We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Catering Services”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chipman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chipman Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Ripton B&B and Inns
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Catering Services”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

In late September, Bullock Enterprises, the catering operation at the Inn, delivered both a Rehearsal Dinner and a Continental Breakfast for our wedding guests at the Ripton Community House. The dinner served 100 guests by buffet, the continental breakfast served 70. The Caterers took care of all the prep and clean- up for both functions and prepared and served the food. In the planning process they submitted a plan inclding detailed menu suggestions. They worked with us on modeling the menu to our wants and needs, and were extremely easy to work with. The meals themselves drew ravew reviews from the attendees who went out of their way to comment extremely favorably on the presentation and the quality of the food. A geat deal of the success of both functions can be attributed to the excellence of the work of the Chipman Inn operation. I was extremely pleased with all facets of the event from prep to clean up. I would (and will) use this group for futureevents with gereat anticipation and no doubts. They did a superb all- around job.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Chris and Joan were fabulous hosts! Friendly and informative and just nice people. The Master room is over the kitchen and the only drawback was freezer closing could be heard and felt at 6-6:30am, which was OK for us since we were getting up at that time anyway. Room was clean and comfortable. Meals were very good and plentiful. Brenda served meals and was very friendly and down to earth. I would definitely recommend. Location is close to Middlebury and hiking trails.

Room Tip: Master room is over kitchen and closing of freezer can be heard and felt early mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blmtkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shore, Masachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Our four nights at the Chipman Inn in mid-September could not have been more enjoyable. Open the imposing door to this handsome building and you find yourself in a true country inn - not a tarted up B&B. (No icky bowls of strawberry potpourri here!) The owners, Joan Bullock and her son Chris, are the very soul of welcoming hospitality. There is a large Tap Room downstairs with Vermont craft beers, and it is meaningful that local Ripton neighbors popped in during our stay for a drink. We got to meet some nice people that way. The Tap Room has two giant cushy sofas in front of the fireplace - and poet Robert Frost's snowshoes over the mantle! (His cottage is nearby.) We stayed in the Green Room, which was large (large enough that I could spread my yoga mat easily), had a comfortable bed, and had lots of nice wooden hangers in the closet. Joan cooked us a hot breakfast every morning in the dining room downstairs and we met a number of dedicated hikers who were using the inn as their base - Ripton is in the Green Mountain National forest. She will make lunches for hikers, prepare dinner for guests, and was so accommodating in every way. There is even a dedicated Pet-Friendly Guest Room, so you can bring your dog (as one hiker did). It's a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The entire area is really beautiful, rimmed with mountains, and yet only about 15 minutes from Middlebury, with its college and great shopping and restaurants. We went to Middlebury many times, up to the terrific Shelburne Museum (about a 40 minute drive), and to the Morgan Horse Farm in Weybridge, just outside of Middlebury, which was magical. We are looking forward to returning for Nordic skiing, as the Inn is just down the road from the Bread Loaf trails and also the Middlebury Snow Bowl. Chris Bullock told us he and neighbors will soon be building a Nordic trail on the Inn property as well, and we joked about it ending at the Tap room and a cup of Hot Buttered Rum...

Room Tip: If a bathtub is important to you (it is to us), ask for either the Green Room, or the Poster Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaSpinachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

My husband and I just enjoyed two comfortable and memorable nights at Chipman Inn. We felt welcome as soon as we walked in the door. The room was so cozy and authentically furnished. Our hosts were very helpful and responded to every question thoroughly. Their guidance about the local attractions was on-target. The common areas felt like home. The history of the place added to the overall charm of the experience. Breakfast was very good - not to be missed. We enjoyed perfect Fall weather, but I couldn't help imagining how great it would be on a snowy evening. Hope I get the chance to find out!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heronita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deep River, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

At the end of our Inn to Inn hike we arrived at the Chipman Inn soaked, tired and exhausted at 6:30pm. The welcome we got from Joan and Chris was so warm and welcoming - "come on in, never mild your boots and the soaking clothes" From there our morale improved by the minute. Help with our bags from Chris and after a shower and change of clothes down to the bar area to socialise and have a well earned drink.
The food was good and represented traditional American cuisine at its best. Next morning breakfast was also very delightful. Joan's neighbor was helping with the serving and she was great. Even though it was the last day of our hiking excursion, Joan had packed lunches waiting for us (as we had a long drive back to Canada!)
Can thoroughly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glmurraylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

My husband and I had an amazing stay at the Chipman. Joan and Chris were such gracious hosts, and we felt very welcome into this beautiful 1828 home. They are full of wonderful stories about Ripton, Robert Frost, and various poets and writers who have come through the nearby Bread Loaf School of English. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast each morning was delicious! The Chipman Inn is truly one of Ripton's treasures.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Very close to the Robert Frost trail, we found the Chipman Inn. The rooms were nice, spacious, very clean, comfortable and affordable, Food was delicious and inn owners Chris and Joan were really nice and extremely accommodating, above and beyond the call of duty. It was also a great opportunity to hear from them quite interesting local stories. We're very happy to have stumbled upon the Chipman inn!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soccermom529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripton
6.0 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
6.9 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
7.0 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Robert Frost Mountain Cabins
12.4 mi away
Brandon Inn
Brandon Inn
#4 of 10 in Brandon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
6.9 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chipman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chipman Inn

Property: Chipman Inn
Address: 1233 US Route 125, P.O. Box 115, Ripton, VT 05766
Region: United States > Vermont > Ripton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ripton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chipman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Chipman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing