We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Lovely Place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rochester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Huntington House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewed 10 October 2012

As the other reviewers pointed out, the historic Hapton Inn is one of the places you feel lucky to have discovered, situated in a very scenic part of Vermont, run by really nice and friendly people and really resonably priced. We greatly enjoyed our two-night stay, the homey little room and the traditional, hearty breakfasts (skilfully and creatively cooked by Scott, one of the owners). If you are a true traveler, (and you are, since you are reading this), I strongly recommend this little special place!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corcodush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Huntington House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

My wife and I spent a night at Scotty's historic Huntington B&B in central Vermont. The room cost was very reasonable for 2 twin beds. The home has beautiful antiques and has been updated with enough modern touches to keep everyone comfortable. The beds & linens are quality and baths spotless. This Inn has a wonderful dining room, bar area and tavern that will cover just about any appetite and you will find the food well prepared and reasonably priced. Breakfast was wonderful; fresh fruit, pancakes with Vermont maple syrup, sausage and eggs. We highly recommend.

Room Tip: All Inn rooms are nice and for winter skiing they have 6 suits with double bedrooms, kitchens, livin...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank george29938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

In the middle of planning our hiking trip in the Green Mountains, we found the Huntington House Inn on tripadvisor and decided to give it a try - and we were not disappointed! The inn is located on the quiet side of the bucolic town common with a gazebo, benches and mountain views. Check-in is only available from 4pm to 9pm so try not to arrive early. We had a chance to look at all six rooms in the inn and each was slightly different with different benefits. Pets are allowed to stay in some of the rooms, although there were none during our visit. The restaurant is only open Wednesday thru Sunday but is a real treat with white tableclothes and an upscale decor yet with fair prices. Eating at Doc's Tavern on a Monday or Tuesday night was essentially dining and drinking with all of Rochester's locals, particularly since it is the only place in town open that evening. Service was friendly and the comfort food good, although there are few if any healthy items on the menu. The true highlight of the stay was the morning breakfast included in the price - fruit salad in a martini glass, eggs your way, lightly seasoned potatoes and the best cinnamon swirl french toast ever! Bobby and Scott were hospitable hosts, and freely offered to make us more of anything at breakfast (and we did not pass on more of the french toast)! There were lots of nice little extras, including bottled water, a Keuring machine and some homemade muffins and cookies in the hallway on the second floor. Above the snacks you can see photos from the hurricane, where the community truly came together with the inn and the nearby supermarket making significant donations to the citizens of the small community. A pleasant surprise was the large flat screen TV in our room, a luxury compared to some other B&B's we went to. There are two other properties run by these gentlemen in the area but we did not see the inside of either of them. The Rochester Cafe across the street is open until 5 and a great place to go for lunch. Other than the lack of healthy options at Doc's, this visit was perfect!

Room Tip: if you get there when they are not fully booked, ask if you can see some of the rooms before decidin...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank traveltime841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

The Inn is lovely with a park across the street. It has a dining room and bar which is a plus after a long days drive. Our room was very nice, clean and comfortable. We had dinner which was very good and a full breakfast was included the next morning. They are so hospitable and friendly there. Rochester is a quiet village in a beautiful spot. This is a definite special place to return to for a peaceful, relaxing visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gloryj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed here for a night at the beginning of October, and had a great stay. The area was still showing a few signs of the hurricane damage so we feared the worse when driving in.

However Huntingdon House was a lovely place. We had a few pints of Switchback in their bar while watching the baseball before eating a great meal. A cosy place, and the staff were very friendly. The room was decent, and we even had a cooked breakfast before heading on our way.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pw80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We arrived in Rochester looking for a place to stay for the night (June 2011), and serendipity found us at the Huntington House. The owners were very friendly, down to earth and accommodating. The whole town is laid back and nestled amongst great biking and hiking. Such a great stay, we decided to stay put for a second night. We were the only guests, and our "favorite" table was set specifically for us when we arrived for breakfast, complete with my tea and honey and my traveling companions' gluten free options. (Thanks, Mom!) Beds are comfortable, town is sleepy quiet, service is good, experience was gay-friendly, and the bike shop in town gets 2 thumbs up. We'll be back.

Room Tip: The front room overlooking the park is the best pick. The town is so sleepy, there is no noise conc...
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed at the Huntington House Inn by chance. Forced by Hurricane Irene to seek emergency shelter, we decided that Rochester was as far as we could go before the storm worsened. This happened to be an extremely precise bit of chance, as the bridges north and south of town were washed out within an hour of our checking in.

We arrived two hours before typical check in time, and one of the owners met us and welcomed us into the Inn. We noticed immediately how nicely appointed the Inn was. There is a large dining room and a small tavern on the first floor with an excellent menu and a well stocked bar. The menu looked to be excellent and the rooms were large and clean. The mattress was more comfortable than my own. Wireless internet was provided free of charge.

Unfortunately, the town lost power, phones, and cell service only a few hours after we arrived, and as of this writing, 4 days later, these services are still down.

Many people will not be aware that this part of Vermont was hit incredibly hard by the storm. The worst flooding in 70 years destroyed many of the bridges and roads, cutting off this town in every direction for several days. And even after ground access was restored, it was over dirt logging roads high in the hills with only one travel lane in many places.

Immediately, Scott and Bobby, opened up their Inn to several other travelers, stuck as we were, and some of the hardest hit locals, many of whom lost their homes and possessions in the flooding.

Additionally, because of the power outage, the Inn prepared all of the food in their kitchen that would have spoiled, and offered it up to everyone in the town, free of charge. After their own supplies ran out, they continued to cook large pot luck diners, consisting of food brought in by locals and businesses who had lost refrigeration. Each of these meals were served to a few hundred people free of charge.

It seemed like the two never stopped working to help those in need and to make sure that the people in town had food and shelter when possible. It was one of the most generous acts of kindness and optimism I've ever seen.

For the most part, this was indicative of the town in general. Our group was stranded for three nights in Rochester, and we interacted with many of the locals. All of the business owners displayed the same friendly and welcoming demeanor as the Huntington's proprietors. Random people on the street knew that we were from out of town, and they would walk up to us, give us updates on the situation, and just have friendly conversation. The demeanor remained incredibly calm and civil in the face of uncertainty.

We hope to stay at here again when we travel through the area, hopefully during the upcoming ski season. The local authorities planned to have power and phones restored within another 3 to 5 days, and while rebuilding the roads and bridges will take much, much longer, the sense of community and concern for ones neighbors left no doubt that Rochester will be back on its feet in no time. Our many thanks go out to Scott and Bobby and the rest of Rochester.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank absentspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
20.4 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
601 reviews
15.3 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
22.4 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
228 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
316 reviews
14.4 mi away
Killington Motel
Killington Motel
#2 of 13 in Killington
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntington House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntington House Inn

Address: 19 Huntington Pl, in the Green Mountains, Rochester, VT 05767-5002
Region: United States > Vermont > Rochester
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rochester
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing