We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

The Huntington House Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Rochester
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: New owners and very talented chef ( formerly from "Smokejacks" in Burlington VT) Upscale dining... at "casual" prices!
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We wanted to book a last-minute ski weekend and everything near Sugarbush was sold out. After passing the Huntington House Inn many times on our drives home, we decided to check it out. The room was fabulous - spacious, comfortable bed, very clean (and newly renovated bathroom). The restaurant food was yummy and I'd definitely recommend adding on the elaborate salad bar (includes soup choices, shrimp and cheese/crackers) - great deal. After dinner we spent time in the bar - Doc's - where Scott took good care of us (plus there are games including pool table and shuffle puck). This is a fabulous location as you're not spending the Sugarbush prices, but still only 25 minutes from the mountain (and Killington is 20 minutes the other way). We're definitely going back - thanks Bobby and Scott!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tmorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    5
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Awaiting my family, I decided to get a bite to eat - and was intrigued by the menu. Lobster bisque and lobster wontons.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NFL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardiner, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Snowstorm santuary”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My fiance' couldn't make it home due to a foot of new snow, and they were an excellent safe haven that ended up being more like a mini vacation for her. She was impressed by the cleanliness of the room, the comfort of the bed, the politeness of the staff and the laid back attitude in regards to check out time. She also remarked how it was such a classy place. We are both glad that it is quietly anchoring the center of Rochester with such grace and charm. Thanks for keeping my sweetheart safe and comfortable!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PatrickMurphy210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goderich, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A sure destination!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

We miscalculated and stayed only ONE night! The inn, Bobby's food in the dining room and the food & beer in the tavern, plus the included breakfast needed a second take, at least! The room was above expectations, clean and very comfortable.
Excellent sleep, terrific Vermont location. Go!
Rochester is s lovely village to explore. We're going back.

Helpful?
1 Thank MGB02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Rochester is a small town. We checked the menus of the other eateries and found them too odd. Here we found a homey atmosphere with genuinely friendly service and good specials (chicken, fish). They don't pretend to be super-gourmet, but they do what they do really well--and that's what counts with us. Later we chatted with the owner, who told us how Rochester people banded together to survive Hurricane Irene two summers earlier.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseyjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Huntington House Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Huntington House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing