We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Robert Frost Mountain Cabins(Ripton)(Great Value!)
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Middlebury(Middlebury)
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$195
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort(Chittenden)(Great Value!)
US$496
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$403
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites(Ticonderoga)(Great Value!)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
39
12
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
12
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrobert frostother guestssnow bowlthe real dealowners chrisnew englandshort drivebullockmiddleburyhikersaccommodationswinter
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Friendly atmosphere. A small pub. Wonderful sitting areas. Rustic fireplaces. Wonderful breakfast. Owners from decades ago just returned and repurchased the inn. Much more Vermonty than any other inn I've visited in the state.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toleary79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

While visiting friends in Massachusetts two weeks ago, my husband and I decided to drive to Vermont and spent several nights there, even though we didn't have hotel reservations. Several places had no vacancy, but then we spotted the Chipman Inn in Ripton, and since it looked inviting, we decided to see if they had a room. It was our great good fortune that they did. A new owner named Chris had taken over the inn only three weeks earlier, and he and his mother run it. The rooms are large and comfortable, with good beds and comfortable furniture. Our room had a sink right in it, in addition to the sink in the bathroom, which meant that my husband and I didn't have to take turns using only one sink in the morning. The rooms are delightfully rustic; you feel as if you've stepped back in time fifty or sixty years, yet you're as comfortable as you'd be in a brand-new, modern hotel. Although there was no TV in the room, the inn has a beautifully decorated living room with a very large TV screen and comfortable furniture for anyone who wants to watch. What made our stay especially delightful was the fact that Chris and Joan have managed to create an atmosphere that makes you feel almost as if you're at home. They're both warm-hearted, welcoming, friendly people who took the time to chat with us and to point out local attractions that we might otherwise have missed, like the Robert Frost Trail just two miles down the road from the inn, where we took an enchanting walk in the forest when the leaves were at the peak of their color. Joan cooks and serves a delicious, hearty breakfast every morning, something different each day, so that as you eat her tasty home-made food, you feel as if you're in your own kitchen. The inn is a priceless jewel that people might not yet know about because ownership has recently changed hands, but it's definitely worth the visit. My husband and I recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Joan Bullock is back in Ripton! She repurchased the Chipman Inn that Joan sold 30 years before and is as welcoming as ever. Great breakfasts and a cozy fire at night in the Taproom, which will soon be open to the public. They have a large TV for important sporting or news events in a comfortable living room, and wi-fi available, but the guestrooms are blissfully quiet. Close to Middlebury, Bread Loaf, the Green Mountain hiking trails, Middlebury Snow Bowl and the Reikert Ski Touring Center, the Chipman Inn is a beautiful, quiet country house with unpretentious hosts and great country cooking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Chipman Inn, Ripton, VT

My husband and I just returned from the Chipman Inn. We met the new owners, Chris and Joan. They are welcoming, friendly, and delightful! We had a great experience. Our room was large and very comfortable. We had two delicious homemade breakfasts and enjoyed the company of the other guests. One evening we sat with the new owners around the fireplace and learned that Joan had owned the Inn before. She and Chris had many, many fun stories to share with us. We love to hike and the Inn is very convenient to many trails in the Green Mountains. We also enjoy going into Middlebury to shop and have dinner. Middlebury is a short ride from the Inn. We will definitely return to the Chipman Inn!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelclub.es
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews