We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner without business sense”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rutland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Antique Mansion B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Rutland B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Owner without business sense”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Accueil tres succint et propriétaire oubliant de remedier au service à la clientèle.

Firtst night : Cold without heating in the house. Small breakfast in the morning.
Second night : Auxiliary heating but no minimum service host.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Normand B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCMcG, Owner at Antique Mansion B&B, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Hundreds of guests have praised us on our breakfasts which consist of coffee or tea, daily meat, eggs, French toast or pancakes made to order, juices, fruit, toast and jam. Other items are made available if we know about dietary restrictions or allergies. Very surprised and sorry to hear this guest considered that a small breakfast! Coffee and tea are available to guests at any time of day but tea is not in K-cups because of our assortment of tea bags. Heat from steam radiators does not heat every room at the same rate so space heaters are provided..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    2
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
36
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed at the Antique Mansion a couple of weeks ago as we were in Rutland Vt. on business.

Sallie greeted us at the door and was just as pleasant as could be. We were introduced to the entire mansion and had a beautiful room ready for us. On the tour of the mansion, a lovely room with a billiard table, large screen tv and other fun items, so we spent the better part of the afternoon enjoying the games.

We went out for dinner and Sallie and Larry were there to greet us when we got back and asked us what we would like for breakfast. That was lovely as we hace never had that luxury at other b&b's. We told then and they asked what time we would like to have breakfast and in the morning it was ready and served very well.

We had a great chat with the owners and will not hesitate to return when the weather is warmer and take advantage of the golf courses in Rutland and the lovely hospitality of Sallie and Larry again. We would not hesitate for a minute to recommend this beautiful property

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Veronica049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Sally made us sandwiches when we got in late, made me feel at home while I was hanging out alone in the living room, and gave us a ride to the town at the end of the trip. The house is beautiful and the country club across the street was great for taking a walk. Sally told us that the downstairs bedroom's bathroom was across the hall, but the set up is a bit awkward with folding screens so go for an upstairs room if you can. She was very flexible about the time for breakfast which is unusual and really great.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

Housed in a beautiful and historic house, Sally, the Owner, provides cozy Vermont accommodations and serves a wonderful breakfast. Sally is engaging but not intrusive. Coffee station with cookies available anytime. Convenient location. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dbenners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here over the Thanksgiving holiday for 3 nights. From the first conversation with Sallie on the phone to our good-byes on Sunday, everything about our stay was pleasant, comfortable and charming. I really liked how personal she made the experience. For example, other bnbs I've stayed at have a specific time for breakfast each day. Instead, Sallie asked us to let her know when we'd liked to have breakfast each day. She even said if we didn't know, just text her in the morning. Another is that even arriving late around 9:30 PM, she was there to greet us and show us around the mansion. Because the larger rooms were taken already, she offered us the back upstairs room and closed off the corridor during the night. That was really awesome because we felt like we had a huge suite to ourselves at night with the full size bathroom across the hall, the rec room with a pool table and big screen TV, private staircase and side entrance. The barn kitties were adorable and playing the harpsichord in the drawing room was really a unique thing to me.
Thanks Sallie! Hope to stay there again next time we visit our friend!
-Tom from East Village NYC

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I stayed here with my parents and thoroughly enjoyed the historic mansion and the owner, Sallie, who is very friendly and helpful! It's in a good location and Sallie was very flexible to meet our needs.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LynneSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I stopped there on my way to Boston by bike. My bedroom was great, the living room is perfect and the breakfast was delightful. Location is good, as it is walking distance from the center of the city. And the host is very friendly.

Perfect spot if you bike around the region!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuillaumeL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutland
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites Rutland - Killington
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
2.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 12 in Rutland
26 reviews
5.2 mi away
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antique Mansion B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antique Mansion B&B

Property: Antique Mansion B&B
Address: 85 Field Ave, Rutland, VT 05701-2334
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Rutland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rutland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique Mansion B&B is a classic Bed and Breakfast operating in an Italianate Victorian mansion in a central Vermont city, Rutland Vermont. Rooms are spacious and offer private bathrooms, WiFi, satellite TV. Breakfast and parking are included in the price of an overnight stay. Peaceful, quiet ambience on 4 scenic acres, yet just one mile from downtown Rutland which offers restaurants, Paramount Theater, museums, spas, antiquing, historic attractions. Amtrak train and regional air service nearby. Easy walk to golf and other recreation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Antique Mansion B&B Rutland, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing