We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would describe Liberty Hill Farm Inn as breathtaking.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rochester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Liberty Hill Farm Inn
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

My check list for a great place to visit and stay...
Awesome hosts the Kenneth's are a beautiful family,
Beth's homemade food all fresh and homemade (delicious),
Beautiful location, fantastic photo opportunities, the beauty of nature is all around you. The animals are good therapy. If you want to leave all your stress and problems behind,Liberty Hill Farm Inn is the place to visit. On a scale of 1 thru 10 I'd give this place a 100 :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasHummingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

Liberty HIll Farm is not just for the kids! We were 3 fifty-somethings off on a weekend adventure looking for things to do that we still needed to check off of our life lists. Bottle feed a 3 day old calf - check....milk a cow - check. Play with the barn cats and new kittens, etc. The atmosphere on the farm is relaxed and friendly and you feel instantly welcome to explore the picturesque barns and property - which I did every morning for a peaceful walk in the mist.They even have a selection of rubber boots for guests to borrow. Beth and Bob are gracious hosts and couldn't be friendlier. I've stayed at many B&Bs and you can tell it's a great one when everyone - guests and hosts and workers are all still sitting around the dinner table talking and laughing long after the meal is eaten. Beth is a fabulous cook as all of the other reviews have already said. Having her make dinner as well as breakfast is a treat you won't appreciate until you experience it. There are outdoor hikes, biking trails, etc to do nearby and Beth is happy to help you find what interests you. The bedrooms and shared baths (bring a robe) are comfortable and very clean. The common rooms are spacious and inviting. We even had an impromptu performance by another guest who sang and played guitar for all of us. It was a great relaxing weekend with lots of fun and smiles. I highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracibc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

A very nice B&B. You can do as much or as little on the farm as you want. The children had a great time with the new calf and kittens and chickens. They have rubber boots to run around in if you wish. Beth is a wonderful cook and her breakfast and dinner each day was fabulous. She uses Cabot cheese, butter and yogurt. The best! Close to the Cabot Creamery and Ben and Jerry's Ice creamery made for fun day trips. Beth and her husband are wonderful inn keepers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwibaby2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Who wouldn't like to take a trip to a place where they could experience true decency : a welcoming extended family, warm hospitality, meals around a table with many friendly faces, farmers with values of hard work and service, generously ready to answer questions, all surrounded by beautiful mountains,wild flowers, singing birds and a sparkling river on an interesting and multifaceted farm full of cows, calves and baby kittens topped off by a delicious, incredible, fresh grown feast at breakfast and supper.

Beth, the hostess extraordinaire of this comfy, spacious, rambling home in the lovely village of Rochester, Vermont will welcome you with courtesy, consideration and kindness whether you have little bouncy boys or a fragile grandmother of near 90 in your party. I know because I have been there with both many times.
Dinner as a family with the other guests brings out interesting stories about farming as well as diverse life experiences and philosophies of the guests. Someone may even pull out a fiddle!
Kids magically join in play even if their ages are widely different and they come from different parts of the world. Perhaps it's the scent of hay and the huge front lawn to run on.
There are plenty of places to hike, ski, swim,fish,golf, tube and sightsee nearby but sitting on the porch rockers peacefully watching the sun set and feeling fortunate (and full!) may be enough in itself.

Room Tip: This is a real farmhouse kept tip top and beautiful but isn't filled with TVs and AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farmvisiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I visited Liberty Hill Farm with my daughter in the fall of 2009. I had to respond to one of the reviewers who was surprised at his vacation.

I found Beth to be a wonderful hostess! I learned so much about the Cabot Creamery, dairy farms, organic farms and much much more! Beth is a fabulous cook and the breakfast and dinners--served family style--were terrific. It was so much fun meeting new people around the large farmhouse table!

This is a farm, for heaven's sake! So if you want a sterile environment, stay away and go to the Hilton Garden Inn!. If you want an interesting vacation with great food as well as a good base camp for exploring SW Vermont, go to Liberty Hill.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Our family spent a few days at the farm over the 4th of July. Our children (10 and 13) have always wanted a "farm" experience but, in CA, there aren't too many dairy farms to be found. We are so lucky to have found Liberty Hill Farms! Beth is an amazing host-her food is fantastic! My kids couldn't stop talking about the great meals and my husband particularly liked the roast beef! Everything from the Vermont maple syrup to the Cabot cheese in the egg soufflé was divine. My kids loved waking up and running outside to find the kitties, pet the calves, milk the cows and clean out the stalls. We also had fun on July 4th decorating the hay wagon and participating in the Rochester parade. the kids got to throw Cabot cheese, instead of candy, to the crowd and the crowd loved it! The location is beautiful and incredibly relaxing. My kids already asked if we could go back next year.

Room Tip: The rooms are all in a 10 room farm house. You share common bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lggirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbethfarm, Owner at Liberty Hill Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

It was our delight to have your family celebrate the 4th of July with us!! Please thank the kids for their great work decorating the hay wagon and throwing Cabot cheese!! See the "real" use for the haywagon on our Facebook photo--filled with hay for the cows!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Our family has spent the past two 4th of July weekends at Liberty Hill Farm and we can't say enough about the hospitality, food and owners. Beth and Bob have provided our family a look into the life of a dairy farmer and for our children it was an amazing experience. My oldest son Jared experience delivering a baby calf and my daughter Carissa wakes up at 6:30am to help feed the cows and clean the stalls. We loved meeting new people while sharing breakfast and dinner and Beth makes the most delicious meals with fresh ingredients. We spend the day hiking, playing golf or visiting neighboring towns like Woodstock or Stowe. We travel through covered bridges or canoe around the lakes. On the 4th of July we help decorate the farm's wagon and participate in the local parade through downtown Rochester. You're relaxed and surrounded by the Green Mountains of Vermont.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorinneF49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbethfarm, Owner at Liberty Hill Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for your kind words! We truly loved having you here! Thank you for getting our summer off to a great start!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
20.0 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
433 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Trailside Inn
The Trailside Inn
#1 of 14 in Killington
227 reviews
4.0 mi away
Swiss Farm Inn
Swiss Farm Inn
#3 of 5 in Pittsfield
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
20.3 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
4.4 mi away
Casa Bella Inn & Restaurant
Casa Bella Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 5 in Pittsfield
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Hill Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Hill Farm Inn

Address: 511 Liberty Hill, Rochester, VT 05767-9540
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Rochester
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Rochester
Price Range: £87 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farmstay on Vermont working dairy farm features fresh local foods served family style dinner and breakfast. Rate includes dinner, lodging, full breakfast, plus plenty of farm activities. Year round accommodations for families, friends, small groups. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing