robert Frost Cabins. The cabins were very well appointed and had everything we needed. The beds were heavenly. Marty and Carol were extremely accommodating. One of the highlights was the bonfire that they lit for us. They even supplied extra long sticks for smores. We rented three cabins for 13 people and all agreed that we will be back.
We highly recommend the Robert Frost Mountain Cabins for any occasion in any season.

The MacDonald Family

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mactoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VTCabins, Owner at Robert Frost Mountain Cabins, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
What a wonderful family! It was a privilege to host all three generations and to help you celebrate the grad's success. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Five of us stayed in Cabin #1 (Peak Perspective) for four nights while celebrating my daughter's graduation from college. Carol and Marty surprised us with Congratulations signs for my daughter along the drive in and at the cabin. The cabin was fantastic-- warm (in sub-freezing temps) and fully equipped. We felt so comfortable there and got much joy from looking out the window at the snowy meadow and the distant mountains. Quintessential Vermont. Most extraordinarily, Carol and Marty essentially co-hosted a brunch that we held in their community room. They provided plates, cups, warming trays, tables, utensils...we couldn't have thrown our party without their extraordinary help! Marty even drove off in search of some of our guests who hadn't showed up; he found them and guided them to the party. One of our favorite events during our stay was a walk on their trails and a boisterous snowball fight en route. An utterly perfect place to stay-- blissfully quiet, totally homey, fantastic hosts in Marty and Carol!

Room Tip: We loved the views from Cabin 1 but i'm sure all are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilytooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VTCabins, Owner at Robert Frost Mountain Cabins, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
It was so fun to help you set up for brunch in The Loft and to have some great conversations with your family afterwards. We love when our guests use that space for larger gatherings. Best of luck to your daughter as she starts her career!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripton
6.3 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
7.0 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
7.0 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Chipman Inn
Chipman Inn
#1 of 1 in Ripton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
19.6 mi away
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
14.6 mi away
Lilac Inn
Lilac Inn
#1 of 10 in Brandon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert Frost Mountain Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert Frost Mountain Cabins

Property: Robert Frost Mountain Cabins
Address: 2430 North Branch Rd, Ripton, VT 05766
Region: United States > Vermont > Ripton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Ripton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Robert Frost Mountain Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2014 and 2015 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner, Robert Frost Mountain Cabins offer spacious, artisan-crafted, timber frame cabins with spectacular mountain views. Each cabin has 2 bedrooms, bath, kitchen, living/dining room and screened back porch. Nestled on 112 acres bordering the Green Mountain National Forest, our charming cabins include all of the contemporary comforts and are conveniently located near Middlebury and a short distance from Middlebury College’s Main and Bread Loaf Campuses. We offer year round short term or extended stay lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Robert Frost Mountain Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing