We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I expected more” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Quality Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Connecticut
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“I expected more”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

If you look at some of my other reviews of places I have stayed in Rutland you may be scratching your heads. The Quality Inn is no worse than the Val Roc but I rated it much lower. I didn't have the bad experience that other reviewers had, but I am surprised that this hotel has been able to remain a Quality Inn franchise. It could have been the nail holes in the wall paper, the rusty bathroom fixtures, or the "way past it's prime" carpet" but I would have stayed at the a fore mentioned hotels if I had known what this was going to be like.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjr4945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    52
    39
    48
    53
See reviews for
64
60
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

The room was clean. Old but clean. Breakfast was fresh and tasty. Check in was fast. What else do you need for sleep over after long day of skiing?? No complaints at all.
It was perfect for an overnight stay.
Didnt have a chance to use the pool as we came in too late but it looked ok anyways.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksenia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

My husband booked an overnight stay for our family and suggested the hotel to friends who were joining us in VT for the Green Mountain Open Tournament at Rutland Bowlerama. What a HUGE mistake. Upon entering the lobby to check in we thought it would be nice because the outside entry was welcoming and the lobby was clean. Well, as soon as we drove around to a side entrance the building looked a bit unkempt. Although there’s a cardkey reader right next to the side entrances, the doors were not locked. The hallways were run down. The walls needed to be painted, the carpets were wavy and dirty. The stairs to the second floor were dirty and have probably never have the pleasure of being mopped. We entered our room and the carpet was worn, water stains on the ceiling, curtains and lampshades were stained. The furniture was in poor condition. Upholstered arm chair seats were stained w/who knows what. We left our bags and went on our way for lunch, bowling and dinner. Upon our return later that evening after 10 p.m. the side entrance doors were still unlocked. We got up to our room and neither cardkey worked this time around. We went down to the front desk for assistance and the desk was unattended. We waited almost 10 minutes for someone to come to the desk. He was pleasant and apologized for not knowing why the cardkey stopped working but fixed it. I brought the unlocked side doors to his attention and he said there was a power outage a few days back and it probably messed up the system. I suggested he bring the matter to management’s attention because the building should be secured even though “not much happens in VT”. In the morning they did provide a free breakfast w/eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal, bagels, toast, muffins and yogurt. Great choices and not bad but the room was very small for the amount of guests who needed to use it. Overall I think this place needs a lot of TLC before we would even consider staying there again and I cannot believe the reviews where more than two stars/points were given. I have to wonder if they’re confusing this location with another hotel in VT.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank VAM65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rutland hotels

Colchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Needed a last minute place to stay to look at colleges. Specified a non-smoking room. We were given a room that smelled terribly of smoke (ashtrays in the room). I called to the desk and they moved us to a better room (smell wise). The place is run down with stained carpeting, furniture that is scratched and damaged. The bathroom has mildew on the tile on the floor and in the shower. The breakfast room is small and was packed with a school group on a ski trip. There was an employee who was working the waffle maker and had the nerve to have a "tip cup" in front of it. I would never stay here again and don't recommend it. I do have to say that the desk clerk on the night we checked in was very pleasant and tried hard to remedy our room problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

This hotel should not be open. The room had no heat. There was a space heater on top of the 1960's television set, the sheets were dirty, and the bathroom was gross. The front desk clerk did not care or even look like he wanted to be there. This was the most rundown place I have ever seen in my life. The pictures of the rooms are false. False advertising on the websites. Choice hotels need to inspect the hotels before advertising them on their website. We checked in and checked out within 20 minutes. It is a very unclean hotel and needs to be shut down. No heat in the room but a space heater is a fire hazard! Gross and dirty. Do not stay there!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBlithes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We were in Rutland for President's weekend to ski at Pico. First of all, this is formerly a Ramada Inn. It is now the Quality Inn. We had a reservation for the Ramada Inn and couldn't find it, so had to pull into a parking lot and call only to find out it's now the Quality Inn. This should have been the first clue. There is no Quality at this Inn! Everything is disgusting, old, dirty, broken. Will never stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

We were supposed to stay here for 2 nights while visiting our daughter at college and skiing, but decided not to stay after checking in. The front desk clerk was very pleasant and handed our key card to us. The exterior was rundown, the lobby was OK, and the clientele was a bit sketchy. It seems like there were a few long term residents at this location. As we went up to our room, we found the outside door unlocked and many of the room doors slightly ajar. The hallway reeked of smoke and the carpeting was filthy, wavy, and nasty. Our room did not appear to have been vacuumed, there was mold around the tub, and there was a strange odor. The picture on Quality Inn's website do not match up with the actual rooms here. We returned to the desk promptly and asked for a refund. The clerk was kind and understanding; she gave a refund immediately. We high-tailed it out of the area without ever looking back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tooch71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rutland hotels
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites Rutland - Killington
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 12 in Rutland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 253 S Main St, Rt. 4 and Rt. 7, Rutland, VT 05701-4755 (Formerly Ramada Limited of Rutland)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Rutland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rutland Ramada now serving a Full hot breakfast buffet with a wide display of items on the menu,These items include scrambled eggs, sausage links , hot belgian waffles, variety muffins and bagels and yogurt, fruit salad , choice of juice , hard boiled eggs and large of cereal and breads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Of Rutland Hotel Rutland
Ramada Limited Rutland
Ramada Rutland
Rutland Ramada
Quality Inn Rutland, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing