We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience”
Review of Ginger China

Ginger China
Ranked #32 of 116 Restaurants in Rutland
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Phone: (802) 779-0084 Zip Code: 05701
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I was a little concerned about the recent negative reviews, but based on the overall positives we decided to try it and we're glad we did. We are only passing through Rutland and won't be able to go back and see how consistant they are.

We had MaLa Lamb and the Chicken and Shrimp Combo. We've eaten at many, many different Chinese restaurants all over the world and found both the presentation and the taste to be exceptional. Our server was prompt, polite and checked back just the right number of times to be helpful but not pesty. The prices were very reasonable. In every way this was a very satisfying evening. I am only sorry we won't be able to come back and try out more of the cuisine. The Japanese items looked enticing, too!

So maybe we just lucked out, or have lower standards than others? But we definitely would return if we lived in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fotobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    11
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rutland, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Won't go back”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Very unfriendly service. Food just mediocre, at best. Just don't like anything about this restaurant.

Helpful?
2 Thank kaygee680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown Springs, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Off Days”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Not sure if they were having another off day because we loved this restaurant. Some of the best Chinese food in Rutland and surronding area but our last two visits have been somewhat disappointing. I always get the General Taos chicken because they used to make it with white meat and there was zip in the sause with all the chili peppers etc but the last 2 times it tasted like Purdue frozen deep fried from a bag. My wife got the chicken chow mein and when it arrived at our table it looked like thick, pasty cabbage soup. Minimal amout of chicken, a couple pieces of celery and tons of shredded cabbage in a pasty sauce. We'll give them one more shot but are now on the lookout for another chinese food restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We ate here one night for dinner, the food was delicious and the presentation of the food on the plates were gorgeous. I had a hot lamb dish which was tasty, the wonton soup was good and we had a sushi appetizer that was yummy. A definite cut above most Chinese's restaurants. The service was very good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank nursespark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette Hill, PA
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very good Chinese (and Japanese) food in Rutland VT”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We came here on Christmas Day after sifting through Chinese restaurants on Trip Advisor and ended up very happy with our decision. The place is very clean and more up-to-date than the sign out front might lead one to think.

The food overally was really good. We particularly enjoyed the panfried noodles, the house special mu shu, hunan chicken, shrimp tempura, and sushi. The only weak spot in the lineup was the wonton soup whose wontons were a little odd, though perhaps just more authentic than I was used to.

Definitely worth a visit if you're looking for a good Asian meal in the Killington/Pico area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ginger China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing