We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good ski lodging choice--even if it's not on Killington Road”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good ski lodging choice--even if it's not on Killington Road”
Reviewed 21 March 2009

We booked this hotel for a family ski vacation during Christmas week, 2008. Location was a bit far from the Killington ski slopes (15-20 min. driving time). But considering that the room price (booked online) was better than the over-priced Killington hotels of similar quality, we didn't mind the daily drive. Hotel lobby was very festive. The room was cleaned every day and very comfortable. Our 9-year old daughter loved the heated swimming pool. Internet connection for our laptop worked well in the room and at poolside. Holiday week hot breakfast buffet was more than adequate, and the restaurant staff was very attentive. Hotel owner actually took the time to say hello and inquire about our stay. Impressive! We'll probably go back again.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redy2go067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    124
    103
    48
    19
See reviews for
132
90
21
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gottobot
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2008

We like this hotel as it provides my son and us ample places to play. We hit the warm pool after a day on the slopes and sit around the large pool area watching all of the kids play, some big kids too. There is ping pong and air hockey and foosball. Loads of fun.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gottobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2008

This hotel is one of the best things that every happened to my family! A few years ago we adopted a little boy who was in foster care in Rutland (we live in NYC). We had to travel back and forth to Rutland numerous times. Each time we stayed at the Holiday Inn. A few times he was allowed to stay with us. The hotel knew of our situation and made an effort to make us feel as comfortable as possible -- they went out of their way to accomodate us and help this frightened little boy make the transition into our family. When the adoption finally went through, the hotel actually threw us a party! Their banquet manager arranged it all including a custom made cake and balloons. I have stayed in some of the finest hotels all over the world and nowhere have I found a staff of people more caring for our needs. Is it the most beautiful hotel? No. Is it well appointed? It's pretty typical Holiday Inn ... although their pool is terrific (I think it's the only indoor pool in the region and it's huge, warm and the kids love it). Is the food gourmet? No, but it is pretty good. Is the staff accomodating and caring? YOU BET THEY ARE. Absolutely the best I've ever seen. I actually wrote a letter to Holiday Inn senior management about them a few years ago. I do hope they got the recognition they deserved.

  • Liked — The accomodating staff -- they also allow your pets
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2004, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank maggiesmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2008

We were looking for a quiet getaway, and we found a fabulous hotel. I booked the week that we were planning to leave and was able to get a great rate. The front desk clerk was polite and very helpful as we had never been to that area of Vermont before. The hotel is set off the main road but has several restaurants and shops nearby. The mall across the street is hidden by a hill but only takes about fifteen minutes to walk to. Downtown Rutland is a short drive away and has a wonderful Farmer's Market and closed street in the summer (don't know about the winter.) Killington is about ten minutes away, and Lake George is about 1 hour away via Route 4 which is just to the right of the hotel.

The hot tub broke down on one of the days and within a very short time, workers were there to fix it. The whole pool area was impressive with a courtyard in the back with patio tables and lounge chairs and a closed courtyard between the buildings.

The continental breakfast surprised me as I thought it would be only cereal, toast, etc, but included eggs, bacon, oatmeal, pancakes...

The rooms were fair-sized and clean, and had a fridge and microwave.

All in all, given available time, I'd be back in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — The pool area and the staff.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaniDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2008

I stayed four nights and had long work days here. Staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. Entire hotel is clean and updated. Restaurant is fine. Pool and fitness room is great. Easy access to entire region.

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — no elevator to second floor
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MontpelierLiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Conway NH
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2008

I recently spent a night at this hotel for a meeting and I must say it is truly an asset to the Holiday Inn brand, from the moment we arrived the staff was freindly eficient and quick to respond to any questions or needs we may have had. The facility itself appears to have recently undergone a renovation and is immaculate, from the clarity and cleanliness of the pool facility to the paint and furnishings in the common areas everything appeared well maintained and new. My room had a single king bed, fridge freezer and a microwave, and was truly one of the most comfortable I've stayed in at a Holiday Inn. The conference facility was excellent with a staff that was constantly refreshing the food and beverages. While there we had occasion to dine at the hotel's lounge, and the food was definitely above average and the service was excellent. Overall this hotel is a Jem, and I will be sure to return the next time I am in the area.

  • Liked — The feeling of comfort and feeling at home.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NH_Desk_Clerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boogatz, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area, responded to this review, 12 May 2008
Dear NH_Desk_Clerk,
Thank you for your kind words. I will be pleased to share them with the rest of the staff. While we appreciate hearing the challenges we need to over come we are always happy to receive compliments and it goes a long way toward boosting the employees. You made our day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, CT
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2008

We stayed at this hotel for one night in mid March. The hotel is located off a busy highway in the shopping/restaurant strip in Rutland. Our room was average sized with one king bed. When we attempted to control the temperature of the room via the wall thermostat, it caused the heating system to shut down. When we advised the front desk, a service worker quickly came to our room and fixed the problem. He nicely explained that the thermostat on the wall is not compatible with the new healer in our particular room. After that taken care of, we took a quick dip in the pool. The pool area is very nice. There was also 2 hot tubs and the hotel offers pool side service from it's on-site restaurant.

As far as the breakfast buffet in the morning, it was average, at best. The eggs seemed dried out and there weren't very many items to choose from. The waitress also never brought us coffee, even though it was promised right when we were seated. So, my experience at breakfast was not great.

Overall, for this short stay, I would rate this hotel as average. The restaurant service needs the most improvement.

  • Liked — The spacious pool area
  • Disliked — The service and quality of food in the restaurant
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ctstormwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rutland hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Rutland
244 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 12 in Rutland
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area

Property: Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area
Address: 476 Holiday Drive, US Route 7 South, Rutland, VT 05701-4887
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Rutland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Vermont, the Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington is centrally located with easy, scenic access to Vermont's many historical, cultural, shopping and recreational attractions. Our hotel and its friendly, experienced staff consistently earn the area's highest ratings for facilities and guest service. Winner of Rutland Herald's "Reader's Choice" favorite full service hotel, the Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington offers more facilities, services and amenities under one roof than any other local hotel. Plus convenient access to three of the east's best skiing and riding mountains, including Killington, Okemo and Pico. Here in Rutland, we offer the most complete hotel facilities and services in the region, all served up with that good old-fashioned country hospitality that makes you feel right at home. From a warm welcome to assistance with planning itineraries, we’re at your service 24 hours a day. Furthermore, the Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington offers you resort amenities like an indoor heated pool, whirlpools, fitness center, restaurant, lounge and conference center - to make your stay ideal. Whatever draws you to visit Vermont - a piece of history, a slice of Americana or a taste of the great outdoors, we invite you to sample the flavor of the region, with the Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington Hotel Rutland
Rutland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing