We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hospitality”
Review of Chipman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chipman Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Ripton B&B and Inns
Deep River, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding hospitality”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

At the end of our Inn to Inn hike we arrived at the Chipman Inn soaked, tired and exhausted at 6:30pm. The welcome we got from Joan and Chris was so warm and welcoming - "come on in, never mild your boots and the soaking clothes" From there our morale improved by the minute. Help with our bags from Chris and after a shower and change of clothes down to the bar area to socialise and have a well earned drink.
The food was good and represented traditional American cuisine at its best. Next morning breakfast was also very delightful. Joan's neighbor was helping with the serving and she was great. Even though it was the last day of our hiking excursion, Joan had packed lunches waiting for us (as we had a long drive back to Canada!)
Can thoroughly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glmurraylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My husband and I had an amazing stay at the Chipman. Joan and Chris were such gracious hosts, and we felt very welcome into this beautiful 1828 home. They are full of wonderful stories about Ripton, Robert Frost, and various poets and writers who have come through the nearby Bread Loaf School of English. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast each morning was delicious! The Chipman Inn is truly one of Ripton's treasures.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Very close to the Robert Frost trail, we found the Chipman Inn. The rooms were nice, spacious, very clean, comfortable and affordable, Food was delicious and inn owners Chris and Joan were really nice and extremely accommodating, above and beyond the call of duty. It was also a great opportunity to hear from them quite interesting local stories. We're very happy to have stumbled upon the Chipman inn!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soccermom529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Mother and son Joan and Chris and delightful, experienced hosts. After Joan ran the inn in the '80s the family recently returned to Ripton to run the Chipman Inn after a hiatus in the 90s and 00s.
Chris and Joan bend over backwards to accommodate. We had a large party arriving over several days from several locations and for various reasons had to keep chopping and changing our reservation. Chris never got flustered and managed to accommodate our changing needs and requests with quiet grace. Not only did we stay at the inn but we also had dinner there two evenings.
The inn is a rambling old place with room on two levels. Two rooms (maybe more) accomodate 3 people, and several accommodate 2, with one room having two twin beds. We used four rooms and all were comfortable, some more so than others. Some rooms have en suite bathrooms, two share a bathroom (good for a family) and for one you have to walk down the hall.
If you have physical challenges I'm not sure this is the place for you. Only two rooms are on the ground level and they are the ones that share the bathroom. You have to walk up two steps without rails to get to the bathroom. All the other rooms are up a flight of stairs.
There are two common areas that are both cozy. One is in front of the fire and next to the bar, and the other has a big-screen television with a nice couch. And, you can also use the dining room if you want to play board games.
Breakfasts were ample -- I'd say huge -- varied, and tasty. There is a stated time for breakfast, but Joan/Chris and their helper Brenda accommodated the groups that were staying there while we were there.
Our group of eight also had two dinners at the Chipman. Both were very good home-style cooking. There is no menu, but you get several-course a prix fixe dinner for $40 pp. Your hosts will accommodate special food needs. We had a birthday while we were there and Chris not only asked what flavor of cake we'd prefer, but had it enscribed (without us asking)! This is a good place to remember when you're in Middlebury for anything for the college. We found the food was easily as good as the sought-after spots in town, and the price was competitive.
Ripton is a tiny hamlet about 8 miles outside of Middlebury, VT and an easy 20-minute drive in summer to the college. We'd recommend the Chipman Inn for you or your family.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelviapurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canandaigua
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

It was a cold and snowy night when we arrived at the Chipman Inn. We were very warmly greeted by Joan and Chris, the innkeepers, offered warm drinks, and a comfortable seat by the fire.
Joan and Chris are both very friendly and accommodating, full of information and stories, and eager to offer help and suggestions. They treat you like an old acquaintance or a long lost relative. They have recently re-adopted the Inn after a many year hiatus, and are already quite comfortable with their roles.
Joan is a great cook, and makes traditional New England fare for breakfast. We had eggs Benedict one morning, perfectly poached, with a side of broiled grapefruit, and stuffed french toast with fruit and yogurt the next day. The molasses cake was exactly what my German-American Grandmother used to bake when I was a child.
The Inn is of the cozy iteration, rather than the elegant. There are large sofas, brick fireplaces, and many antiques.Magazines and books, some current and others curiosities are everywhere.

The guest rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. We had a private bath with a plastic shower and washstand, basic towels and soap, attached to our room. It was chilly in our room but we were at the end of the heat run and it was exceptionally cold outside. While the bedding was adequate, an electric blanket or a space heater would have been nice. The common rooms were much warmer.
It's a great place to meet other travellers, and chat over breakfast or in the bar.
Joan, Chris and the food were excellent. The rating is very good, because while I think it was what one would expect for the price, the facilities are only above average. I would absolutely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main part of the house looked nicer, and would be warmer in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowyandSniggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

The trip is worth it just to hear stories from Joan! The house, setting, rooms and food are all great. We had the good fortune to visit during one of the cafe music events at the community center next door and our overall experience in Ripton was magical. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WandererNYNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Friendly atmosphere. A small pub. Wonderful sitting areas. Rustic fireplaces. Wonderful breakfast. Owners from decades ago just returned and repurchased the inn. Much more Vermonty than any other inn I've visited in the state.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toleary79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripton
6.9 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
584 reviews
6.0 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
224 reviews
21.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
275 reviews
6.9 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
187 reviews
12.4 mi away
Lilac Inn
Lilac Inn
#1 of 10 in Brandon
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chipman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chipman Inn

Property: Chipman Inn
Address: 1233 US Route 125, P.O. Box 115, Ripton, VT 05766
Region: United States > Vermont > Ripton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ripton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chipman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chipman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing